We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, very good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Am Augustinerplatz

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Am Augustinerplatz to your Saves list
Hotel Am Augustinerplatz
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Hohe Strasse 30, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 281 Hotels in Cologne
Graz, Austria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, very good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Hotel Am Augustinerplatz is a nice hotel especially when you stay in cologne for a few days to explore the city. The location is really great, right at the edge of the city center. It's just a short walk away from all the sights (cologne cathedral...), shops and restaurants (hard rock cafe is just around the corner). Rooms are clean, comfortable and really nice. We booked a junior suite. Unfortunatley the renovated some of the rooms during our stay so there was some noise during the day. Or rate included breakfast and that was really great. Great variety. Perfect for a good start into the day. We can reccomend the hotel and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side should be quieter because they are facing away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    38
    22
    2
    5
See reviews for
12
22
19
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

located at the edge of the shopping district and just 300m away from the old town (party district) but quiet, so this non-smoker hotel offers a quite idel location. The negative side of getting there by car is quite complicated, especially with some blocked roads a navigation does not help much. Also parking is difficult but the hotel cooperates with a car park where one day costs 10 Euro for hotel guests
The room (I had a single room) is small, but clean and all necessary equipment is there. I would not like to stay in there for hours, but if you just use it to sleep, it is fine. WLAN is free, which is by far not yet normal in germany.
I can not judge the breakfast since I did not take it. The breakfast was an extra 12 Euro and a bakery is just around the corner.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

This has to be one of the hottest hotel rooms I’ve ever stayed in, and I’ve stayed in quite a few. The air conditioner may as well be blowing hot air into the room, because it certainly is doing nothing to cool the room. I’ve got the window wide open, and it is letting in some air flow, but not really cooling it either. When it is time to turn in for the night, I'll have to shut it due to the noise in the area. I guess when the weather is chilly this wouldn’t be an issue, but when it is warm, beware.

So, the hotel is fairly easy to find from the main rail station. Just head down the main pedestrian street and once you get to the Galleria Kaufhof store, you are there. All in all, about a 1 km walk and it is also fairly close to the Rhine River and the many little bars and restaurants of the Altstadt. I have a single room, and it is fairly small but comfortable enough, with a small bed. The pillow isn’t really worth much and there is no second pillow in the room. If you fold it in half, it may provide enough support. There is also an empty minibar where you can put your own stuff in (and a free bottle of water), and a small desk. Just around the corner is a decent Rewe market with everything you might need. The shower is wonderful, although the bathroom is somewhat small.

The TV has a plethora of channels from all over the world, including many Middle Eastern channels. The internet code they provided for the wireless network didn’t work for me, but I’ve got a German T-Mobile stick so it really wasn’t an issue for me.

I doubt I’d stay here again. I understand that some people like it hot, but some like it not and while I can always turn up the heat, if I can’t cool the room down during hot weather, I’m not going to be able to get a decent night’s sleep. If the price is right, the Hilton has never failed me in Cologne. The city itself is absolutely remarkable and is one of my favorite travel destinations in the world. There is so much charm rolled up into this entire region, it is hard to stay away (that, and the Kölsch beer is fantastic). A walk along the Rhine River and some time in the Rhein park across the river will cure what ails you.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at the hotel several times now and am absolutely excited about the service, the newly renovated rooms and the friendly staff. Great location directly in the city center with many restaurant options in the immediate neighborhood. Cologne at it's best!

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

I stayed here for business every week, 3 days for 4 months and was never disappointed. It is not a 4 star luxury hotel for sure, what it is though is a very personal experience with no wishes left unfilled.
Each room with a bit of difference made it special, when staying often I do not like the same room each time.
Excellent breakfast with a hard to beat central location, ask for the owner, I forget is name but he is a great guy, very polite and always gives you a true smile.
A very nice small bar with a nostalgic feeling of yesteryear is a nice place to end the evening.
Woth the visit and very fair prices.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the "Gürzenich Street" are the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Right from the beginning I knew this would be a good stay. Nice modern feel to the place, not overly decorated, but with interesting art in the hallways. The woman at reception, and indeed, everyone else who worked here, was delightful. Very friendly and helpful. We were able to check in early. The room had a little ante-room with 2 arm chairs and fridge with 2 complimentary bottles of mineral water. The bathroom had a wonderful deep tub. Great central location, near the main shopping street, Cathedral and other sights. If you drive, park in the Rewe City carpark. They will stamp your ticket to get a discount - 10Euro vs 16 for 24 hours. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOW
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Good location, if a little bit noisy in the morning because of a nearby tram-line.
Room facilities almost non-existent - the room is small and rather spartan (OK to spend a night).
Pillow was very uncomfortable (but tastes differ).
Bath-room is tiny, albeit with nice towels and a fan.
Reception is friendly.
Wi-Fi is tooooo slow. PC in the lobby is very slow too.
TV is German only, with two free ugly porn channels.
NEGATIVE:
In the niche next to the bed's head under the reading light there were many tiny creatures about 2mm long. I guess it's because the shower is right behind the wall... They are NOT bed-bugs and they did NOTHING bad to me, but their presence was not pleasant, especially on my first night when I noticed some on my sheet and didn't know what to expect from them...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Am Augustinerplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Augustinerplatz

Address: Hohe Strasse 30, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Am Augustinerplatz 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO COLOGNE. The Hotel am Augustinerplatz is centrally located in the heart of Cologne's city centre. The historic old quarter, cathedral, main train station and banks of the Rhine are all within walking distance. After a sumptuous breakfast, explore the city of Cologne with its numerous places of interest or embark on an extensive shopping trip. Just a few steps from the hotel you will find the popular retail areas Hohe Strasse and Schildergasse. Just take a look at our Around-Me-Map and discover the area around the hotel. Our 53 modern rooms combine comfortable and sophisticated design. Business travellers can take advantage of our business package and proximity to Cologne's trade fair and exhibition centre. Our friendly team are on hand to deal with individual requests to ensure that you have a wonderful stay in Cologne!Our rooms - Wi-Fi and pay TV always included! Do you set great store by comfortable and sophisticated design? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Am Augustinerplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Augustinerplatz Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Am Augustinerplatz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.