We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate accomodations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Koeln City

Save Saved
You added Novotel Koeln City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Koeln City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bayenstrasse 51, 50678 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Altstadt-Süd)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 282 hotels in Cologne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Adequate accomodations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Overall it's a nice hotel. We had three people so we stayed in a room with a pull-out sofabed that was VERY comfortable. It's a short walk to the tram line that takes you anywhere that you need to go around the city. The room was nice and clean and the hotel staff was very friendly. Prices were a little on the high-side but they were comparable to others on a short notice. Was 10 Euros by cab from the HbF which is easier than taking a bus or subway if you have a lot of luggage.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Toledokid,

we are very happy to read your positive comments here. May be we have the chance to hostg you again in Cologne.

Greetings from the Rhine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    196
    392
    121
    20
    8
See reviews for
289
150
51
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Went in late September for a hen party. The staff were helpful and the rooms were clean, tidy and a nice decor. Prices were reasonable also for the central location. The breakfast was a rip off at 17 euros but otherwise an amazing stay. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear NSParker,

thank you very much for your feedback. We are happy to read that you have had a nice stay with us. May be we see you again in Cologne?

Best regards from the Rhine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here for a trade fair in Cologne, in September 2013. To start with, the location is badly misrepresented - 'Koeln City' - is a joke. It's at least a 25 minute brisk walk from the centre city, and it's barely on the edge of the metro map. It rained most days we were there, so the walk was really unappreciated. The only public transport is another 5 minute walk away. There is nothing at all in the local area - not even shops.

We found the staff to be completely disinterested - the airconditioning in the hotel was stuck on 'heat' and the whole hotel, including rooms, was set at around 28 celsius. We asked many times for this to be repaired, but just shrugged shoulders in return.

They provide sachets of tea and coffee in the room, but only one type of each. They claim this is their policy - so if two people want coffee, you need more. Then when we rang to get more, we were told to come to reception to get it.

I have stayed at more than 500 hotels, but the lack of concern, coupled with the misrepresented location, made this one of the worst. The staff couldn't give a stuff. Don't stay here - there are so many better options.

Room Tip: Choose a room somewhere else - for example the Savoy in Cologne is terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear johnstrahan,

thank you very much for you feedback here. We are very sorry and apologize that you not have had a nice stay with us.
But on the other side we can't understand some details that you wrote here.

Shops and restaurant are just around the corner within 3 minutes to walk. A bus station is behind the hotel within 1 minute. The subway (5 minutes to walk) brings you within 3 station in the city center. Walking distance in the center is around 15-20 minutes.

For the inconvenient you have had with your room we apologize. That is not the normal standard of our hotel.

If you like to contact me you can use my mail H3127-GM@accor.com.

With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

It is a Novotel, so it is very standard. Spacious room, reasonable location, nice, sympathetic staff. The room cleaning service wasn't particularly good and efficient and the lack of free wifi nowadays is a big down on my score. However a reasonable cost-benefit choice.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel4you, Manager at Novotel Koeln City, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Farabreu,

thank you very much for your feedback. We hope you will stay again with us when you visit Cologne the next time.

Wifi is free of charge in the hotel since around 3 weeks.

Best regards from Cologne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Novotel Koeln City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Koeln City

Address: Bayenstrasse 51, 50678 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Süd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Cologne
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#22 Best Value Hotel in Cologne
#27 Business Hotel in Cologne
#32 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Koeln City 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Koln City is located right on the Rhine River, close to the Old Town, the famous cathedral und several museums. Modern design and comfort characterise our 221 spacious rooms and seven meeting rooms. Explore the trade fair city or take it easy in the courtyard of our restaurant. Total relaxation awaits you on the 5th floor of this 4 star hotel where you can enjoy our gym overlooking the Rhine or a quiet moment in our sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Novotel Koeln City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Koeln City Hotel Cologne
Novotel Hotel Cologne
Novotel Hotel Koeln City
Novotel Cologne
Cologne Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Koeln City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.