We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 4-Star” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dorint An der Messe Koln

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dorint An der Messe Koln to your Saves list
Dorint An der Messe Koln
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Deutz Mulheimer Strasse 22-24, 50679 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Sofitel An der Messe) (Deutz)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 281 Hotels in Cologne
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not 4-Star”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Visited with a Trafalgar tour - maybe they just looked at us as a 'package' group, so they didn't have to give us the usual treatment given to guests. I differ in my opinion here - I feel that they should make an equal effort for all guests.
The room was comfortable and WiFi was good TV reception was clear.
Dinner was ordinary at best:
Soup was good.
Beef was tough and not much of it and gristle and fat needed to be cut off.
Sauerkraut was good.
Potato dumplings were extremely heavy and stodgy!
Desert with red fruits was good for those who enjoy sweets.
No shampoo provided.
Only one armchair in double room.
Breakfast (buffet) was good.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    152
    63
    10
    7
See reviews for
22
120
35
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Ten minutes walking distance from the Deutz train station. Check in time is 3pm but my room was ready at noon on a busy day. Mini bar is empty on arrival, which I personally like, because that way they cannot charge you for things you did not consume. Unfortunately, leisure guests get charged a city tax, while business guests do not get charged, so answer smart during check in ;) Hallways are endless, request a room close to elevator if you don´t want to walk a lot. I would have preferred one large blanket instead of two small ones for single guest. Breakfast is outrageous, in the neighborhood of 26 Euros if not included in the room rate. Restaurant is also pricy but that´s normal for a 4 star hotel. Unfortunately, one night it there was a big group inside and it took one hour until the staff took the order and two hours (!) to deliver a simple dish. That´s not acceptable. Front desk staff was very friendly and professional, addressed me by name.

Room Tip: ask for room close to elevator if you don´t like long walks through the corridors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great hotel in a wonderful city! The hotel is very luxurious and the rooms are spacious. The breakfast spread is large and it makes it difficult to choose what not to eat! Would have liked to enjoyed the spa but unfortunately did not have the time. Great hotel for both business and pleasure!

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Hotel Dorint An der Messe is situated in a business district just outside of the city centre. It was a good 25-minute walk from the hotel to the Cologne Cathedral over the interesting Hohenzollern Bridge covered in thousands of ‘love’ padlocks. It is possible to take the train from the nearby ‘Köln Messe/Deutz’ to the ‘Köln, Dom / Hauptbahnhof’ if you don’t want to walk (I’m not sure how much time you would save). If arriving by train from the airport, be sure to exit at ‘Köln Messe/Deutz’ rather than going into the city centre and backtracking.

We visited Cologne during Carnival so when we arrived, we were greeted by hotel staff in costume. It was a great atmosphere with most of the other guests in costumes as well. The room was huge with a separate lounge area with sofas and chairs with comfortable beds and duvets. The highlight of the hotel was the sauna. There was a one-off payment of around €5 for use of the sauna and pool with an extra nominal charge for robes and slippers. The sauna is modern and immaculately clean with 3 steam rooms of varying temperatures. It was a fantastic way to end the day after celebrating Carnival in the cold streets of Cologne. I would recommend this hotel but travelers should note that it is a 2k walk to the city centre.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stay for one night at the Dorint hotel. WiFi is free of charge but didnt worked, it was turned off. When I wanted to go to the gym they wanted to charge me for 5 Euro! At the reception desk they are not friendly at all. You dont expect such threatment in Germany so overall its very strange!

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vlierden, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
129 hotel reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015 via mobile

You must be willing to pay a premium price. Rooms are nice, wifi is free and reasonably fast. Showering in the bathtub is not my thing but ok. Breakfast buffet leaves nothing more to wish. Wellnes is more then ok. So if for business I will stay here with pleasure. For leisure I would like to stay here as well but not at prices charged during messe times.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

I would understand that the hotel takes advantages of trade fairs and increase prices... but The Dorint doesn't offer what would like to charge.

Upon arrival we had to look for "troley" to take out all our staff from the car...

The room was clean, with complimentary water. Minibar was empty .. no additional service as minibar with orange juice or coke.

I missed also a bathrobe which I would expect even in 4star hotel.

The wifi was for free but not stabile and I should reconnect many times to the newtwork.


As guest you dont have any priority for reservation in restaurants or bar .. when the fair is closed all tables are booked ..

I would be ok with hotel if we would pay around 300-350 eur but the price was very different to the service.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dorint An der Messe Koln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorint An der Messe Koln

Address: Deutz Mulheimer Strasse 22-24, 50679 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Sofitel An der Messe)
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Deutz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#18 Business Hotel in Cologne
#22 Family Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dorint An der Messe Koln 4.5*
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Dorint An der Messe Koln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorint An Der Messe Koln Hotel Cologne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dorint An der Messe Koln, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.