We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kolen” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Koeln City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Koeln City to your Saves list
Novotel Koeln City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bayenstrasse 51, 50678 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 281 Hotels in Cologne
Cologne, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Kolen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Nicely located for the chocolate museum, pleasant walk into the city.
Spacious rooms, excellent restaurant with high quality food.
Loved the gym except for the naked man who got into the sauna in front of my 11 year old daughter !!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    400
    140
    21
    7
See reviews for
322
158
51
162
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is a nice enough Hotel which we stayed at during the Photokina, with helpful and friendly staff including the cleaner who died of fright when I ripped the door open one morning....

Very clean, professional and reasonable size room.

Not close to public transport ( 4 block walk away from town to the nearest tram, even further for U-Bahn )

Paid double normal rates because there was a trade fair on - but that's quite normal.

Air conditioning simply doesn't work at all, and didn't for 3 of my colleagues either. On coldest temperature setting which was 5.c , all the "AC" did was send air around the room.

The first iron and ironing board I had delivered was missing a leg and un-useable, and the replacement resembled more of an undulating mountain top than a board.

As you so often encounter in Hotels, the cheap Iron was leaking during use, which is very un-nerving considering it's plugged into the mains.

Getting a beer in the Hotel was often difficult as no-one was there during off peak hours.

If I was doing Photokina again I would not stay here as the taxi bill really mounted up.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This hotel was booked and paid for well in advance for a two night stay for myself, my wife and my nine year daughter. We arrived at 10.00pm after seven hours travel, and we were all ready for our beds, particularly my nine year old. When we arrived at the check in and gave our name, we were immediately told there was a problem and there was no room for us. Clearly they were aware of the problem in advance as our name was written on a list in reception. When we confirmed that we had already paid over £200 per night in advance, we were told that there was still no room for us, there had been a mix up and it was their error. They suggested us moving to another hotel over 20 kms away (by now at 10.30pm and my daugher in tears), and we could have a room in this hotel the following day. After half an hour of them doing nothing, for the sake of our daughter getting a bed for the night, we agreed to move. The hotel we moved to was around £80 per night cheaper, but we were still charged the full rate that we had paid the Novotel.

The hotel we were sent to did not do room service after 10.30pm, and no tea making facilities or drinks in the room. We complained to the booking agency we used the following morning about the Novotel and they were appalled. They complained to Novetel on our behalf and achieved little, although we were told we had a nice room, and a bottle of champagne and fruit bowl was awaiting us, and the manager and staff were going to apologise.

When we arrived, no champagne or fruit bowl, there was a bottle of sparkling German wine and a glass of orange juice. The room was like a rabbit hutch, and nothing like the 'nice' room we had been told to expect. When we checked in we saw the same duty manager from the night before and we did not get a 'Hello' let alone an apology. We were not offered a refund for the cheaper night in the hotel the previous night, or a complimentory anything. We never saw the manager, and we did not receive the apology we were told to expect.

I feel that we were treated appallingly and there was no thought for the fact we were travelling with our daughter. They knew in advance there was a problem and had our contact details and those of our agent, but made no attempt to warn us in advance. Most people in the hotel had not prepaid, but all had a room.

I feel that the hotel had over booked on the basis that people would cancel, and they didn't. Therefore because we had prepaid, we were sent to another hotel as they already had our money, and they cared not that our daughter was in tears.

The situation could had easily been rescued by considerate staff the following day, and we would have probably gone back. However, there is no way I will ever stay in, or recommend, a Novotel again. We are already spreading the word.....stay away from Novotel.....the service is shocking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worpswede
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night at the start of September. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Room had a comfortable bed and I was provided with a 24h pass for the wifi free of charge by reception. A little warm to start but the air conditioner in the room soon sorted that out. Extremely good noise insulation, shutting out the busy street outside. About a 20 minute walk to the 'Altstadt' with its restaurants and bars. The bank of the Rhine is just across the street, offering a nice walk. Plentiful, good breakfast served in the mornings. While I wasn't travelling with children I noticed that the hotel had a nicely set up play area in the lobby, complete with xbox. Nice touch for those who need to keep their kids busy for a while.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This was one of few hotels that could offer a room for our family of 4. There was lots of space in the room so it didn't feel crowded. The only downside were the quality of the beds which were not very comfortable. The hotel itself is modern and nicely decorated. It's located south of the Altstadt central district which can be reached by nice leisurely walk along the Rhine river in 15 minutes. Overall, a great hotel for a brief family visit to Cologne.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Koeln City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Koeln City

Address: Bayenstrasse 51, 50678 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Cologne
#22 Best Value Hotel in Cologne
#23 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#35 Business Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Koeln City 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Koln City is located right on the Rhine River, close to the Old Town, the famous cathedral und several museums. Modern design and comfort characterise our 221 spacious rooms and seven meeting rooms. Explore the trade fair city or take it easy in the courtyard of our restaurant. Total relaxation awaits you on the 5th floor of this 4 star hotel where you can enjoy our gym overlooking the Rhine or a quiet moment in our sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Koeln City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Koeln City Hotel Cologne
Novotel Hotel Cologne
Novotel Hotel Koeln City
Novotel Cologne
Cologne Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Koeln City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.