We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best tour-guide ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Farina House Tour

Farina House Tour
Obenmarspforten 21, Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 53 Activities in Cologne
Type: Factory Tours, Sightseeing Tours
Attraction details
Munich, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best tour-guide ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

At first I wasn't quite sure that I wanted to take the tour, since my fiancee isn't a big fan of 'girly' stuff, but we did it anyway and we both ended up totally loving it!
Although the place is pretty small (there's the actual store on the ground floor, a room upstairs, and a couple of rooms in the basement), the amount of information they gave us was amazing, and quite interesting.
What made it worth the while was the actual guide, who spoke a perfect English, and who impersonated the late Johann Farina. Both funny and smart.
Plus we got two little perfumes at the end of the tour, so the tour actually costed only 50 cents. Awesome!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    15
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the whole thing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Very different experience! Had the chance to sample various types of fragrances and learnt so much about the industry as well as the history. The building itself is really pretty. The guide, 'Farina', was hilarious and thumbs up to him!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Even for a guy, this is BRILLIANT !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We did the Farina tour because my girlfriend really wanted to do the tour, to be honest, I was sceptical...the tour starts in a small room upstairs and I thought I would have to see a boring talk on perfume...

BUT WHAT A WONDERFUL SURPRISE !!!

The tour guide was just amazing, interesting and whitty...he stayed in character whilst also being good at ad-libing]

an hour passed very quickly with truly interesting facts and stories.

I would say that anyone would enjoy it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baku, Azerbaijan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Unforgettable experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We decided to do the Farina house guided tour during our weekend in Cologne because it was so highly recommended by many people on Trip advisor. And we weren't disappointed at all! First, I have to say that we were lucky to have Louisa, an Italian guide (who did the tour in English) as our guide. She was so artistic and funny, making us laugh and literally feel the history of the famous Eau de Cologne. Ad of course the story of this first European perfume is fascinating by itself, and the part of the tour where we acted as "noses", trying different aromas and guessing their origin, was also an experience to remember. Highly recommend it!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Interesting, informative and great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This turned out to be much better than I thought it would be. We were given a 45 minute history of Eau de Cologne & tour of Farina House. Our guide, Luisa, was knowledgeable, enthusiastic and entertaining.
The tour is well worth the €5 price, especially considering that you are given an Eau de Cologne sample at the end of the tour, which retails at €4. You need to book your tour - ours was in the afternoon and we managed to book it the same morning. Each tour is limited to 20 people.
There are plenty of products for sale, but no pressure to buy.
I would strongly recommend a visit to Farina House.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farina House Tour also viewed

Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Farina House Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farina House Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.