We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not quite up to Radisson standard” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Cologne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Hotel, Cologne to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cologne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Messe Kreisel 3, 50679 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Radisson SAS)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #24 of 281 Hotels in Cologne
GreenLeadersGold level
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“not quite up to Radisson standard”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The staff was super nice and professional as always, and the location is very convenient (practically inside the fairgrounds, and within easy walking distance to the cathedral). That said, the condition of my room left me a bit disappointed. Toilet paper holder falling apart, carpet stained, no power outlet within easy reach at the bed. Oh, and half of the parking lots are reserved for women, really overdoing things.
I'll probably return to the place due to its convenient location, but I hope this onbe room was just a glitch.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    314
    72
    21
    9
See reviews for
62
209
52
246
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bungay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed here one night on way to Italy. Great hotel with excellent staff. Very comfortable bedroom with all facilities you expect from a modern hotel. Breakfast excellent with every thing you could wish for. Only downside is the position of the hotel which is a 20 minute walk to the city centre.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

A little tricky to find by sat nav and situated on the "wrong" side of the river, but quiet for all of that. Valet parking available underneath the hotel. Big business-type hotel, but pretty good overall. Bags were taken up to room, and tickets for Claudius spa package also delivered. Very nice spacious room (standard), can't see why an upgrade would be needed, but disappointingly small bathrooms. Toiletries - there was a promotional Nivea package for men, but only one small bottle of bodywash/shampoo, and a guest soap. These were not renewed on the second day.
Promised bowl of fruit was not in room, but brought up the following day on request - fresh strawberries, blackberries and raspberries. Lovely after a day wandering around the shops.

We left for the Claudius spa in a complimentary taxi, which was perfect because the spa is difficult to access being situated underneath a flyover. The spa package claimed to include towels and robes, but when we asked for these at the spa, we were told they were not part of the deal and had to pay four euros each. Taking this up with the hotel on return, we were told that we should have collected towels from reception before we left. The website deal definately states " towels and robes at the spa", not "collect from reception before you go"! We negotiated free car parking in recompense.

Part of the package includes a three course meal in the Paparazzi restaurant. .The staff do their bit, they just don't have the right ingredients to do it with. Starter is a choice of pizza toppings, and main course choice is pizza or pasta. Desserts were appalling. No gluten free choice, and pretty much everything had garlic in, even the pizza sauce although we were promised not. Which is fine if you like gralic but if you have an allergy, then not so good.

One of the delights of the hotel is the magnificent buffet breakfast spread. Allow plenty of time to enjoy it, with a free newspaper. The other delight is the spa and fitness suite at the hotel itself. A complete set of free weights and machines, steam room, sauna, plunge pool, rest area. Absolutely fabulous, and hardly used by any other clients during our stay.

Disappointed to be awakened at 07:30 by maid on Saturday morning. OK so we hadn't put out the "do not disturb" sign, but surely there is some sort of dialogue with reception?
Bed has two single duvets in true german style.

Definately worth the package deal, even if you eat somewhere else!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The hotel is in a good location, easy access to motorways. The surrounding area is pleasant and quiet enough. But once you enter the hotel, you get the feeling that you are several decades back in time! The lobby and the restaurant need some redesigning urgently. The hotel seemed also a bit understaffed, with a long queue at the reception. The staff were, however, helpful and friendly. Our room was very quiet and comfortable. The breakfast is in my opinion overpriced, at 25 euros per person. But as a whole, this hotel is a good choice for a short visit.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson_Cologne, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cologne, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Petia Greenfield,

Thank you for sharing your observations with us.

I am happy to read that you liked our rooms, but regret that the design of our lobby and restaurant did not meet your expectations. We usually receive lots of positive comments about the design, however that once more proofs that design is a matter of taste. Our hotel design is modern, but special. One thing is for sure, The Radisson Blu Hotel Cologne is always worth a visit.

