We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Rheinischer Sauerbraten Ever!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oma's Kuche

Oma's Kuche
Grosse Budengasse 2 b, Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #77 of 1,643 restaurants in Cologne
Cuisines: German
Restaurant details
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Best Rheinischer Sauerbraten Ever!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

In Cologne just for the day and happily stumbled upon Oma's Kuche just off the main pedestrian shopping area. We wanted some good German food for lunch and not something from a fast food restaurant. Just a little hole in the wall place with some tables out front. The Rheinisher Sauerbraten was unbelievable! Meat was tender, gravy was to die for and you can't forget the dumplings! Wouldn't hesitate to go back again!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    12
    10
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Waterbury, Connecticut
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Basic German Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Oma's kuche is a Cologne restaurant right off of the main pedestrian shopping section. I had the bratwurst with sauerkraut and potatoes. The food was very good. There isn't much atmosphere and it is basically just eat and go, but it is conveniently located.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Simple food, inexpensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Slow service, but the food is not bad, inexpensive, traditional. Don't expect anything fancy, yet if you are looking for some basic meal you have it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I was in Cologne for a week on business and was having a hard time finding any truly "local" restaurants. I happened onto this place while exploring the area in ever increasing circles from my hotel (Hilton Cologne) and ended up coming back several times. It was well worth the walk, even though they were having some extremely cold weather at the time. The food was reminiscent of my grandmother's cooking who had some German ancestry but I had never given it much thought until I ate here.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Traditional German Fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This place offers very traditional German fare. The prices are right and it is geographically very close to the dome yet far enough from it to not be too "touristy". Many of the dishes seemed similar with just the meat switched (e.g. pork or Puten/turkey Schnitzel with cream sauce) and most of them with Bratkartoffel (sliced fried potatoes).

I sat out front but the inside looked very cosy ... just as you would picture your grandma's kitchen.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oma's Kuche also viewed

Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Oma's Kuche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oma's Kuche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.