We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfetc location for business in koelnmesse” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kaiser am Wienerplatz

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kaiser am Wienerplatz to your Saves list
Kaiser am Wienerplatz
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Genovevastrasse 10-14, 51065 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Mülheim)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #204 of 281 Hotels in Cologne
Campobasso
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“perfetc location for business in koelnmesse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

If you are looking for a good hotel very close to koelnmesse Kaiser hotel is an excellent choice. Nice rooms, friendly stuff that will help you anytime and good breakfast: yougurt, fruit, many different breads, a good variety of jellys, eggs and bacon, juices, coffee...all you need for a good start in the morning. The rooms are clean with all you need for a comfortably accomodation. Moreover you will find shops, markets and public transportation just outside the doors. I was there I will be back or sure

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    14
    7
    6
    9
See reviews for
3
14
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Witham
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Close to Weinerplatz underground; clean room and safe, secure free parking at the rear of the hotel. We had room 120 which we found too warm - had to keep window open which meant that traffic noise was noticable. Fab range of cold meats; cheeses and jams for breakfast - one of the nicest we have found.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puchong, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

Actually stumbled across this hotel by luck whilst searching for reasonably priced accommodation for my short business trip to Cologne. Initially i had no qualms with whatever i will face with such reasonable price. But once i got to the Hotel, i must say i am really impressed with... almost everything. The overall hotel ambience and presentation, particularly the Dining room, is one of the best i've seen and experienced. My room is nicely sized and clean with very comfortable beds. Although there's free parking spaces for guests within the Hotel, they're limited. But not to worry as they have access to a bigger parking area nearby which is accessible anytime, albeit they're at EUR3.00 per access. In any case, this small setback nothing as compared to what you get for what you pay. I recommend this hotel to anyone. I know i'll be staying there the next time i come over to Cologne...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

I was running the second World Homeshare Congress and booked several delegates into the hotel - we were all impressed by the care and comfort of the hotel - nothing was too much trouble. It was a brilliant hotel, good value, and lovely experience.

Room Tip: Try and avoid the rooms above the breakfast room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

1.The standard double room is too small.
2.Our key card did not work properly.
3.No mini bar in the room.
4.No parking available for all of the guests...just for the first 6:(

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Deutschland
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

We are staying at the Kaiser every two years for an exhibition. Actually the only reason why we are there (even though we are absolutely not satisfied and happy with it) is that it is only two tram stations away from "Köln Messe" and so we only have a short ride to and from the halls.
Rooms: Very small. The walls are extremely thin, the beds worn out and everything is quite outdated. The bathrooms are in the late 80's style. Some rooms are said to be renovated but I did not have the luck to get one so far. Something funny: Allthough they seem to be very tight with everything that costs money in the hotel, they are always replacing the one or two times used soap in the bathroom. Once you come back in the evening you have to open a new one.
Equipment of the rooms is different. Some have mini fridges (empty), some have ironing boards (and some others even irons to come with it). All in all the rooms are kind of dark and musty. At least in the rooms facing the street it is very noisy even though they sport kind of double-window systems (with a lot of dead flys and dust in between)
They advertise e.g. on booking.com "Free Wifi all over the buidling". The reality is that they have one single router next to the reception.... So better forget about that.
Breakfast: Large variety but we already had to experience that it is wise to check what you are eating (Best before dates, etc.)
Bar: they have a strange bar in the basement. Interior is in the style of a french 19th century bordello.

All of this you can get during major exhibitions for incredible 180 EUR per night!!!
Oh yes, and the verbal diarrhea of the owner, when you are waiting for your colleagues in the morining comes for free.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

We stayed here as part of a whistle stop tour of some European cities.
When we arrived the owner greeted us outside and helped us with our cases. He was very chatty and friendly. He apologised that the downstairs bar would not be open that day as it was the May day holiday.
We stayed in the hotel due to it's proximity to a concert we were attending that evening.
The rooms were lovely, very traditional in style and lots of wood! We found them to be very comfortable and clean, although slightly cramped.
The hotel is quite far away from the city centre, although it is very close to the U-Bahn and S-Bahn station.
We very much enjoyed our time in Cologne, most of us agreeing it was our preferred city out of 5 that we visited.
The breakfast in the hotel is to die for! Never had I seen such a range of products to choose from - everything from traditional cereals, meats and cheeses that you would expect to find on a continental breakfast buffet; through to herring, chocolates, biscuits, sweets, every possible jam, marmalade, chocolate spread, etc! Thank goodness we only stayed one night otherwise we would all have come home a stone heavier at least!
Highly reccomended hotel for the staff and breakfast, only let down by it's location. Would definately choose to stay again if I was travelling to Cologne!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kaiser am Wienerplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaiser am Wienerplatz

Address: Genovevastrasse 10-14, 51065 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Mülheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaiser am Wienerplatz 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Kaiser am Wienerplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaiser Am Wienerplatz Cologne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaiser am Wienerplatz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.