I hope you will give us the pleasure to welcome you again soon.

with kindest Regards,

Jürgen Wirtz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I stayed 1 night at the hotel at a business room at the 6th floor
The lounge is big and impressive.
The room was modern with a comfortable bed but with a small bathroom.
Everything was clean and well designed.
I liked the veranda outside of my room, the view was good where somebody can smoke and relax.
The breakfast was rich and the breakfast room spacious.
I liked the bar, good service but unfortunately there is only one.
I recommend the hotel for business reasons.

Room Tip: Get a room at the upper floors, the view is good and you will be able to smoke
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson_Cologne, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cologne, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear MakisAthens1970,

I would like to let you know that we appreciated your feedback on your stay very much.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and showing us and other travellers that you had a pleasant stay. Thank you also for commending us for business travels, however our hotel and Cologne have also much to offer for a relaxing trip with your beloved ones.

I will gladly share your feedback with my team! We hope you will stay with us again this year. It would be great to see you again.

With kindest Regards,

Jürgen Wirtz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This is certainly my "2013 surprise of the year" (for now). This hotel was above my expectations on most of the points and I can definitely recommend it. I would not hesitate one second to return there for my next stays in Cologne.

City centre is reachable by public transport, but do not expect to find anything (except Köln Messe) is the surroundings. Property is quiet, thanks to its design and huge patio it gives a real impression of space.

Rooms are original, very nice size (above average), definitely pleasant even if they show some signs of age. Bathroom amenities are minimalistic, but here again bathroom is large and things do work.

Breakfast is on a huge buffet with lots of choice, it is good, but expensive (25 €!). Room service food is served rapidly and is average.

In room Internet access: I had choice of Wireless and wired, used the latter. The access was just *excellent*, nearly as fast as at home, and I must say that I have never seen such a good Internet access in a hotel until my stay there. The service they provide should be standard.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson_Cologne, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cologne, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear voyageur_Londres,

How nice to see that we exceeded your expectations of our hotel.

It makes us happy and a little proud that we are your "2013 surprise hotel of the year" and we would add this titel to our other top rated service awards from Tripadvisor, holidaycheck, hotels.com and many more.

It was a great pleasure for us that you stayed at our hotel and I hope you will soon travel to Cologne again.

with kindest Regards,

Jürgen Wirtz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Radisson Blu was really comfortable and we enjoyed our stay. The room was large, as was the bathroom, and everything you expect is provided. We could see the Dom from our floor-to-ceiling windows, and the bed and duvet were very comfortable. We had booked a business double room, which we were told doesn't actually exist, so they put us in a regular twin room and gave us free vouchers for coffee, since the business room has an expresso machine but the regular rooms do not. The vouchers could also be redeemed for beer, so we were able to enjoy that in the lounge after a long day of sightseeing. It's only a 10 minute walk from Koln Deutz/Messe (NOT hbf) with luggage, but it's a 30 minute walk (it's lovely, so it feels short, but we timed it) to the Dom, even cutting through the Deutz/Messe station. Be careful if you're coming internationally via a Thalys train - it doesn't always stop at Deutz/Messe after hbf (you'll have to transfer) so inquire. Service could be really good (the kind desk clerk let me use a check-in computer terminal to access the internet, for free, when their business center charges for usage) or really indifferent (I waited over an hour for reception to send up maintenance for fix the clogged bath, and he/she never ultimately showed and reception never asked about it). Breakfast was great, but very busy. I would stay there again, happily.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson_Cologne, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cologne, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear CurrerE,

It was a great pleasure to read your favorable comments and I hope you had a good journey home. It flatters us immensely that you were so satisfied with our hotel and service provided.

We would love to welcome you back to our wonderful hotel here in Cologne and look forward to your next stay with us!

With kindest Regards,

Jürgen Wirtz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Cologne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Cologne

Address: Messe Kreisel 3, 50679 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cologne
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#20 Family Hotel in Cologne
#20 Business Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Cologne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Rezidor, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Cologne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cologne Hotel Cologne
Radisson Cologne
Cologne Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel, Cologne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.