We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and great room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Hotel Koeln City Friesenstrasse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Hotel Koeln City Friesenstrasse to your Saves list
Mercure Hotel Koeln City Friesenstrasse
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Friesenstrasse 44-48, 50670 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Altstadt-Nord)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 281 Hotels in Cologne
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Perfect location and great room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

There are a lot of small characteristic hotels in Cologne and plenty of fancy and expensive ones as well. I don't think of staying at chain hotels when I travel and certainly not a 'cookie-cutter' Mercure. But this one first drew out attention as it was in a very good location. Perfect for our needs. And for a very reasonable amount we could get a mini-suite which we really love to have since we can quickly make a mess of our room. We were 10 minutes from the three major Christmas markets we wanted to visit - Dom, Rudolfplatz and Neuerplatz - plus the clubs and spas we wanted to go to and there are a lot of nice bars and restaurants in the area. It hasn't made me a fan of chains or of Mercure in general but I can't wait to return to Cologne and I will reserve the same mini-suite again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    236
    87
    16
    6
See reviews for
25
182
54
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

Thank you for wonderful stay in your hotel. I have got a very, very good service. People working in the hotel are very friendly and helped everyway to make successful visit in Cologne. Special thanks for the delicious gift behind the door 6.12. . I was positively surprised, is this any more possible in our busy world. I remember it for long time. Thank you! Have a very nice Christmas and Happy New Year!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

Very good location for those who like to go out tonight: many pubs around the area.
Nice breakfast!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

nice comfortable hotel, 10 minutes walk from main train station. Surrounded by good restuarants. No in room safes, first time I have ever come across this in a hotel of this class.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, CT
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

The Mercure on Friesenstrasse is just steps away from the Paffgen Brauerei, one of the best Kolsch beer halls in the city. It's just a few minutes walk from excellent shopping and only about 10-12 minutes walk from the Dom, the museums, and the train station. Ideal location because you're so close to the heart of Koln without being on a street jammed with tourists non-stop. The windows block the street noise well (and there's also quiet rooms at the back). The room wasn't big, but was clean and sufficiently sized (considering Koln is a city for wandering, not for lazing in the hotel room).

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights in September and obtained an excellent deal through the Mercure website.
As we stayed Sun - Wed we did not experience the weekend noise commented on by other reviewers.
The hotel is in an excellent position, for public transport, with the cathedral and old town 10-15mins walk away. There are also a range of bars and restaurants in the immediate vicinity.
Our room was spacious and clean, but unremarkable - a typical business hotel.
Breakfast was excellent with a large range of hot and cold food which was constantly replenished.
There is a spacious car park directly under the hotel (charges apply).
Staff very friendly and helpful - fluent in English as is most of the city.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Hotel Koeln City Friesenstrasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Koeln City Friesenstrasse

Address: Friesenstrasse 44-48, 50670 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Cologne
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#37 Business Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Koeln City Friesenstrasse 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hotel Koeln City Friesenstrasse is a 3 star superior hotel with 103 rooms in the city centre, close to shopping centres, museums, the main train station and the cathedral (700m). It is located on the trendiest street in Cologne. Good transportation links to the trade show centre (4 km) and Cologne Bonn airport (18 km). The hotel offers great facilities for functions and conferences. There is also a restaurant, a lounge bar and a basement garage with 80 parking spots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Hotel Koeln City Friesenstrasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Koeln City Friesenstrasse
Accor Koeln City Friesenstrasse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Hotel Koeln City Friesenstrasse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.