We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa Cologne” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mauritius Hotel & Therme

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mauritius Hotel & Therme to your Saves list
Mauritius Hotel & Therme
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mauritiuskirchplatz 3-11, 50676 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Altstadt-Süd)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #146 of 281 Hotels in Cologne
Belgrade, Serbia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Spa Cologne”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I have read the reviews of this hotel , however , my experience is totally different.
We were there during the Anuga show , and we picked it up because it was near to the exhibition center.
We had outrageously small rooms not in the hotel itself , but around a whole block of buildings.
You could not move practically.Very dreary, no slippers , no robe , nothing save a shampoo bottle , more of a dish washing liquid , which served for everything.
Luckily I took my soap and everything with me.
I had to close the doors of the shower cabin to reach the toilet.It was almost double the normal price , as all hotels increase the price during the show , but without the spa , it would have been a total disaster.Spa is excellent and well kept.
Reception staff , not friendly at all.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    38
    34
    16
    11
See reviews for
6
45
20
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This hotel is a little ways from the Cathedral and main train station but definitely walkable. You can ride the metro and the tram but it's a nice walk through shopping area. I enjoyed the spa in the hotel but wish I would have been given a key to a locker in the spa that I could have kept for my entire stay. I had to pick up a key at the front desk or either leave my room key with them each time I went. The spa was very relaxing and not crowded at all. All of the facilities were kept very clean. My room was huge....there was a divider wall so you had a definite sitting area with a desk on one side and the bed on the other.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downton, null, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Spent one night here and wished it had been a week. The hotel is centrally located with private parking. Very clean and comfortable. All the staff were friendly and very helpful. The spa is one of the most relaxing places we've visited. Apart from a few textiles it was a great place to feel comfortable and at ease. If you're in cologne it worth a visit.

Room Tip: Take your own towel, robe and suitable poolside foot ware.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHESTER
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We picked this hotel because we were travelling on a motorbike and it offered secure parking.
The parking facilities are very secure.
Huge room, very clean and equipped with all the equipment you could need to assist you during the stay.
Bed very comfortable and large resulting in a great nights sleep.
Staff were helpful, knowledgable and friendly.
We didn't use the spa/sauna/pool so can't comment.
Breakfast had a great range and selection of food but there were a lot of flies which wasn't good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The hotel is clean. Rooms are nice. Exercise facility minimal. Restaurant OK. The thing that makes it interesting is the spa. The indoor pool is nice, but indoors. The outdoor pool is small, but nice. There are many different saunas with different temps, etc. Several different hot tubs. About 90%+ of the equally divided male and female guests were nude, so if that is an issue this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I have used this hotel couple of times. Location is OK but when in Cologne on biz I come here for the Spa and many Saunas to choose from :) The staff at the reception have the attitude of not caring about guest's experience at all. Last time they made me wait 3 hours for a room to be cleaned and would have made me wait another 2 hours have I not asked 'Surely cleaners do not finish cleaning all the rooms at 3pm?!'

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Not sure if the other reviewers were at the same hotel, but I found the property to be a smoker's paradise and a nonsmoker's nightmare. My clothes will all have to be cleaned after a one night stay. From what I could see, the decorations were fairly well updated in the hotel, but could not disguise that the hotel location is adjacent to a lower end youth hostel. For those planning to drive to the hotel, please also note that the parking garage is located at an inconveient distance if you are bringing luggage. Because I don't generally write negative reviews, let me remain somewhat positive in saying that the breakfast is relatively good - not that I will ever be having it there again. Stay somewhere else if you do not smoke!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mauritius Hotel & Therme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauritius Hotel & Therme

Address: Mauritiuskirchplatz 3-11, 50676 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Süd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#43 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mauritius Hotel & Therme 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mauritius Hotel & Therme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mauritius Hotel And Therme
Mauritius Hotel Cologne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mauritius Hotel & Therme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.