We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - would stay here again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Koenigshof Top Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Koenigshof Top Hotel to your Saves list
Koenigshof Top Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Richartzstrasse 14-16, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Altstadt-Nord)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 280 Hotels in Cologne
Coventry, UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Excellent - would stay here again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Stayed at the Koenigshof for two nights in July 2013 (apologies for late review!). Stayed in a single room. Thought that the single room was a little small but it was certainly clean and comfortable. Breakfast excellent with plenty of choice. Staff friendly, helpful, etc.

Location-wise, you won't get much better than this. Only a few minutes walk from the main railway station, the cathedral, the shopping centre and the Rhine. There are some lovely bars/resturants next to the Rhine which are worth a visit. Great to have a few beers there in the summer sunshine and watch the boats go by, people watch and so on.

Would I stay at the Koenigshof again on my next trip to Cologne? Yes, certainly. I doubt I would stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    81
    38
    7
    10
See reviews for
27
36
28
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We had a lovely stay here at Konigshof Hotel rooms clean toiletries in bathroom breakfast was enjoyable eat as much as you can , cold breakfast and hot scrambeld eggs sausage and bacon lovely coffee easy for refills, the hotel is central not far from train Station,lots of shops around and some great restaurants, went on the tour bus see different parts of Koln easy to stop bus get off and look at different parts of Koln,

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Easy to find, it's a few minutes walk to the Dom and the main shopping streets are literally around the corner. Friendly, helpful staff, we booked a room online and we were very lucky and got a suite which was spotlessly clean, breakfast was lovely, varied and plentiful. If you are driving, there is a parkhaus nearby and the hotel will clip your ticket so you get a discount.

Great hotel, good value for city centre and we would definitely recommend and stay again when we next visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We arrived by train to Cologne and found our way easily to this hotel; so close to the Dom and the main railway station. We were able to get into our rooms at 11:30, bonus. The single bedrooms are small but have everything you need. We had no difficulty with the Wifi at all but again we were only there one night. The main shopping area was so close to the hotel, easy to walk. Breakfast was excellent, no lunch needed afterwards. We were surprised there was no provision for toasting any bread to have with our scrambled eggs. The Metro was easily accessed from the main station, worthwhile taking the cable car across the Rhine. The reception staff were polite but not overly friendly. I would stay here again, the hotel is good value and the location is excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

A group of four guys sharing some time together in Cologne over a beer or two. This place was perfect, well located, some breakfast, decent rooms. A special mention for the delightful bar girl who works late on Saturday night.

All in all, highly recommended...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I chose Cologne to spend a few days as a tourist. I couldn`t have missed the hotel, as it`is situated close to the railway station and to the Dome. The busy Hohe Strasse is 200 meteres away.
I liked the single room, though it is not big, it is quite compact; the bathroom with a shower cabin is new and clean. The breakfast is plentiful.
What I didn`t like about the room was a cigarette smoke odour. And also I consider the hotel receptionist to be unfriendly towards me.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The location of that hotel is exactly what you would like while staying in Cologne. Whether for holiday or business. 2 minutes walk to Dome Square and the Dome itself, museums and all attractions are in walking distance. Koln Messe is across the river - 15 minutes walk.
Surrounding area is full of different eateries with various cuisine. Main train station is around the corner.

The hotel is of a very traditional German type. Small clean rooms, comfortable bedding, great Bfast. Reception personnel were men over their 50s, with different smiling ability :). Free wifi, but need to pick up log in details from reception on daily basis.

Would stay again if happen to stay in Koln.

Room Tip: Both sides if the hotel will be exposed to the Dome bells work, but the front will add the street no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Koenigshof Top Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koenigshof Top Hotel

Address: Richartzstrasse 14-16, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 280 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Koenigshof Top Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Koenigshof Top Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Cologne
Cologne Top Hotel
Top Hotel Koenigshof

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koenigshof Top Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.