We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anna, Anton” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne - MGallery

Save Saved
You added Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne - MGallery to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne - MGallery
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kurt-Hackenberg-Platz 1, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Sofitel ) (Altstadt-Nord)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 282 hotels in Cologne
Write a Review

630 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    207
    266
    110
    40
    7
See reviews for
55
206
97
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

You could not ask to be better located. The hotel overlooks the cathedral, and is less than five minutes walk from the Rhein, the Altstadt and the main shopping streets.

The place was sold to me as a five star hotel. It was a very good hotel, with helpful, friendly service. But expect more of a four star feel. The room we had was really quite poky though very well appointed, and there is a notable absence of the little extras that "make" somewhere five star. We paid a reasonable three star sort of price, so that was fine, but list prices are very high and these wouldn't be worth paying.

Additional bonuses to mention: lovely, if compact, bathrooms with wet room style showers and luxurious toiletries. And range of UK channels including BBC and ITV - 1&2 on both. Bedroom safe was more than large enough to take a laptop. Free mineral water every day.
Bathrobes provided (one by default, two on request). Tea, coffee, kettle all in room too.

Breakfast is a whopping €25 per person per day, but there are plenty of places nearby. Try particularly Café Scholl - http://www.cafe-scholl.de/en/breakfast.html - and Café Jansen, a part of the Fassbender chain, at Obenmarspforten 7.

I would certainly stay here again providing the rate was right.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vera_Mueller, Front Office Manager at Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne - MGallery, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dera S0uthLondonTraveller,

thank you very much for your feedback.
If you are looking for our best prices please see our promotions online. Few times a year we offer 3=2 packages including breakfast. Do not hesitate to contact us directly if you have a date in mind.

Sincerely,
Vera Mueller
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Great Location, good parking. The only difference between a superior room and a standard room is a view and a nespresso machine. They don't even leave a kettle if you are tea drinker in the superior room. Breakfast was good.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vera_Mueller, Front Office Manager at Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne - MGallery, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear TravelinBoon,

I hope you enjoyed your stay with us especially the view to the Dom, that Köln is known for. Superior rooms include free minibar and high speed wlan as well as the Nespresso machine, I am sorry if we forgot to explain that upon check in. Certainly we lend not only a kettle but a proper tea station, please do not hesitate to contact reception with any matters.

Kind regards
Vera Mueller
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

i stayed here for business for 4 nights and can say the hotel is good, staff very helpful and the breakfast selection was amazing.
Amazing location, as you walk out the Dom is right in front of you, and the main square is 2 minutes away.
The only downside for me was the room was a bit small, but would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vera_Mueller, Front Office Manager at Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne - MGallery, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Dave N,

thank you for your feedback.
We are lookinf to welcoming you back, once you are in the city for business or even for pleisure.

Kind regards,

Vera Mueller
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed at the Mondial for Anuga 2013. It is a more than decent hotel / property with easy access to Anuga - a 10 to 15 minute leisurely walk across the bridge lands you at the Anuga entrance.

The hotel is right in the city centre which provides easy access to shopping / restaurants.

The Dom Cathedral is right there.

Would recommend the hotel to business travellers attending the Kolnmesse and to couples / families on holidays who want to be in the city centre.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the Dom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vera_Mueller, Front Office Manager at Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne - MGallery, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear fhgarib,

thank you for your feedback,
Yes, location is the unique point of our hotel for business as well as for leisure guests.
We hope to welcome you back for ANUGA 2015.

All the best,

Vera Mueller
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

The clue should have been the Concierge scarpering when he saw us trundling to the front doors with our cases from the train station.......he was only to be seen once over the next 3 days chatting to the receptionist behind her desk! Our first room (we booked a junior suite) was just a try on~! Long dark skinny with NO television and one poky window looking onto a central dead weed covered metal rooftop. The second (receptionist was totally unsurprised at our unwillingness to accept her first choice for us) was in keeping with the room we thought we booked and just fine. The funny thing is this hotel is 5 star, in a great location and has the facilities to provide all the amenity you would expect...it just doesn't! There are 2 lovely large guest spaces, one a lovely 'library' with seating and tables and the other a large open space with tables and comfy armchairs where we sat at 8.30 on a Sat. night hoping to get a drink and coffee. Eventually we went to reception who told us they don't serve anything in these areas! So what do you think guests want when they come in to use these spaces then if not a rest and refreshment?? We had been unable to have dinner in the much vaunted restaurant. We found this out by going into it and asking for a table to be told it was booked for a private function. We could have a drink at the bar then leave. It would have been nice to be told this on check in! On the second night I had a cold and wanted some hot chocolate on room service at 9 pm. I was told on the phone by room service that A. I could go to the bar and order it, B. I could come and get it or C. make it myself in the room! I said there was none in the room and why was it such a big deal to get some sent up? She put me onto a lovely Scottish lass who said of course I could and it arrived promptly though luke warm. I have never struck such active indifference in a hotel before. They are either fawlty towers bad or manage to show some interest in providing you with service but not here! Just go away and don't bother us we are busy is the tone but it should be great! It is in a terrific spot behind the Cathedral, has a car park underneath and lots of public space. When we dined in the bistro on the corner belonging to the hotel we wanted to put the meal on our hotel bill. We had the plastic card but not the cardboard slip it came in so she wouldn't! It could not have taken much to check us out or poke her head out the door to reception to confirm we were who we said but why bother....she just said it can't be done' and that is the theme for this place.....

Room Tip: Don't accept the first room you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne - MGallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne - MGallery

Address: Kurt-Hackenberg-Platz 1, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Sofitel )
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#21 Family Hotel in Cologne
#21 Business Hotel in Cologne
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne - MGallery 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Old Town, the Sofitel Cologne Mondial Am Dom combines French elegance and warm hospitality under one exclusive roof. Rich in tradition, this prestigious hotel welcomes guests on city breaks and business trips, with 207 elegant rooms, 6 modern meeting rooms, a tailored convention service and delicious gastronomic options. Enjoy the convenience of this central location, close to the famous cathedral, the Rhine and the exhibition centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne - MGallery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Cologne
Accor Cologne Mondial Am Dom
Cologne Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne - MGallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.