We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great trip up the rhine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of KD Day Cruises

KD Day Cruises
Frankenwerft 35, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
+49 (0) 221/2088-318
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$10*
and up
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: KD, the White Fleet of the Rhine, is the most experienced river cruise company in the world. With a history going back more than 185 years, KD is the only shipping company to run daily services along the entire stretch of the Rhine between Cologne and Mainz. On the Romantic Middle Rhine between Rüdesheim, the Loreley in St. Goar and Boppard our modern ships cruise the whole year round. The 14 ship strong KD fleet gives guests a choice of countless ways to enjoy the sights.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“great trip up the rhine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

took the KD Boat from Mainz to Koblenz. Got the 8:45 am in mainz with very few people. Had breakfast ( scrambled eggs and local ham) on the boat before it got crowded. Saw all the World Hertiage sites from the top deck as more and more people got on. Many got on in Bachrach and then off in Rudesheim. Got to Kobelnz by 2:10 pm with enough time to take our bags to the hotel, go to the train station and go back to Marksberg castle for the 5pm tour. Could have done the same short train trip to any of the villages along the route. Saw the whole world Hertiage site and marksberg all in one day!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    33
    11
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Cruise from Cologne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were in Cologne over the weekend so this was an obvious choice. It was a lazy day cruising from Cologne to Linz with an option of getting off and going exploring at the stops along the way. Although we were not told about our surroundings at all times we were told of Castles and other attractions of importance. Got to see what was left of the Liberation bridge and some beautiful fairytale castles. The boat has a lift so is easy accessable for wheelchairs and prams. If you are going to sit on the deck plenty of sun block. Although we brought our own water and cooldrink we made good use of their catering on board. If you have time do this

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, California, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great trip up the Rhine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We took the cruise out of Koblenz. It was a perfect, warm day. Saw tons of castles and cute little towns. It would have been nice if a little more of the trip was narrated. We saw the Lorelay. We got off in Bacharach for lunch. It was a long, wonderful day.

I booked through their online partner Travel Toe and it was 60 euroes a ticket. Found out later through my German friend who went along that it should have been half the price! It's worth it to make an international call and make the reservation directly with KD Rhein yourself!!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“a must do when on the Rheine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We booked the 9.15am open air boat from Rudesheim and cruised the Rhein all the way to Bacharach. It is an impressive sight along the way and definitely worth going. The boat held alot of people but didn't seem crowded. The photo opportunities along the way were just amazing.
Castles, town and cute little places make this a special trip. The whole boat trip runs smoothly and on time.

A good experience.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
85 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Two very different ships”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Today we traveled from Bingen to Koblenz with KD river cruises, getting off at St Goar for one hour before catching the next ship onwards. We started the journey at 9.30 am in Bingen on the MS Stolzenfels and found this to be a great ship with good facilities. Unfortunately the ship we caught from St Goar the MS Godesburg, was no where near up to the standard of the first ship. In fact it was a very poor substitute. The first ship had an impressive dining room as well as Subway dining facilities. Up on deck we were able to order a range of refreshments including coffee. The second ship was much smaller with a central top deck that was much more exposed to the wind. We could not order coffee on deck. Down in the dining room which was empty except for three other couples, was where we had our biggest disappointment. Our waiter (one of two) took our order for wine but failed to return with it for almost 20 minutes. Once we got his attention he proceeded to want to take our order for food. When we queried why our wine had not arrived he stated " yes it was coming, he had already ordered it". We probably should have given up at this point. We soon found that he did not really understand items on the menu to my detriment, as I ended up with 'blood sausage' which he told me was a 'red sausage'. My advice therefore, try to find out which ship you will be traveling on. It really makes a difference to your trip. Other advice generally, travel south to north up the Rhine as the journey takes a lot less time going downstream. Finally, if catching a train to Bingen get off at Bingen Stadt (not Bingen Hbh) as this is the station closest to the ship.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KD Day Cruises also viewed

Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to KD Day Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KD Day Cruises, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.