We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lint Hotel Koln

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cologne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lint Hotel Koln
Save
You added Lint Hotel Koln to your Saves list
Lintgasse 7, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Altstadt-Nord)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 281 Hotels in Cologne
Kiev, Ukraine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Location and Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

Lint Hotel is a comfortable and mildly chic hotel located in the heart of central Koln. Lint is within a minute 1, 3 or 5 minute walk from three different Christmas Markets (obviously this only applies during holidays) so if holiday shopping is your thing the location for Lint will be perfect. If you're more interested in the sights the Dome is within 10 minute walk as is the Roman History Museum and the central train station. Lint was an all around conveniently located hotel.

The hotel was clean and stylishly designed, though fraying a bit around the edges. Within a couple of years the drapes and some other minor room accessories will probably have to be changed to keep the place from going down the road to shabby-town. Staff in the hotel were friendly and helpful and they cooked up a very tasty breakfast (included in room). Considering the location and the quality of the room the hotel was a bargain. Fancier hotels cost double or more than what we paid and during the Christmas season a private room in a hostel was more than Lint. Great Location and great value!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    27
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
18
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

This place is privatly owned and situated right in the middle of the old part of town. So beware, that it is hard to reach by car, since its a pedestrian only zone. Best advice: Drive into the "Gross Sankt Martin" parking facilities. Its a new small building right in between older parts of the city. Interior rather modern and stylish, but very quaint and peacefull choice of meaterials and colors. Rooms are spacefull, very comfortable, large glas windows go back to a nice courtyard (church). I would highly recommend this place to every first time visitor, since you really in the middle of everything but still in a quiet surrounding. Due tu the courtyard and people trafficing it can get a little noisy at night, but noting really serious. Breakfast is very good. Restaurants are nearby.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

I stayed at the Lint Hotel for a week. The staff in particular were very friendly and helpful; I was especially impressed by them. The location is also fantastic - a short stroll down the street to the restaurants and walk along the river, close to the Dom and other city attractions. Even in the midst of the big CSD celebrations, it was also surprisingly quiet in the back room off the street. If you want five-star accommodations, perhaps this is not the hotel for you. But it is clean and pleasant, reasonably priced and in a great spot.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestreshire, England
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2008

My wife and I wanted a base to visit the Christmas Markets. The Lint hotel is situated in a quiet, narrow cobbled street in the Old Town within easy walking distance of the train and coach stations, five of the six Christmas markets, the Dom, several museums, the fabulous shopping areas, and good, reasonably priced eating houses.
The young hotel staff were very welcoming,spoke good english and made us welcome. (A replacement light bulb was fitted almost immediately in our room.) The rooms are accessed by a fairly steep spiral staircase, minimally but more than adequately and comfortably furnished with modern built in units. The rooms have their own thermostats to ensure a very pleasant temperature.
Self-service breakfast is good and substantial.(Coffee could have been hotter.)

  • Liked — Convenient, quiet, central location in Old Town
  • Disliked — Warm coffee
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2008

A fantastic find in the heart of Cologne. We selected this hotel for its location and reviews, and weren't disappointed. Myself, my husband and my daughter , along with another couple, have just spent 2 nights at the lint for the christmas markets. The hotel is situated within easy walking distance of all the sights, and the station, and very central for the markets.

All the staff were extremely friendly, and went out of there way to help us. We were travelling with our 16 month old daughter, and the hotel managed to rustle up a fantastic travel cot for us to use.

The rooms are compact but adequate, and very warm and cosy! Breakfast is the usual continental style, but beautifully layed out, and nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

We had some lovely meals, The X11 apostles just around the corner (italian) served us an excellent evening meal, and we discovered a local gem near to the chocolate museum called the "witches house", serving fantastic local dishes. The pub looks uninspiring from the outside , but the warm welcome and food made up our initial misgivings.

  • Liked — The friendly staff and extremely clean rooms
  • Disliked — Lack of lounge area / bar with comfy chairs to relax
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2008

My wife and I spent 6 nights at the Lint-Hotel in July 2008.
The stay was perfectly satisfactory. Lint-Hotel is a small, presumably private (non-chain) property located in the heart of Cologne's AltStadt 2 minutes from the Rhine and 7-8 minutes from the Dom. Location is ideal. Staff are friendly and accommodating. Rooms are small and basic but comfortable. Moderate price (E129) includes good breakfast and wired Internet. No toiletries (soap, shampoo, etc.), are provided.
Our room looked out over a very quiet, albeit public, square where the main distractions were tour groups at all hours (up to 10 p.m.!) admiring the nearby Romanesque church Gross St. Martin and an odd pair of bronze sculptures which were described to us as representing German comedians analogous to Laurel and Hardy.
We'd stay at the Lint-Hotel again without hesitation.

  • Liked — Location; free internet; breakfast; staff
  • Disliked — Bedroom floor was never vacuumed and dust showed on the outside of my black carry-on no matter where I put it.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2008

Booked a room at the lint the same day I was to arrive. Used another booking service, not the hotel directly. (Hotel website rate was 120 Euro, the booking service rate was 82 Euro, not including parking or breakfast)

The hardest part is finding the hotel. You can't drive directly there, since it's in a pedestrian only area. You CAN enter the Gross St. Martin parking garage...drive underground for about 2 blocks and if you park in the right spot...walk up the stairs directly in the courtyard behind the hotel. Once this was explained to me (By the hotel Staff) the rest of the stay here was great.

There WAS a fair in town, (street fest) but it didn't extend down the small Lintgasse, so the hotel was alot quieter than some of the larger hotels around the Dom would have been. Still - as with all hotels in Europe - you will be awakened by a drunk guy serenading the town at around 3am, on his way home after the bars close.

The staff (the two I met) were great. Very accommodating and helpful. The room was exactly as described, but had the bonus of a large shower with GREAT water pressure. Like an earlier writer mentioned though...no toiletries, other than a hand soap pumper.

If you don't like stairs, or if you have a load of luggage...consider this - no lift. Just a circular staircase. The staff did offer to help me with my bag though.

Didn't get the breakfast, had somewhere else to go, but coming down the stairs - whatever they were cooking in the morning smelled great.

  • Liked — Close to almost everything
  • Disliked — initial difficulty finding the hotel
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lint Hotel Koln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lint Hotel Koln

Address: Lintgasse 7, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Cologne
#18 Best Value Hotel in Cologne
#25 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Lint Hotel Cologne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lint Hotel Koln, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.