We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just about the best 3 star anywhere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Domstern

Save Saved
You added Hotel Domstern to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Domstern
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Domstrasse 26, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Hotel Domgarten) (Altstadt-Nord)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 282 hotels in Cologne
taipei
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Just about the best 3 star anywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

Great location, friendly and helpful management, spotlessly clean rooms and a great breakfast with local foodstuffs. I really didn't have a negative thing to say about this superb small hotel., and for the price in this expensive city it's an absolute bargain.

Please open a chain in the UK!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    291
    113
    11
    5
    4
See reviews for
64
191
62
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

We loved our short two-night stay in Hotel Domstern: it's a small lovely hotel, very close to the main train station but on a quiet street. Our room was small but immaculate, the staff were friendly and spoke English, and the breakfast was lovely - local produce such as bread and honey was a very nice touch, they should do even more of this!

We owe a particular note of thanks to Michael, one of the hotel's managers, who was above-and-beyond helpful to us. We had to leave our luggage at the hotel due to a late departure. While the Domstern didn't have a night porter to look after the luggage, Michael kindly recommended a partner hotel just down the street which did! He also rang them up and made them aware we were on our way. Then, just as we were leaving and were walking off, Michael came dashing after us in the freezing cold: we'd forgotten our credit card! What a star, thanks again :-)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manfred100, Owner at Hotel Domstern, responded to this review, March 21, 2010
Dear Cadavreexquis,

thank you for your review, and your suggestions.
We are really glad that you rate our house and services so favourably
and of course Michael is especially happy and proud to get such high marks for his
customer service!
Our whole team here at Domstern (except for Manfred) have not originally
been trained in hotels but come from very different working backgrounds.
We have learned that very often this is an advantage for us rather than a handicap,
maybe because we see things from our guests perpective rather than from the business background of a hotel career.

And we also appreciate our guests input, that helps us develop new ideas.
We will definitely consider your suggestion about breakfast.
Just recently we decided to add products from a nearby farmers market (such as apples, vegetables and farm fresh eggs) to our buffet and will continue to find ways how to further improve the choice and quality of products that we offer. Any idea or suggestion from our guests is always very welcome!

thanks again and
regards from your hosts
Michael & Manfred
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2010

My parents and I stayed at the B & B for two nights over the New Year and it was wonderful. Very centrally located and very clean. The breakfast is fabulous and all the people who work there go out of their way to help you. The hotel even has free parking if you get in early. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to anyone looking for an alternative to a hotel or somewhere just a bit more personable.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

Cosy hotel in a quiet street just a few minutes walk from the train station (which in turn is next to the cathedral), the Domstern proved to be the ideal base for exploring Cologne.
Staff are pleasant and very welcoming they took time to explain the facilities (free wi-fi etc) and recommend good restaurants nearby.
Rooms are compact but adequate, scrupulously clean and warm (winter stay). Beds were comfy and bathroom had a reasonably good shower which was welcome after a day pounding the streets.
Breakfast buffet was OK, nice selection of local meats (cold) and breads. All fresh and tasty. Not a big selection but enough to offer some variety, the home made breads were delicious.
Nice little touch with was really appreciated was the provision of a daily newsletter at breakfast, it gave the days weather and listed things happening that day in Cologne plus gave an overview of a local tourist attraction (different each day). I genuinely wish more hotels did that.
The only things which stop this hotel from getting full marks from me were 2 notable absences; 1 - No waste bin in the main room, the bin in the bathroom was too small for all the wrappers etc we wanted to dispose of. 2 - No tea/coffee facilities in the room. A kettle to make a hot drink would have been nice.
These are only small niggles and I'm being a little petty in mentioning them, but then the Domstern was that good for it's price.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manfred100, Owner at Hotel Domstern, responded to this review, January 2, 2010
Dear Harblinger,

