We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Elite an der Universitat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Elite an der Universitat to your Saves list
Hotel Elite an der Universitat
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Meister-Gerhardt-Strasse 26, 50674 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #165 of 281 Hotels in Cologne
Canvey, null, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Comfy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Our room was very comfy and very large, we had lovely large windows that opened out to the river and looked over he town.
They were lovely and warm so a winter stay was fine.
Breakfast was full continental and very tasty

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    13
    11
    3
    4
See reviews for
6
12
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

The hotel is a simple structure, but confortable. The room fit exactly for two people (maybe a little more space for the cloths would be better); bathroom with all you need and warm water immediately available. The staff is efficient and helpful; the breakfast with a good range of choice.
The hotel is walking close to the university and sufficiently close to the centre with the tramway stop very close. The surrounding area is full of pubs, exotic restaurants and services because the presence of the student. The parking of the hotel is actually small (only 3-4 cars are allowed) and a little expensive (8 euros per day).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Trying to find a decent enough hotel in Koln when the Messe is on is always very difficult - this was a good find, the mature gentleman on reception was really helpful
The rooms were adequate rather more than luxurious, but suited our needs
Breakfast was fine if rather basic
Parking was convenient and restricted

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

I think that many of the reviews here are fair, it's a low budget hotel, but far from the worst in terms of cleanliness and the location is convenient.

However, expensive jewellery went missing from my room on the last day of our stay. I was horrified to discover that the chamber maid's children were allowed to play in the guest rooms while she worked. The hotel staff were either sullen or rude and no satisfactory resolution to my complaints could be reached. English is not spoken. Hidden charges were added to our bill for services we had neither requested or recieved. Bed-linen was worn and stained.

If they had been up-front about thier rates we would simply have stayed in a better hotel and got the most out of our holiday. It's just not worth it: buyer beware.

Room Tip: Rear-facing rooms have a view of a dark, dismal, rubbish-strewn courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for one short weekend, we had to pay a more expensive rate due to christmas market and the congress on that weekend (88eur/night for friday and 98/night for saturday).. but overall we were satisfied.

Breakfast
Standard breakfast, tea coffee bread jam nutella cheese meat etc. They also offered to make you scrambled eggs.

Room
We were on 3rd floor, it was non-smoking room and no smoke smell AT ALL.
We stayed in a room overlooking the street, so we were afraid of the noise but surprised that it was pretty quiet.

Bathroom
My most favourite topic in every hotel, I would hate every 2 or 3 stars hotel with dirty toilet/bathroom but Hotel Elite's bathroom is really decent!
It is clean, they provide towels, soap and hair dryer (did not use it though)

Staff
All staff we met (4 of them) were nice and friendly. ^_^

Parking
We went to Cologne by car, so we had to park the car. They allowed us to park at 8 eur/day rate.

Transportation
This hotel is located near the university, and 2min walk from Tramway Dasselstrasse + train station (don't know what train station it was since we did not take any train during our stay).
We could also walk to Neumarket (15min away), we walked in the cold of minus 4 during this weekend and it was bearable! ;-)

So, yeah as I was afraid to get bad experience by reading few former reviews of this hotel, I feel now that I need to express my satisfaction staying in this hotel.
We did not stay for a romantic weekend to stay inside all the time, as we did a lot of sightseeing and visited all the christmas markets in Cologne, so we only got to sleep at night and this hotel was a great choice for us! =)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

We stayed in the Hotel Elite for one night because most of the other hotels in Cologne were booked during the Photokina exhibition. It's a very basic hotel - small rooms with tile floors, small TV, reasonably comfortable beds and a decent breakfast. Watch what you pay, however - we paid in the 50-60 euro range for one night, but the staff said they would be tripling the rates to the 180 euro range because they expected to get bookings for Photokina! What we paid was not totally unreasonable for a basic hotel such as this, but paying 180 euros would be outrageous for what you get.

That said, the location near the university was not bad at all. The tram station is very close, and there are a number of bars and restaurants nearby. I would probably stay here again, but only with a reasonable rate.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

This hotel is basic. It's clean, reasonably priced and the breakfast is ok. It is in a nice location, with great restaurants and bars close by. The one big problem that we had with this hotel is the constant smell of smoke that wafted into our room. We were at the top of the hotel but the smoke from the receptionist and/ or other bedrooms (we couldn't work out where it was coming from exactly) continued to float into our room throughout the night. Each time we woke up or first thing in the morning, smoke would fill our noses. This is particularly nasty for non smokers so maybe it would be ok if you smoked and didn't mind the smell of smoke filling your room, clothes and suitcase.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Elite an der Universitat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elite an der Universitat

Address: Meister-Gerhardt-Strasse 26, 50674 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 281 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Elite an der Universitat 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Elite an der Universitat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Elite an der Universitat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.