We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel For The Price, English Speaking Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Domstern

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Domstern to your Saves list
Hotel Domstern
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Domstrasse 26, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Hotel Domgarten) (Altstadt-Nord)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 281 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel For The Price, English Speaking Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Nice hotel and location for the price. Staff was very friendly and spoke English well. Check in was a little confusing as we had reserved a room with Hotel Domstern but were put in a "apartment" acroos form the the Domstern called at a place named Domspitzen. I assume the ownership is the same, if you stay at the Domstern you eat breakfast (included in the price of your stay) at the Domspitzen. None the less it was a great experience. Our hotel room really was an old apartment that had been converted. You had two keys, one for the main entrance to the building and one for the room. It was a little taste of what it might be like to live in the area. Room was very clean and had everything you would need including a small kitchen. Wi-Fi was questionable. The hotel had put a repeater in the room but I could not maintain a consistant connection unless I went to the lobby. The breakfast was excellent and service was as well. If you are staying in Cologne this hotel is the best deal in my opinon. But If your looking for the Waldorf experience this is not the place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    127
    17
    7
    6
See reviews for
67
219
66
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The really superb location. Well equipped and cosy hotel, pleasant to enter and to stay. Friendly staff. Clean and quiet small room. Tasty breakfast in welcoming atmosphere.
Only one embarrassing and disappointing point: in spite of payment the whole sum for staying beforehand I was asked to pay extra 5 percent in the moment of checking out.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This hotel has its own parking (against payment) and is very centrally close to the city centre (just on the other side of the main train station, 5 minutes to the Dom). Everything in the room was in good condition. In the morning the breakfast is served in a small room but from really good quality. Reception was friendly and helped me with same suggestions for a meal in the evening. All togther really OK

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Booked a three night stay in the Domstern based on TA reviews and were not disappointed. The location is perfect - a quiet street just 5-10 minutes walk from the Dom, the Ludwig museum and the Roman museum. All the staff were very friendly, welcoming and efficient, providing excellent recommendations on restaurants close to the hotel. The breakfast buffet was superb.

The hotel has its own parking spaces in a garage opposite the hotel - parking needs to be reserved in advance. We left our car in the garage the whole time and walked everywhere - all the main attractions are very accessible.

The rooms are compact and plain, but very clean, and with very comfortable beds. Home-baked cakes were available in the room on arrival, which was a nice touch, and a tea-tray with kettle was provided on request.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Pros:
- Great location, right beside the train station and Dom Cathedral
- Friendly and accommodating staff
- Superb value for money
- Really great breakfast included!
Cons:
- The rooms are quite small and have minimal facilities.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We recently stayed for three nights in a superior double room and found the Domstern excellent in all respects. It is situated in a quiet street, five minutes walk from Cologne's main railway station which in turn is beside the cathedral. The reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The superior room is situated on the fourth floor and the hotel has a lift. There was a refrigerator in the room and reception supplied an electric kettle and cups when requested. We slept soundly, undisturbed by the slightest noise.

I fully endorse what other reviewers has said about the quality of the breakfast. There is a buffet containing different fruit juices, muesli, fresh and dried fruit, nuts, cheeses, honey, and several types of bread. Scrambled or fried eggs, with bacon, are freshly cooked; although I would describe the eggs as more of an omelet than scrambled. The coffee is good and strong and there is no problem getting refills.

The superior room is larger than a standard room and is located just under the roof which slopes down to the front window. I am just under six foot in height and Madam is a little over five foot. I slept on the side of the bed furthest from the window while Madam slept on the window side under the sloping roof. This was fine for her due to her stature, but if there were two tall people staying in this room then one of them would have to stoop to get into, and out of, the bed. This height issue only affects a small part of the room by the bed.

It in no way detracts from the enjoyment of our stay, but on arrival we were informed by reception that there was tax of €16 to be paid. Such tax is a feature of many European countries, but on all other occasions it has been listed at the time of booking. I feel that the customer should always know the total cost to be paid, including any tax, when booking. But this is a minor matter and I thoroughly recommend Hotel Domstern.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I had a one night stay at the Domstern as a stop-over while driving to Nuremberg.
The single room was perfectly clean and comfortable, and the shower was excellent.
The receptionist was ereally helpfull with advise on where to eat locally.
The breakfast was good, with a great choice.
The hotel is located a short 10 minute walk from the cathederal, and there was plenty of parking on the road outside the hotel.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Domstern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Domstern

Address: Domstrasse 26, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Hotel Domgarten)
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#16 Business Hotel in Cologne
#17 Family Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Domstern 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few steps from the famous Cologne Cathedral, main station, historic city center, shopping area and not far from the trade fair, you will find Hotel Domstern in a quiet side street. We offer newly renovated rooms, free wifi, parking, only nonsmoking rooms, elevator and our extended breakfast buffet until 11 am and even 12 noon during weekends. We are proud and humbled getting the "Travellers choice award 2010" from our guests for our personal service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Domstern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domstern Hotel Cologne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Domstern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.