We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Muller

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Muller to your Saves list
Hotel Muller
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Brandenburger Strasse 20, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Altstadt-Nord)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #206 of 281 Hotels in Cologne
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good value and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

A nice, inexpensive little hotel located just north of the Köln Hauptbahnhof. The room was spotless and quite comfortable. I was a little concerned about being in a ground floor room so close to the train station, but the neighborhood turned out to be quite peaceful, basically nothing but hotels. It's a 5-minute walk to the Kölner Dom (cathedral) by going through the train station. The breakfast is better-than-average for a German hotel. One quirky (but convenient) thing is that they have your key in a lockbox (you receive the combination when you make your reservation) in case you arrive when no one is there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    20
    9
    4
    9
See reviews for
3
29
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We landad in Cologne and were on our way to Belgium.
We were so tired, we decided to look for a place to stay for a day and then continue.
We went into EVERY hotel next to the train station. it was 7 in the morning.
most of the hotels were booked or they only had a room ready at 15:00.

At hotel muller we were greeted with a good morning and a "sshhhh!!! the guests are sleeping"!
The owner (Suzana) is a funny and lovely lady.
we got a room straight away, the room was clean and pretty spacious.
the hotel is a bit dated but it's obvious they tried to update it. the shower/toilet room is great!
very clean and it was all new.
the room has a flat screen tv and some modern touches to it. i think they really try to update it.

we payed a fair 83 euro with breakfast.
we had the breakfast the same morning and it was one of the most generous breakfasts we ever had in europe.
Suzana and Cippi were super nice and the food was amazing and very german.
the breakfast room is at -1 and it has a feel of a cabin in the woods, it has a nice charm to it.

pluses -
- we got a great room (#25) at 7 in the morning
- the room was clean
- the staff was very friendly
- the breakfast is amazing
- the location for a travelers on the road is super!
- cippi - when you'll see him you'll understand

minuses -
- we got change and received a 5 euro bill wich was fake. we found out about it in the city when we bought a bottle of water and then we accidentally paid in a restaurant with it. we didn't say anything, so it could have been an honest mistake, but i thought i'll mention it.

overall, if we'll ever had to stay in Cologne we'll definitely come to Hotel Muller. :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Top Contributor
263 reviews 263 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

In the 2-star category, this little family-run hotel is a good value and provides the essentials in a clean environment. The service was friendly and welcoming and the breakfast that Frau Müller provides is wonderful. Frankly, I am surprised at the few negative postings on this hotel. The bed was comfortable, the room quiet and it was a good place to lay one's head after a busy day of sightseeing. Might be a bit cramped for families, recommended for couples.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back, overlooking the garden patio are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

This hotel is two minutes walk from the train station. Small, quiet, comfy hotel. Half a block to the Rhine River if you are taking a Rhine River cruise. Had a great nights sleep. We didn't want to leave. Only paid 64 Euros per night, (doesn't include breakfast). We paid the extra 7 Euros each for breakfast and it was really worth it to us. They did a great job. We hope to return to Cologne and Hotel Muller.

Room Tip: We had room 15 and loved it. Facing the street on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

I wouldnt book here again if you paid me. Booked ahead online for myself in one room and a colleague and his wife in another room. On arrival early evening was told there was a problem with one room and they had put a third bed in the other room so we could all sleep there and then seemed surprised when we werent happy about it!!!??? Book at your own risk!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILTON KEYNES
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

I can't understand the odd poor reviews of this hotel - for the price it was unbeatable. Location is excellent - less than 5 minutes from the HBF (Main Station) and Dom (Cathedral); close to the Marriott. Make no mistake - its a budget hotel - 2-stars so don't expect big rooms (rooms are very compact!) or luxury, but it was clean, comfortable and the hot and cold breakfast buffet was unbeatable. Rooms are modern, bed was comfortable and it was really quiet (I had a room at the back). I would certainly stay there again - it was excellent value for money.
One quirk is that the hotel is not manned 24hrs. If you arrive after the proprietor has left for the day (quite early!), you get your key from a box outside. You must have your reservation details to open the key box! This also means that you must be very careful not to lock yourself out as nobody is there to let you back in!

Room Tip: Get a room at back and take reservation details!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

Visited Cologne on a spur of the moment decision while travelling last month. Found this hotel on an internet booking site & chose it due to great room rate.
Location was excellent - about 5 minute walk from the main train station, 10 minutes walk to Cologne Cathedral & only 2 blocks from the Rhine. There was a great bakery just around the corner with good breakfast & sandwiches. We enjoyed strolling down to the Rhine, then along the river to visit the Cathedral & Old Town shops/restaurants.
Our room was on the back of the hotel, very quiet. It was small (we had to step over suitcases to get to bed) but very clean & comfortable temperature wise.
Our only negative was that we were not able to reach hotel staff during posted desk hours, though they did call the room about 45 minutes later to see if we needed anything.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Muller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Muller

Address: Brandenburger Strasse 20, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #206 of 281 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Muller 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Muller reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muller Hotel Cologne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Muller, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.