We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very much a budget hotel all the way” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Styles Koeln City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Styles Koeln City to your Saves list
Ibis Styles Koeln City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Barbarossaplatz 4a, 50674 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Altstadt-Süd)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #120 of 281 Hotels in Cologne
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Very much a budget hotel all the way”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Small and extremely simple, Ikea-styled rooms including a bed, small desk, chair and small tv. Location is great, only 15min walk to the city center. You can find free parking on weekends nearby.

During our stay the breakfast was a disaster since there were way too many people, not enough tables, food or staff. A lot of people were just waiting around for someone to leave the tiny breakfast room and when they did, no one cleaned up the plates and garbage of the previous diners. In Germany hotel breakfast isn't even that important to have because at every corner you normally find a bakery serving amazing sandwiches and coffee! Basically with the same money you can get a much better hotel without breakfast and then just walk around the corner to a bakery without any fuss.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    70
    63
    19
    8
See reviews for
46
59
11
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My husband, brother and I stayed here in May. The staff were nice and helpful, the breakfast was very tasty with a good selection of hot and cold food, the room and bathroom were clean,the only thing we didn't like about it was the location. It was not that close to the city- we took a long walk into the city but there seemed to be some dodgy areas around the hotel on the way to the city that looked dangerous. There are some nice restaurants across the road from the hotel and there was a laundromat about 5 mins walk from the hotel which was helpful. We spent 2 days in Cologne, probably 1 would do it, there wasn't that much to see. I rated the hotel as average- the staff are nice and the rooms are good,but we didn't like that area that the hotel was in.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I booked into this hotel from the web, seems nice, well located.... well, the rooms are small, but that is fine still, but when the hotel advertises WI FI through out the hotel - and you get here and all of a sudden it has a problem with iPad's and Iphones..... and you cant conntect, and the answer is "nothing we can do about it"... business trip without connectivity - yes, great way to start your trip. so, based on this - this hotel is not recommended for business people - it's for students, so youth hostel is what comes to mind here for sure! I am very unhappy and it's night 1..... 3 to go! bad choice from my side!!!

Room Tip: noisy hotel, actually feels like a dorm.... so perhaps rather not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here for 2 separate nights as a stopover on our way down to Bavaria and back from England. We have Twin boys so were looking for a hotel not too far away from the main road around the city, but close enough to the centre to spend a couple of evenings in the city. The hotel was very welcoming to children, they have some toys out in reception which our Boys loved playing with. The breakfast was excellent, lots off choice and really good quality. Tram stop outside hotel which is only 4 stops from the Dom (cathedral) and a short walk to the lake and park area. Hotel has an underground parking area, we couldn't use this as we had a roof box but we were able to park outside each evening, wasn't cheap but then it is a city centre location! Highly recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This hotel is well situated to the centre of the city you could catch a tram from outside or walk to the Dom in 15 mins. The rooms are bright and clean and have a great ceiling fan. Some might say it was a bit noisy but didn't have a problem with it. lots of great places to eat in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed in the Ibis Styles Koeln City in July 2013. Hotel is fantastically placed for access to the Dom as just around the corner from the Barbarossaplatz U-Bahn stop. Access to Bonn also really easy from here...but be prepared with plenty of change! El Gaucho underneath the hotel makes the best steak you will ever eat...a must try. Really good restaurants also close by on Zulpicher Strasse. (Borsalino was a very good Italian!) Free tea and coffee all day until 8pm (but reception let us have some after that time too) Breakfast was excellent with a really good selection. A few good bakeries and a convenience store also just around the corner (Corner shop sells very good and cheap Kolsch!) The only issued were the very small bathroom (with over-sized hand basin) and lack of air-conditioning in the room...the fan just wasn't quite good enough to cool the room in mid-july!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Styles Koeln City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Koeln City

Address: Barbarossaplatz 4a, 50674 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Süd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 281 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Koeln City 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Styles Koeln City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Styles Koeln City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.