We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of meat.ing Korean BBQ

meat.ing Korean BBQ
Hohe Pforte 9-11, 50676 Köln Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
221-99556860
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #91 of 1,724 Restaurants in Cologne
Cuisines: Korean
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch today at meat.ing and really enjoyed it! Had the Korean bbq special and staff happily accommodated our request to substitute chicken for beef/pork! Fun, healthy and tasty meal!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    26
    5
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portishead, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My first Korean food experience and it was excellent. My colleague who regularly visits Korea was impressed too. Service very efficient and friendly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

A Korean BBQ is not necessarily an obvious choice for a stay in a German city, but we had to pass this walking to and from our hotel. It looked clean, with modern decor, and seemed pretty busy, so we looked it up on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed!! The food was fabulous! In fact, too good - and we ate so much, we felt we were rolling back to the hotel. The "smaller" set menu included pork, beef and chicken, all beautifully fresh and tender in marinades so good, we kept changing our minds as to which one was the best. Added to that was a whole range of side dishes - onions, fish, sweet potato noodles, bean sprouts.... and not a duff dish among them.

Terrific, friendly service, with staff keeping an eye all the time on whether everything was ok and whether we wanted more of anything.

We even enjoyed the melon ice lolly at the end!

Would definitely recommend and will go return on our next trip to Cologne.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unusual pleasure of calling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I was very hesitant, I didn't want to bother the waiters... But my kirei told me that in Korea it's really normal. You can call them pushing a call-button, and amazingly gentle and young waiters immediately come. Smart system if you think about it. We were there for lunch, so I can't talk about the BBQ, but my korean style salad was satisfying, of course tasty. My korean roommate (her too a "little chef") sent me a picture of the salad she was preparing for herself in Milan and they looked the same. The typical sauce that makes the difference in korean cuisine was delicious. Authentic korean restaurant, maybe just too modern, though elegant, in the ambience. I'd like to see more korean references in the interior design too, a bit too contemporary–cold.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sekondi-Takoradi, Ghana
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very nice place with very good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

The drinks menu is larger then the choices of food, there are two meat menu's and one vegetarian. We took menu 2 and this was excessive amounts of small disses, and a very large plate of meat. Overall tastes are very nice, I can recommend going here for some Korean flavors.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed meat.ing Korean BBQ also viewed

Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to meat.ing Korean BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage meat.ing Korean BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.