We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Property with Convenience, Service and Quality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Cologne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Cologne to your Saves list
Hilton Cologne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marzellenstrasse 13-17, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #21 of 281 Hotels in Cologne
Austin, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice Property with Convenience, Service and Quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

The hotel is very conveniently located near the Hauptbahnhof and its rooms and public areas were nicely updated. Also the Sixt car rental in the lobby was super convenient and the staff there were great! Our one night stay was very pleasant after the lengthy train ride from London via Brussels. The front desk staff were VERY helpful, as were other staff members we encountered. The eating options were somewhat expensive; breakfast buffet was 20.00 Euros per person, but this was given to us at a discount which was nice. One complaint is that there were no vending machines anywhere for drinks or snacks, only an overpriced minibar. Cigarettes were in great abundance in vending machines, but no water or sodas in a vending machine to be found.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Cologne, Manager at Hilton Cologne, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear jtkoenig,

thank you very much for your positive review on Tripadvisor.
Your honest feedback is much appreciated and I will pass your improvement suggestions regarding a vending machine on to our Management.
Thank you very much!
We are always anxious to offer our guests innovative and new options to deliver a first class service.
I forwarded your compliments to our Sixt and front desk team.
They were very pleased to hear about your great feedback.
Also a big thank you from them.

Dear jtkoenig, it would be our pleasure to welcome you back in Cologne and our hotel very soon.

Best regards from Cologne,

Katharina Scherff
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    549
    165
    60
    23
See reviews for
129
417
151
402
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

If you are going to Cologne and want somewhere that is easy to pop in and out of then this hotel is a good choice. It is a block away from the Catherdral but is not on a main street with lots of stores so it was quiet. The rooms were nice and modern. Not big but good for a few days. The breakfast buffet was huge and had anything you could think of. It was a little expensive but a good way to eat a lot and start your day. My room wasn't ready when I arrived in the morning but checking my luggage was easy. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Cologne, Manager at Hilton Cologne, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear avs1029,

thank you for staying at the Hilton Cologne and for taking the time to share your positive feedback on Tripadvisor.
It is great to read that you fully enjoyed your stay with us.
I am pleased to see that you were very satisfied with our breakfast buffet and thus you had a good start for your day.
It will be my pleasure to share your great comment with the entire Hilton Cologne team.
Thank you again!
We are looking forward to welcome you back again.

Best regards,
Katharina Scherff
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Great five star hotel located in close proximity to station and main sights. Great knowledgeable staff, quiet rooms, very comfortable, everything works. Either on business or pleasure, the hotel is ideal.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Cologne, Manager at Hilton Cologne, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear 589RichardL,
Greetings from Cologne!
Thank you very much for your great feedback on Tripadvisor.
It will be my pleasure to pass your nice comment on to our entire Team.
We would be more than happy to welcome you back in Cologne and our hotel soon.
Best regards,

Katharina Scherff
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, UK
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
198 hotel reviews
Reviews in 184 cities Reviews in 184 cities
419 helpful votes 419 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

OK so my review may be a touch embittered as I was refused some of my hhonors benefits (as a gold member) but I did find the hotel dull, dark and ordinary. The location is great; a stone's throw from the Dom and the station. The breakfast was good and we had a reasonable burger in the lobby bar. Staff friendly and helpful too.

But this is a dated sixties style Hilton and needs a good deal of work to make the experience better. If you need a central location this is still a good choice and maybe I am being a little harsh but will try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Cologne, Manager at Hilton Cologne, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Spineynorman,

thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor and your loyalty against Hilton for being a Hhonors Gold Member.
We hope you had a safe trip back home.
I am very sorry to hear that the Hilton Cologne did not meet your expectations.
Even tough you did not fully enjoy your stay with us, we hope you still had a nice time in Cologne and would be more than delighted if you would give us a second chance to welcome you back in our hotel.

Best regards,
Katharina Scherff
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

only good thing: excellent location

bad at:
1.No exclusive lounge
2. Weird deposit for 54 euros, haven't come back for more than 20 days!!!
3.super small room after upgraded by the golden honor,can not imagine how tiny the basic room would be.
4.the room is on the 2nd, the window was connect to a platform. without any view at all!!
5.super hot water for the showing. so i must use the bath instead....

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Cologne, Manager at Hilton Cologne, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear evonnewxc,

thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.
We highly appreciate your honest feedback.
I am concerned to hear that your recent stay with us was not like expected.
Regarding the deposit, it is Standard that we take 50.00 Euros upon check in as an guarantee for any extras.
We release this amount directly after check out. Sometimes it takes a few days till your bank set the amount free.
I sincerely apologize if this has caused you any inconveniences.
Concerning the shower, our head engineer is already informed and will check the whole system again to make sure this will not happen again.
Please be assured that we take all your mentioned points very serious.
Dear evonnewxc, I am really sorry for the inconveniences we have caused.
I hope you give us a second chance to show that this is not our standard.

Kind regards
Katharina Scherff
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

The Hilton Cologne is just a 5 minutes walk from the trainstation and thus very close to the cathedral, old town and Rhine river. While the street as such is not so nice (normal for areas around trainstations) the subway is also just 5 minutes away. The hotel usually has very moderate prices (especially when booking in advance) and you get a nice 4star Hilton for less than many 3star properties charge in Cologne who are further away from the center.

The hotel itself is in good condition, I have stayed several times there and had never problems with cleanliness. The rooms are not too large, but comfy and quiet, bathroom is clean and practical. The food quality in the hotel is very good at moderate prices. The only negative things I find is the reception, which is often understaffed and thus results in unnecessary long waits. The other thing is that the hotel has just two elevators which also may result in several minutes waiting time especially around breakfast or check-out hours.

However, all in all I have tried quite a few hotels in Cologne and this is my favourite. I can
recommend it without reservations, especially seen from the price/value for this location.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front have a partial view of the Cologne cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Cologne, Manager at Hilton Cologne, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear jboese2,

thank you very much for your recent stay at the Hilton Cologne.
Your feedback is much appreciated and we are delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay with us.
I sincerely apologize for any waiting time at the Reception.
Please be assured that I will pass your comment on to our Front Desk Manager, who takes such feedback very serious and will discuss it with his team.
All in all we are pleased to see that you would recommend us and that we are your favorite hotel in Cologne.
Dear jboese2, it would be our pleasure to welcome you back in Cologne and our hotel soon.



Best regards,
Katharina Scherff
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

The location of this hotel is excellent and our stay was good value for the money. The rooms are a good standard and the fitness room was a bonus.

The staff were businesslike but not overly helpful. The additional charges are steep: E20 for wifi, E28 for parking and E22 for breakfast. Avoid!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Cologne, Manager at Hilton Cologne, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Kate S,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor.
I am pleased to read that you had a good time with us and that you had some time to use our fitness room.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in Cologne and our hotel soon.

Best regards,

Katharina Scherff
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Cologne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cologne

Address: Marzellenstrasse 13-17, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#13 Business Hotel in Cologne
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#18 Family Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cologne 4*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of downtown Cologne, the Hilton Cologne hotel is ideally located for the Cologne business district and for some of the city’s most popular tourist attractions. Boasting contemporary style in a istoric setting this Old Town hotel allows guests to make the most of their stay in the city.Stay connected to friends, colleagues and the wider world through the business center and WiFi access. After a busy day in Cologne you can find an escape in the fully equipped fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Cologne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cologne Hotel Cologne
Hilton International Cologne
Cologne Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Cologne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.