We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Practical comfy small space” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Hotel Koeln City Friesenstrasse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Hotel Koeln City Friesenstrasse to your Saves list
Mercure Hotel Koeln City Friesenstrasse
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Friesenstrasse 44-48, 50670 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Altstadt-Nord)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #38 of 281 Hotels in Cologne
Alex,Egypt
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Practical comfy small space”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Why I rate this very good also related to my needs in a hotel, to the hotel star rating and my overall experience. The staff was good, they helped with everything I asked for. The rooms were not spacey but they were comfortable enough with everything I needed. I only stay in the hotel at night where I sleep on my comfy bed. Early morning I shower with hot water and take my "to go" breakfast (which was excellent and the staff were very flexible to react on the spot) and go to work, come back drop my stuff and go tour the city. The room was business room, it had free wi-fi and included breakfast. The hotel is a 10 mins walk from the station and the Dom, also it's 2 steps away from Jameson bar, where you can watch games and chill. I only had a few beers there. Would stay there again definitely.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    215
    77
    13
    3
See reviews for
23
152
53
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Got an advance booking budget deal and was pleasantly surprised by hotel location and the standard of the room amenities. Only a 15 minute amble from the Koln Hbf & Dom, and 2 minutes from the lively Friesenplatz. Spoilt for choice for local amenities. The room was of a standard I expect from a Radisson i.e. spotless, good services (cable tv, workspace, comfy sofa, minibar). The staff were polite and readily changed my room to a smoking room, no fuss at all, and they even humoured my mangled attempts at Deutsch. The breakfast is expensive, as is the room wifi (9 Euros/24 hours), but there are plenty of places nearby to grab cheap food and enjoy free wifi. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for business and leisure travellers alike.

Room Tip: 4th floor reserved for smokers, although the smell does not pervade. I stayed in a room facing off-s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for two nights. Very clean. Breakfast is overpriced at €18. Would happily stop in the hotel again.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Worst service and staff. The people at the reception were inattentive almost rude and generally unpleasant. Nice location. This is not a 4 star hotel. My room was a bit small, it looks like an Ibis hotel room apart for the colour (Ibis rooms are green and Mercure rooms are red).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here very much, especially as we asked for a room at the back, based on reviews on this site! As it was New year's Eve when we arrived, we expected some celebrations, although we were too tired to go out ourselves. As it turned out, we saw several of the fireworks displays exploding at our eye level - very exciting! The staff here were very friendly and efficient and helped us in several ways. It is well located for a brisk walk to the Dom or other sight seeing areas. The breakfast was one of the best we had - lots of choice, very fresh and lots of good service. As others have noted, the bed is not so good, and we found it small, soft and rather uncomfortable.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

A short visit for the Christmas Markets, excellent position in relation to City, very clean, great rooms and the staff were all very friendly. Great breakfast with so much choice. The only reason I can't give 5 star is because there is a late night bar opposite which, on Friday was very loud. Not the Hotels fault but if you're on the front at the weekend expect some noise. We still had an excellent stay and would certainly return.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Hotel Koeln City Friesenstrasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Koeln City Friesenstrasse

Address: Friesenstrasse 44-48, 50670 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Cologne
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#30 Business Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Koeln City Friesenstrasse 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hotel Koeln City Friesenstrasse is a 3 star superior hotel with 103 rooms in the city centre, close to shopping centres, museums, the main train station and the cathedral (700m). It is located on the trendiest street in Cologne. Good transportation links to the trade show centre (4 km) and Cologne Bonn airport (18 km). The hotel offers great facilities for functions and conferences. There is also a restaurant, a lounge bar and a basement garage with 80 parking spots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Hotel Koeln City Friesenstrasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Koeln City Friesenstrasse
Accor Koeln City Friesenstrasse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Hotel Koeln City Friesenstrasse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.