We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel - a bit far though....Must have a car!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Friends Koeln

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Friends Koeln to your Saves list
Hotel Friends Koeln
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Roggendorf Strasse 23-25, 51061 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #135 of 280 Hotels in Cologne
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“good hotel - a bit far though....Must have a car!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2009

We stayed for a couple of days in this hotel. It is a good hotel if you have a car. It is about 8km from the Dom. The good point is that the parking is free (in the center is about 18 euros per period!!!). So you can visit the center (and then use the parking lot) for a small amount. The staf is very friendly, and we have free internet access. I certainly recomend this hotel if the person is travelling by car.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    19
    14
    5
    0
See reviews for
4
13
3
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacile, Italy
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2008

I've been there 2 years ago for bunsiness travel and my colleagueas are there now.
Is a nice hotel, modern and very veryclean!
The rooms are quite big and with all the conforts you need.
The staff is professional and kind (not all of them speaks english but they always try to understand you).
The breakfast is quite rich and nice and also the restaurant offers a lot of good dishes.
Is not in the city center: you need a car to reach it.

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leiria
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2008

Good rooms and nice hotel.
Poor Location, Far from city center.

  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2007

I just recently stayed a couple of nights at "Friends" hotel in Cologne.

The photos from the hotel site and the nice reviews set me up for quite a big disappointment...

The fact that more and more places have been trying for the "design hotels" look is (in my opinion) GREAT! I love slick / "simplistic" / cool / modern places, and have always desliked most of the "sandard hotel furniture" and the ugly colorful flowery bed cover patterns.

Friends seem to have tried for this "design hotel look", but having to remodel a whole building (which looked like used to be an old apartment building) they chose cheap material and a lot of stuff was not as nicely done as it could have been.

From what I saw, only this one sitting room with some sofas and TV (between the reception and the restaurant) looked nice (and like the site photos).

The room I stayed looked like used to be a studio apartment (you could see on the wall through the paint where the sink used to be), was facing the back with a big balcony from which you could see faaaar away the top of Cologne's cathedral.

Even with the door to the balcony closed, there was some wind coming through (even moving the curtains), so I imagine during the winter one must crank up the heater so not to freeze (I was cold during one stormy night).

Other than that the room was "ok", probably even looked nice when new (the colors / idea), but the carpet has already the usual signs of use (stains) and the furniture was pretty cheap.

The matress was good, BUT I was a bit turned off by sleeping there when I found TWICE very long blond hairs, yes on the bed, and no, I'm not blond. Ok ok, could've come from the cleaning girl, but it's still not a nice feeling when you pull the blanket up to go to sleep and get the hair poke you right on your face... (makes you think of other kinds of hair you're probably not seeing)

What I really desliked though was the (TINY) bathroom.
The door wouldn't even open completely (without hiting the heater) and there was really only place for one person to enter at a time.
The shower was the kind that that fill with water around your feet when you shower, and the doors also looked, uh, a bit disgusting
(see photo).
If I were them I would've definitely removed that thing and put a flat one on the floor, with a better drain, and simple clear glass doors (and easier to clean)...

The restaurant attached to the hotel (Amici) was quite ugly (not at all like the "design" look from the hotel), cheap, the fake flowers and the pattern of the seats.... ARGH! (yeah, ugly psychedelic patterns is not my thing... unfortunately they hide stains better than plain simple nice colors so restaurants and hotels love them...)
It wouldn't have bothered me at all had I not had "breakfast included", since I probably wouldn't have even entered it....
But on the first day I went to their restaurant for breakfast.... and didn't return the next day.
With all the nice bread and usual German breakfast buns, what they had to offer was just not tasty, and a small variety of stuff to put together.

The staff was also not "incredibly friendly" as many people wrote (at least the people I saw the days I was there), only one girl at the reception was extra friendly (but also bordering the american "fake" friendliness which to me... sorry but sometimes it's a bit of a turnoff).

Since I had a car and know the city and the ways around, it didn't bother much the distance (it IS far from the center of town).

Altogether, it was not a "horrible" stay, and there are definitely many worse places in Cologne (even more expensive), but I would really NOT stay there again.

  • Liked — The photos on their site and good reviews... but it was deceiving
  • Disliked — Shower, hairs on the bed, their breakfast, "cheap" (don't mean the price)
  • Stayed July 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2006

This hotel was lovely, I'd definitly recommend it. The only problem we found was the distance from the central station (took us 20mins by taxi), but this was more than compensated for. The room was clean and modern with a large balcony. The whole place looked recently decorated; the reception and lounge areas were comfortable. We had dinner in the attached restaurant , where the food and atmosphere was great. The hotel staff were friendly, spoke English well and did everything they could to accomodate us. We only stayed one night and really regretted leaving so soon!

  • Liked — Atmosphere
  • Disliked — Distance from town
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2006

We stayed at this Hotel in May 2006 and it was really nice. The staff are friendly and can all speak English (which can be a pain if you are trying to improve your German!)

Over all i would reccommend this hotel to anyone who is visiting Koln or any of the surrounding cities. The only downfall is the time it takes to get to Koln becaus eyouhave to get a bus and then a train. This is OK because they run all night and are not expensive but it does mean that you can't wander into town.

  • Liked — really contemporary
  • Disliked — there was nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — learn how to use the public transport
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Friends Koeln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Friends Koeln

Address: Roggendorf Strasse 23-25, 51061 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Friends Koeln 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Friends Koeln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Friends Koeln Cologne
Friends Koeln Hotel Cologne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Friends Koeln, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.