We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real hidden gem, unique and perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Savoy Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Savoy Hotel to your Saves list
Savoy Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Turiner Strasse 9, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 281 Hotels in Cologne
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A real hidden gem, unique and perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

If you like to discover hidden hotels which are unique n every way then this hotel is for you. Each room is beautiful in decor and the suites are simply breathtaking with the best jacuzzis in town. From the moment you step in to the hotel, the rooms, the spa and wellness centre to the food and the bar we could not fault this hotel. If you plan to visit this beautiful city and want a great hotel in a great location please make sure you stay here. They even parked our car for us! Wonderful hotel, wonderful staff and wonderful suite to make Cologne a perfect weekend trip. Thank you Savoy!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite, truly memorable to make it extra special!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAVOY59, Public Relations Manager at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Feedback is a gift!
Dear Zulfi M,

thank you very much for this wonderful feedback.
We highly appreciate your positive remarks about the hotel, the rooms and the atmosphere.
Of course we forward your compliments to all our staff members.
For your next trip we would be happy to welcome you on our Sky Lounge where you can enjoy the breathtaking view on Cologne while drinking a refreshing Cocktail.

We hope to welcome you soon again and remain with kind regards,

Your Savoy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    54
    18
    13
    7
See reviews for
3
70
30
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bonn, Germany
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Unfortunately i didn't have a good experinse with the Savoy hotel koln. i was excited for my stay and then all turned upside down. the check in was great, but all started when i got into my room... my junior-suite was small compared to the suites i have seen before and compared to the price i paid for.
then the surprise was , no shampoo no handkerchiefs and water goes onto the bathroom floor into the room's carpet making the smell in the room very bad.

i complained and all what i heard was: sorry i dont smell it!!! and the front-desk brought some shower creme instead of shampoo.

it all makes no sense because if the hotel management see a reservation for a couple in a suite for a weekend they should really prepare the room properly and not wait for the guest to call and complain.

i can not recommend this hotel i am really shocked to what i have experienced during my stay

Room Tip: i had Junior suite - venice ...603 dont you EVER book it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAVOY59, Public Relations Manager at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Feedback is a gift!
Dear khodord,

we are very sorry to read about your negative experience about the stay in our hotel. However we are also a bit surprised about your comment that we did not try to help you. Our service members tried hard to fix the problem by moving you to another suite which you rejected. We offered you different other Junior suites so you would have received a room which may have been more appealing to you. This is why we are wondering that you are stating that we did not help you out at all.

We hope to welcome you again in our hotel to have another opportunity to convince and satisfy you.

Kind regards
Your Savoy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The savoy is very conveniently located close to Cologne/Koln main station.
Check in- easy and quite rewarding, i was upgraded to a double room from the single I had booked originally.
Room- Clean, plenty of space. It is up to date in terms of equipment and heating facilities. Hotel wifi worked very well and was easy to log into. My room didn't have much of a view but there isnt much to see around in any case. Bed was comfortable but a little short in length. Anyone over 5ft 10 inches will have their feet sticking out.
Bathroom- toilet seat cover had a couple of stains but were cleaned out upon request. Daily cleanliness was well maintained.

Room Tip: Check in staff seemed to be customer comfort oriented so ask and I'm sure they will do their bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAVOY59, Public Relations Manager at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Feedback is a gift!
Dear Karan b,

Thank you very much for your feedback about your time in our hotel.
We appreciate your comments and are forwarding the compliments to our staff.
We hope to welcome you in Cologne soon again and look forward to have you again as our guest.

Kind regards,
Your team of the Savoy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed at the Savoy while visiting in June. It is a great location, very funky cool in the decor. The bathrooms were modern and efficient. The only complaint was that I'm not sure that I knew how to operate the air conditioning and it was a little warm. But to the hotel's defense, I didn't ask for help either. I would definitely recommend this property.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

overall a hotel that we will never return to. they said they had a wellness centre which is just what we were looking for but really it was just a few lounge chairs and a couple of public baths. not appealing at all. then when we asked where to go for dinner they directed us somewhere which was a $15 cab ride away and when we got there the place was DEAD. where was everyone. up the other end of the city, no where near where she told us to go. the rooms are small and dark and the room we had there was a shower on one side of the room and the bathroom was on the other. really weird set op. we did get our breakfast in the morning for free though. haha. so they were too slack to check us in or out of the breakfast room, so their loss. the service we go at this hotel overall spoilt our 24hours in Colonge and wont be somewhere we head back to.

Room Tip: do go here. find somewhere closer to the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed over New Years Eve - including dinner and party.
Party was a bit lame as people were sitting rather than dancing. Music was ok though.
Dinner was exquisite.
The room on the Paris floor was really stylish.
We enjoyed the spa very much. Steam bath, sauna, calmly decorated and comfortable rest room. A good choice of treatments (massage, facial, steam bath).
The staff overall was extremely friendly, forthcoming and helpful.
We enjoyed our stay very much.
(P.S.: you should visit the café about a 3 minute walk called Café Extrablatt - we very much enjoyed having lunch, dinner and drinks there)

Room Tip: get a floor higher up - you can see the Dom (cathedral) from high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Be careful in this Hotel, and try to have nothing with value or liquid money with you ...or better look for other place.
I did not sleep for 2 days as the trip was too long, I specially choose a kind of good hotel to have a rest in peace, but it was not a case in this dum hotel - while deeply sleeping someone from the personnel has enter and robbed all the money and my watch!!!!!!!!! when I waked up I see no money, and no watch, I called the police, but nothing was done just writting down what was happened!!!, the administration of the Hotel was unemotionnel, too cold...(no reaction) just reapeating the same...we will wait the police investigation.....wwhat kind of investigation that was, I do not know!!!.As my stay was prepaid, the 2days left I really did not sleep each dum noise I waked up, and I did a kind of traps in near the door!!!!!!
I believe that everyone in the hotel is involved in this kind of operation, so be carefull!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAVOY77, Public Relations Manager at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Dear travellers ,

Regarding the latest accusation we want you to be sure that security and safety of our guest has always been one of our top. Of course we handle any suspicion seriously and support any investigation with everything being in our power.

Kind regards,

The hotel manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel

Address: Turiner Strasse 9, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#5 Business Hotel in Cologne
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Savoy Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Cologne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savoy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.