Thanks from all of us here at Domstern for your kind review.
We are really glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay in Cologne and Domstern hotel.
We really appreciate your feedback and it helps us further improve our service.
Concerning your suggestions we will do our best to receive the last point for the full score upon your next visit :-)
We have a very long list of ideas that we would like to implement.
The 2 major suggestions we got from our guests last year are
1) softer bath towels and
2) (from our english guests): water kettles for tea making.
Being at a top spot here at tripadvisor our guests expect more than from a "normal" 3 star hotel. Sometimes it is difficult for us to fullfill those high expectations, especially concerning room amenities.
We are compared to Colognes finest 4 and 5 star hotels, and we are aware that as we are number one being "good" is not good enough for us.
So we decided to change our bath towels next and afterwards start putting tea kettles in our rooms.
Please allow a few weeks before all rooms are equipped but we promise upon your next visit we will be ready.
Until then may we ask all our guests to feel free anytime to ask for coffee or tea.
You know we have an excellent coffee maker and we are glad to provide you with complimentary tea or a cappuccino, latte macchiatto etc. at any time!
Happy New Year from all of us
and best regards from your hosts
Michael & Manfred
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twofortheroad14
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2009

I think we found this hotel on this website, and when we find things by that means, I'm never sure how it will turn out. But the Domstern proved to be one of the most charming and even memorable small hotels we've stayed in. Lovely quiet street amazingly only a short walk from the busy center and train station. Small but immaculate and comfortable rooms (with daylight in the morning). Chocolates left for us on fresh white bed linens. Daily printouts, provided with breakfast, listing places of interest, daytrips out of Cologne, concerts, exhibitions and events and, of course, the weather report. Maps of recommended restaurants (we tried two- both perfect). A really unusually attentive, friendly and helpful staff. Lovely breakfasts in charming breakfast room (and different every day while we were there). If it were possible to give six stars....

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manfred100, Owner at Hotel Domstern, responded to this review, December 24, 2009
Dear twofortheroad14,

And what a delightful surprise for us to get such a nice feedback!
Thank you very much, we are honored and humbled by your remarks!
We really don`t know how we do it, but our "secret" is, that we manage to attract only the nicest and friendliest guests to our place!
It is such a pleasure to help them have a great time in our city!
We love Cologne and we love what we do and maybe that`s the second "secret"!
Our guests feel that it is not just about business like in big hotel chains and they enjoy our service and the atmosphere here at Domstern hotel!

We are glad that you had the same feeling when staying with us- thanks a lot and
Auf Wiedersehen in Köln
your hosts
Michael & Manfred
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

Its the little things and the care to detail that makes this hotel stand out from the rest. The breakfast was wonderful, the room (we had number 400, the suite) was home from home but its the staff who just make it the best in Koln. Very friendly and very helpful.
As a location it really could not be better and we were soon either walking, underground or tram our way around Koln visiting all 6 Xmas markets.
There are many restaraunts in the area some which brew their own beer and have 1 metre long sausages, just ask reception and loosen your belt!
If you can stay here you are in for a treat.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

We stayed for two nights whilst visiting the Christmas markets - the whole experience was a delight - from the moment of our late evening arrival the service was impeccable and friendly. They got all the big things right -- immaculately clean room and bathroom and excellent breakfast. Then they added some charming personal touches (attractive art and presents and carols on St Nicholas Day).

It's true the room was not biggest but it was more than adequate for us - we were visiting the markets after all! They also list the square footages up front on their website.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Domstern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Domstern

Address: Domstrasse 26, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Hotel Domgarten)
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#5 Family Hotel in Cologne
#5 Business Hotel in Cologne
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Domstern 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few steps from the famous Cologne Cathedral, main station, historic city center, shopping area and not far from the trade fair, you will find Hotel Domstern in a quiet side street. We offer newly renovated rooms, free wifi, parking, only nonsmoking rooms, elevator and our extended breakfast buffet until 11 am and even 12 noon during weekends. We are proud and humbled getting the "Travellers choice award 2010" from our guests for our personal service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Domstern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domstern Hotel Cologne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Domstern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.