We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room to spread out was ideal for our 3 nights” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eden Hotel Fruh am Dom

Save Saved
You added Eden Hotel Fruh am Dom to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eden Hotel Fruh am Dom
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Sporergasse 1, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Altstadt-Nord)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 282 hotels in Cologne
Launceston, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Room to spread out was ideal for our 3 nights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Room 303 looked brand new and was immaculate. Incredibly spacious with a full-sized couch, and large bathroom (with separate shower and bath).Faced onto side street so rodinarily would be much quieter - given it doesn't front onto main pedestrian area. Would definitely stay here again and can heartily recommend it. Breakfast excellent (and available until 10am, which is great). Charge-back not available in hotel restaurant/bar area, and it's common in many other places too. Even at a huge IT-type store (Media Markt) where we needed to go 'cos we'd forgotten our conversion power plugs from Aus to Europe - even there, it had to be cash! Apparently Germany and Netherlands tend to still be cash-orientated; we're used to France.

Music not at all intrusive when dining outside - it just seems that way when you're in the room. Outside you feel part of it all - so fantastic! All staff at hotel very friendly and helpful.

Make sure you bring an engraved lock to add to the 'sweethearts bridge'.

Room Tip: We had room 303 which faced onto a side street. Perfect, we thought, but coincidentally there was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    44
    19
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
30
4
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The staff were very pleasant on our arrival. We were shown where to eat and drink, where to shop, where to miss the tourists and where the tourists should go - all with our very own map. The room is relatively spacious with a large bathroom and shower. The water pressure is great and great having two types of shower heads. In our double room we had tea and coffee making facilities and a flat screen tv...took a while to figure out the English channels. Plenty of wardrobe space.

The bad part - we stayed in Summer and as Cologne is one of Germany's hottest cities, we expected air conditioning. The room, even on the fifth floor with the windows open is a boiling hot box. We got no sleep from the overwhelming heat and loud delivery/construction happening below us...and we didn't even overlook the main street or get a view! When we asked for a room with air conditioning we were told the entire hotel doesn't have air conditioning.

The food in Cologne is amazing though! Fantastic place to visit - but look for a hotel with air conditioning if you're coming in Summer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Right next to the Cathedral and amongst the shopping area, this is a comfortable, convenient and well priced hotel. Whilt there are limited facillities, there are several restaurants including one right below the hotel. Breakfast was fine although the frankfurter sausages repeated on me all day.

I would stay here again although you might need some ear plugs for the cathedral bells.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

My family of 4 stayed at the Eden Hotel in late May. As we arrived by train during the evening, it is a simple walk from the train station, right past the cathedral. It is easy to find on foot. The staff at the hotel was excellent and treated us quite well. Our family fit comfortably in one room, although this requires that the couch is pulled out and also required the staff to bring in an extra rollaway. Even with those two extra beds, there was still enough room to get around alright. Our room was very well appointed, as was the bathroom. A bit of caution and advice: we stayed on a warm evening, and the room did not have air conditioning, which forced us to open the windows. Our room was right over the plaza area which has outdoor dining and was quite noisy for awhile, but it did seem to shut down at a reasonable hour. Then, fairly early the next morning, the delivery trucks came in to replenish the town's beer supply or something to that effect. So, I recommend a room whose windows do not face the plaza. The trade off is no view of the cathedral. Our stay included breakfast, which was in an area of the hotel that is just not easy to get to. Once there, however, it was a lovely breakfast and was a great start to our day. The hotel easily accommodated our request to leave our bags behind so we could tour the city the next day without them. Nathan at the front desk was there when we checked in, when we left to tour the next morning, and when we came back for our bags later that afternoon. The staff joked with us that he never leaves, and it surely seemed that way. If you are doing the tourist thing in Cologne and need a very accommodating stay, this is the place.

Room Tip: Away from the plaza is probably better for a quieter experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

The hotel is very central to the Dom, Train Station, shopping Area, Rhine Waterfront, etc. Would definitely be my top hotel in cologne. Also the staff were great - the breakfast was rather repeatitive every day - other than that - perfect.

Room Tip: stay at the new wing - the room look new.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

The Eden Hotel Fruh am Dom is located just steps away from the Cologne Cathedral, the Romisch-Germanisches Museum, the Ludwig Museum, the Central Train Station, the Rhine waterfront and the main shopping area. Just outside the entrance is the Fruh Restaurant with its outdoor patio, where you can get a meal or a few beers. The hotel itself is housed in two buildings --- A modern building in which the hotel rooms, lobby, bar and restaurant are located, and an older building which contained the breakfast room and other meeting rooms. The newer building is modern and very clean. Our room was very large and we had a wonderful view of the cathedral. The breakfast buffet was very nice and was served in the older portion of the hotel which had a great deal of old world charm. Our triple room rate including breakfast and 5% cultural tax was 165 Euros per night, which was an outstanding rate for the hotel itself and the location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the cathedral for wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

I have just returned after a 6 night stay here whilst attending the DRUPA exhibition in Dusseldorf.

The hotel is in a fantastic location, 5 minutes walk from Cologne HBF and 2 minutes from the very impressive and imposing Cathedral.

Turn left out of the hotel to go shopping or turn right to head to the Old Town and the Rhine, with its wide variety of bars, restaurants and clubs.

The hotel is a warren of a building, but very smart and tidy. I initially recevied a room on the 7th Floor. It was a double very small room, infact I would go as far as to say tiny! It had a 3/4 bed in and marks on all wall where people had tried but failed to "Swing A Cat". The room was unbearably hot aswell, even with window open, radiator off and raining outside.

I asked reception to change me to a larger room as I could not have stayed their for 6 nights. They were exceptionally helpful and moved others around to facilitate this. I ended up in room 403, this appears to be the newer part of the building.

The room was very large, infact massive, with two singles pushed together, a walk in rainfall shower and bath with another shower. It was light and airy with electric shutters and blackout blinds.

The WIFI was free as was the breakfast, but the Mini-Bar is chargable.

I ate in the hotel restaurant just once, HOF18 I think it is called. The food was very good but expensive.

My recommendation would be to eat next door in the Bierhaus Fruh where the beer is wonderful and the food is simply outstanding. It gets very busy on a night, so go early, claim your table and relax.

Would I stay again?? ABSOLUTELY.

I only dropped it one mark as I felt if the hotel had not changed me I would have only being awarding it 1 STAR.

MY TIP IS ALWAYS ASK FOR A TRIPLE NUMBERED ROOM!

Room Tip: Please request a room with triple digits..... This could make or break your stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eden Hotel Fruh am Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Hotel Fruh am Dom

Address: Sporergasse 1, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 282 hotels in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eden Hotel Fruh am Dom 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Eden Hotel Fruh am Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Hotel Cologne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eden Hotel Fruh am Dom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.