We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable Hotel, Good Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Koenigshof Top Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Koenigshof Top Hotel to your Saves list
Koenigshof Top Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Richartzstrasse 14-16, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Altstadt-Nord)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 281 Hotels in Cologne
Malaga, Spain
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Reasonable Hotel, Good Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Great Location right next to Koln Cathedral and Rail Station. Small hotel, the bar can only seat about 8 people max, rooms are a bit on small side but comfortable with plenty of hot water in bathroom. Staff very friendly and efficient. Wifi could be better as sometimes signal very weak and disconnected and you can only use one device at a time. Good breakfast, eggs, sausage and bacon, good selection of fresh fruits, cold cuts, cheese, cereals, breads. Although after a few days a bit repetitive as the food never changes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    82
    38
    7
    10
See reviews for
27
37
28
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We were looking for a hotel close to the centre of cologne and cathederal that was not too expensive and included wifi, we were not dissapointed, this is a great hotel, the staff are very friendly, the room and bathroom was very clean with clean towels daily, the bed very comfortable, breakfast was included in the rate and was very good with plenty to choose from.
We had wifi included in the rate also, this was available with a code available from reception, while the signal was not the strongest in our room it served the purpose (much better than paying the 16-20 euros some of the large chain hotels charge)
in conclusion a great hotel at the right price, all the essentials included in the rate.

Room Tip: our wifi signal was not the strongest, room number 305 right at the end of the corridor on third flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Five star it's not, but the Hotel Königshof makes up for it by its position so close to the Dom and the centre of Cologne. The rooms are clean, well appointed, a touch old-fashioned but with many thoughtful touches. WiFi is free, the barman pleasant and the staff helpful. The breakfast room staff, at first, may seem unfriendly but I think it is because they do not feel comfortable speaking English. The breakfast is a feast!

Room Tip: If you have a choice, ask for rooms 15 or 16 on floor 3, 4 and 5. They are spacious and very pleasan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

A nice hotel, located very close to the train station and the cathedral, in the center of the city. Rooms are very clean but a little bit small. Bathroom is clean and the towels are changed every day. Breakfast is nice, there is a wide choice what to eat. Only a swimming pool and a fitness area are missing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Very basic accommodations for the price. Perhaps the most uncomfortable bed I have encountered. I stayed two nights then switched to a hostel which was cleaner and cheaper. Hotel bar staff was very helpful. Location was nice.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I was pleasently surprised by this hotel. The room was small but clean and comfortable. Breakfast was yummy and the surrounding neighborhood was quite charming. When I initially arived at the train station, I had absolutely no idea where I was or how to get to the hotel. I hired a cab only to realize that the hotel was only a five minute walk from the train station! Everyone at the hotel and surrounding shops and cafes were kind and willing to speak english since my German was awful. The hotel was nice enough to hold my luggage after check out time so I could continue to sight see before my late night flight to Munich.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My partner and I took our mothers to the Christmas markets in Cologne for 4 days. We all found The Koeningshof Hotel to be an EXCELLENT choice, located just off the Cologne Cathedral Square and right by the main shopping streets. From the autographed pictures posted on the reception walls, this hotel was used by numerous German celebrities in the 80’s... Our opinion is that it appears quite dated, but is excellent value for money! The hotel is well run and very clean with helpful, friendly staff. Rooms were most adequate with an all you can eat hearty inclusive breakfast to get the day off to a good start. Don’t hesitate to stay here if you are in the market for a mid-range hotel.

Room Tip: Street facing rooms have better views. Back ones look over service courtyard wich wasn't too bad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Koenigshof Top Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koenigshof Top Hotel

Address: Richartzstrasse 14-16, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 281 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Koenigshof Top Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Koenigshof Top Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Cologne
Cologne Top Hotel
Top Hotel Koenigshof

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koenigshof Top Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.