We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low Price, Basic, Clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of City Hotel Storch

City Hotel Storch
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added City Hotel Storch to your Saves list
City Hotel Storch
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gladbacher Strasse 32, 50672 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #164 of 281 Hotels in Cologne
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Low Price, Basic, Clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I was looking for last minute accommodation in Cologne and found City Hotel Storch. The hotel has a good location near the city center and the U-bahn is just at the end of the street. There is no 24/7 staff at the reception desk. You are provided with a key to the main entrance. The room was basic but clean. Two comfortable beds, a TV and a private bathroom with shower an toilet. It was good value and would recommend this hotel when you just need a place to sleep at a low price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    15
    20
    9
    4
See reviews for
7
19
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The Cityhotel Storch is a budget hotel which really worths the money.
I spent 2 nights there, and I felt at ease and got all I needed.
I arrived around 11am and my room was ready. The receptionist explained me about the hotel facilities and provided a city guide pointing out all the sights of interest in town and advised me where to enjoy some amazing German food! The hotel is just 15 minutes walking to the Dom. It is plenty of restaurants nearby, both international and German cuisine. The room was tiny but clean and cosy. The room had TV, en suite with soap and shower gel.
Free Internet wi fi connection worked perfectly for the whole stay.
An excellent continental breakfast, with a very good selection of cured meat and chease. Good coffee machine.
After having checked out I stored my luggage and came back around 5pm, and I still had the chance to use their wi fi connection.
I recommend the Cityhotel Storch. Obviously it is not a luxury hotel, but for the money they charge it is definetely the best option in town and they really do an excellent job.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here as a solo female traveler in a single the room. The room is tiny, this wasn't a problem for me but be aware that it is very small. The bathroom is private and clean. The linen is in serious need of being replaced. Neighbours were a bit noisy. Hotel is a 2km walk from the Dom / HBF so a little far but not a huge problem. Thought this was a touch pricey but then Cologne is an expensive city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

The good:- the price was around Eur55 incl breakfast. The receptionist spoke English well enough.
The room was a good size. My bed was very comfortable. I did not hear any noise from either the street, nor from other guests.

The not-so-good:- The location is OK, though a good 15 minutes walk to the Dom, so this is Ok if you aren’t carrying anything, or if you only do it once per day. If you plan on walking around the city then you need to add your to/from hotel part into the mix. As the crow flies, the distance is not too far, but the U Bahn isn’t direct, so one change is required (only a minor inconvenience). Also, there’s nowhere to leave your luggage, so we left ours at the Station (5 Euro’s for up to 24 hours). As others have said, there might not be anyone on reception at some times, so if you have questions, best ask them all when you check in :-)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Don't try to buy Groupon offer on this Hotel...Even if you try to book on dates that arenot excluded on the offer the management will put obstacles with different fake excuses...Also if you like to spend a weekend there they are asking telephone booking in order not to accept booking on weekend even if the booking is 6 months in advance....So that this offer is only for German people-and not for tourists- and may be it match only for week days...At the end do not forget that this is a 2 stars hotel and the offer price is quite the value one....

Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

Stayed here for three nights with my mum in a twin room. The purpose of our visit was to simply have somewhere to sleep within walking distance of the Dom, while we spent our days at the Christmas markets. The hotel was excellent value - €20 per night and €7.50 for brekkie which was substantial, and better than any other breakfast in Cologne. The staff were great, ordering taxis, helping us to print boarding passes and in checking us in. Also, we forgot some shoes during our visit, and they are being sent to us by the hotel - very helpful. There was NO traffic noises outside the hotel, the heating was great, and aside from the shower being a little awkward, it was perfect for what we required.

Room Tip: There is no elevator - so make sure you request one as close to the ground floor as possible if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

We stayed here with as 4 friends in one room.

Beds were comfy and a nice size room. A random light feature on the ceiling but was nice.

Never anyone on reception which made it difficult at times - especially when checking out. Staff were helpful to some extent but barely spoke english which made it very difficult.

Lots or road noise at night.

Make sure you carry the hotel address with you as taxi drivers mistook the road name and took us to a different road on the opposite side of the rhine!

Cologne is beautifu and well worth a visit however a hotel closer to the cathedral would probably be better as that is where everything is. We found it to be about a 15 minute walk at a relatively fast pace.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Hotel Storch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Storch

Address: Gladbacher Strasse 32, 50672 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 281 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Storch 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your City Hotel Storch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Hotel Storch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.