We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, freindly staff and clean rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Krone

Hotel Krone
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Krone to your Saves list
Hotel Krone
Kleine Budengasse 15, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Altstadt-Nord)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #126 of 281 Hotels in Cologne
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great location, freindly staff and clean rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The best thing about this hotel is the location. It is right in the heart of the main old town of Cologne. It is really close to 100's of restaurants and bars and right around the corner is the DOM church and train station.
We arrived by train, so i do not know about parking at the hotel.
The staff was very nice and very helpful. Our rooms were in-suite so they had their own bathrooms. The room was very clean and had great WI-FI. We faced the main road and on Thursday night we slept great, however on Friday night once the bar patrons starting leaving, it got a little loud, but nothing too disturbing. It is a okay pay-off for the location. the price was great, especially compared to some of the hotels surrounding it. I would stay here again in a heart beat. The breakfast in the morning was typical, soft boiled eggs, meats, breads and cheeses.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
7
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Hotel Krone on my first trip to Cologne. The location is great, walking distance to everything. The room was small but very clean and the staff extremely attentive. We would definitely stay there again on a future trip to Cologne.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

After reading the other reviews on here, we weren't expecting our room or bathroom to be on the large side; however, we were pleasantly surprised - while they may have been a little small, it wasn't as cramped as we'd feared. We tended to use the hotel as a base from which to do sightseeing and shopping, as it's only minutes walk from the Cathederal, the main shopping streets, or the Christmas Markets. For this purpose you couldn't wish for better, being able to go back to the room as often as needed to drop off the latest haul as one's arms begin to tire; once back in for the final time at night, it wasn't long before we got a good night's sleep (each and every night we were there), so we didn't require the extra floor space that may have been useful if we'd have wanted to practise a dance routine, or whatever else other people want to get up to who complain about the lack of room!

The staff, without exception, were extremely friendly and answered any questions in a knowledgeable manner; the breakfasts were filling and VERY tasty! The hotel was clean (but without the 'clinical feel' that many larger chains have. The only quibble that we had was that there was no 'welcome-tray' or kettle; although a bottle of water was supplied which could be purchased if required.

All-in-all, an excellent place to stay, in what must be one of the most beautiful cities in Europe. We're already saving up for our next visit!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

My wife and me stayed here for a long weekend away to visit the Christmas markets. The hotel is small and very friendly and right in the centre of Cologne. We could see one of the markets from our bedroom window which looked beautiful at night when it was all light up.
Highly recommend this hotel to anyone longing for a perfect base for a weekend in cologne.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

We had a magical few days, our first visit to the Christmas Markets.
Our hotel was in a perfect position, friendly staff, clean rooms (though small) and we were in the back of the hotel and it was quiet. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Krone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Krone

Address: Kleine Budengasse 15, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 281 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Krone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Krone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.