We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of CityClass Hotel Residence am Dom

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added CityClass Hotel Residence am Dom to your Saves list
CityClass Hotel Residence am Dom
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alter Markt 55, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Altstadt-Nord)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 281 Hotels in Cologne
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

The hotel is located near the Dom, train station and river. The hotel itself is nothing special. Our room faced out onto the street and was really noisy. As there is no air conditioning, if you want to sleep with the window open, you have to put up with a lot of noise coming from the streets below. There is also construction happening at the front of the hotel which creates a lot of noise. The internet was free for 20 minutes per day, or is 9 euros for 24 hours. The breakfast was ok, and the staff were friendly. Overall, I think you could get better value for money in the same location so I would keep looking as there are hotels everywhere you look.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the internal garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    55
    32
    16
    2
See reviews for
8
42
15
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights, and it is perfect for getting around Cologne. The rooms are clean and adequate for a short break. Breakfast is average, but again quite adequate. However, the staff are very helpful, from the minute you arrive u. Would definitely stay there again especially when Christmas Markets are on, as they are literally on the hotel doorstep.ntil departure

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

This hotel is in the best possible location, right in the middle of the Altstadt.
It was clean and tidy.
Rooms were spacious.
Hotel staff were polite and smiled (which is not always the case in other Koln hotels I have stayed in).
Price was excellent considering location (booked with Octopus Travel).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

Staff on check-in very helpful and welcoming. Good location, great price for city centre. This is on the corner of Alter Markt which is a square with lots of restaurants/bars so if a light sleeper who is early to bed be aware. Safety deposit boxes available (no charge) at reception area.
I had a very basic single room this trip, with a small bed, located at back of hotel so street noise was not an issue. Very clean, but furnishings are time faded a bit. Ok sized bathroom. I chose purely for economy and location easily accessible to the Hbf. Cost was €41 per night with simple and adequate breakfast buffet extra at €8. Wifi is available but must be paid for through T-Mobile.
Neighbouring rooms noise was easily heard as well as cleaners in the morning. Very small bedroom, bathroom as big as the bedroom! Shower awkward to manoever in and out of for those with limited mobility I'd say.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room location on check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in January. The location of the hotel was perfect, and the reception area looked very nice. The reception staff were speaking perfect English but were not the most helpful of people. Upon our arrival, they pointed out to us the breakfast room and told us the times for breakfast. The breakfast was pretty basic, croissants, breads, ham, cheese etc. Upon our check-out they handed us a bill for 32 Euros, they had charged us 8 Euros per person per day for breakfast, this was part of what we originally booked, but they still made us pay!!
The room itself was average, twin beds, a small wardrobe. The room was very noisy as looked out onto one of the main streets.
The bathroom was very spacious, but the shower was not the greatest.
Overall, I would say the hotel was average, but worth it because of the location!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

After spending a week of travelling in Europe through 5 star hotels, this was a bit of a come-down, but it was the only place my colleagues could book for the week during a tradeshow in Cologne. The location was perfectly central to all things business and tourist. But... the walls are paper thin, and it is located on a street directly across a couple of pubs. So needless to say, it's noisy. The staff was fantastic and helpful. All were multi-lingual and friendly. The breakfast was not bad, actually, it could be considered great for this level of hotel. My wife and I were put in a room with 2 tiny single beds... not uncommon for Europe, but this is the first time I had seen them attached to the wall, and across the room from each other. The mattress was terrible, just a piece of foam, and I felt like I was going to roll off all the time.

The hotel itself was well maintained, and our bathroom was large and well stocked. All in all, the CityClass served its pupose, but not without giving me the feeling of being a kid at summer camp each night. Unfortunately, even the great service and helpful staff cannot do anything more once you lay your head down for the night and are overcome by the sounds from the street and surrounding rooms. If you are looking to save money and still be central, this is a great choice. If you are looking for a good night's rest, think about staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

Before I start, it should be mentioned that the hotel's front entrance is located in a automotive restricted area. Before knowing anything else about this place, know that. If you're driving to Cologne, this hotel will not be for you.

Luckily for me and my friend, we had taken the train in from Brussels, and found the place with no issue. What did we find?

Well, nothing special, that's for sure. Don't get me wrong, this isn't a bad place. It's just sort of non-descript. It's as if the owners know that you won't (or shouldn't be) spending too much time in the room, what with the DOM and the Rhine, in spitting distance, nieumarkt within walking distance, and many, many beerhalls/restaurants right outside the front door.

In other words, what this place has is location. Loads of it. It's practically swimming in it. Have I made myself clear on this point? If you want to be immediately near all things touristy in Cologne, and don't particularly care about how posh your hotel room is or is not, this would be a good fit.

The service was minimal but effective, and our room was cleaned well. We didn't feel crowded whilst there, and even the breakfast buffet in the morning was neither great nor horrible. It was simply there.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to CityClass Hotel Residence am Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityClass Hotel Residence am Dom

Address: Alter Markt 55, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 281 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — CityClass Hotel Residence am Dom 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*** Hotel Residence am Dom:At the Old Market, the gateway to Cologne's Old Town, this 3-star Hotel Residence am Dom tourists and business travelers with 56 comfortably furnished rooms and apartments as well as cordial service.Proximity to the attractive banks of the Rhine and the cathedral, the museums and the old town is a "Kölsch" lifestyle invite extensively and enjoy without regret.For meetings the hotel offers a modern conference room with audio visual equipment and professional assistance in planning and organization. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your CityClass Hotel Residence am Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cityclass Hotel Cologne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CityClass Hotel Residence am Dom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.