We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent italian food in Cologne” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Collina's

Collina's
Am Hof 48, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
0221 / 32091901
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #321 of 1,726 Restaurants in Cologne
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent italian food in Cologne”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Just close to The Dome you find this small italian restaurant where we had dinner. I must say I was pleasantly surprised of the food. To start with they served us a selection of different meet and fish starters were the fish was faboulus. Pasta as main was also good with a italian red wine. If you are in Cologne I will say you should go to Collina's instead of the other big typical German restaurants...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    19
    3
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice Goodyear”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We are here twice and really enjoyed the food, the only complaint, if any was the size if the menu. The staff find it a little hard to communicate and describe the dishes in English but everything we ordered was spot on.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the worst lasagnas ever”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Very convenient location, right next to the cathedral and with a nice interior design, we expected the food to be at the same quality. Ordered two minestrones which were ok, and then the lasagna bolognese surprise arrived. The lasagna were not cooked in the middle , you could actually see the dry pasta foils and therefore portions of it were inedible. More than that the meat was almost lacking from the it. I mentioned the facts to one of the guys there but I did not get any reply.
Plus the fact that the price of a 1L bottle of water is almost as pricey as a lasagna.
My conclusion: Tourist trap. Avoid.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“A grim experience with high self-regard”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Inexplicably overrated and enormously overpriced, we found this central Cologne eatery to be everything that disappoints in Italian restaurants. Inattentive staff (at least when not being patronising as this they approached with some gusto) and slow service were just the start. A potato soup came with an inexplicable (one assumes lost) king prawn leaking into it. The Caprese was a disgrace, attempting to atone for poor quality ingredients with unwelcome volume. Mains fared better with a well-cooked sea bass and a middling mixed grill but then if you can't do a mixed grill, what hope is there? I cannot understand what the fuss is all about. The Mondial hotel opposite did much better, creative food at the same price. So go there!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromso, Norway
1 review
“Fantastic Italian restaurant in Cologne!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We´ve been to this restaurant several times, and always had first class service from very friendly waiters and management. Excellent food, excellent staff, every time! Good quality cooking, with top quality wine. Would recommend this restaurant to everyone!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Collina's also viewed

Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Collina's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Collina's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.