We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you get what you pay for...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novum Hotel Leonet Cologne Altstadt

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Novum Hotel Leonet Cologne Altstadt to your Saves list
Novum Hotel Leonet Cologne Altstadt
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Rubensstrasse, 50676 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Leonet Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #129 of 281 Hotels in Cologne
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“you get what you pay for...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

With all the usual business hotels being uncomfortably pricey, I went for something more affordable on orbitz and this one came up as a reasonable offer for a single night stay. For an affordable price I received a ground floor hole with a window facing the license plate of a parked car at eye level within hand's reach. Apparently it was decided that in may there is no need for heating anymore, despite outside temperatures of 14C. With windows left wide open after cleaning, that was exactly the inside temperature too when I received my room. Reception said that so sorry, but no they cannot change my room except if I upgrade and pay more (the more was in the range twice what I paid on orbitz). I guess another lesson learned - if it's cheap, it's cheap for a reason...

Room Tip: Forget the single rooms, not worth the apparent savings
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    98
    103
    35
    9
See reviews for
31
89
47
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I booked this hotel during the 2013 gamescom conference in Koln, so this could help explain the high price but overall my stay there was disappointing when compared to the paid price. Specifically the problems with the hotel were:
* I arrived at the hotel 30 minutes prior to the official check-in time of 2pm. The staff refused to let me check-in early despite my heavy bag and despite me being jetlagged from the trip from the States.
* The room was small, the bed was uncomfortable and without a cover. (picture attached)
* The room wasn't serviced fully when i checked in - the bottle of water was used (picture attached). I was asked to pay 4 euro at checkout for the water i didn't use.
* The bathroom was small (picture attached).
* The TV was a computer monitor.
* Snoring of other patrons was audible through the walls.
* I booked via Expedia and paid in full at the time of booking. The hotel refused to issue an itemized folio at checkout stating that i should collect my invoice from Expedia.

On a positive note - the breakfast was ok and the location was central to Koln.
Overall, my experience was tainted by the overpriced room which i could party explain the city's rooms being sold out during gamescom. Stay away from this place unless the price is much lower than what i paid.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The hotel is decent and would be a good stay as my 1st room was very decent and comfortable, I think it was a room for two people, however when they moved me to the actual single room, it was so so small that I had to leave earlier. The issue is that the room was very damp which I wasnt able to tolerate. Otherwise, it would be a good stay and the breakfast is very good and staff is decent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

For our first stop, in need of a hotel in Köln, we decided on Leonet. Arriving with car may be a bit difficult, as there is parking available in the back yard, but no reservation possible, so you may be out of luck. On the street it's expensive, and you need to pay from 09-23 every day, except Sundays! The small parking makes it hard to squeeze in at times.
The room was OK, there was room to move around, safe available, clean, but A/C would be nice. The stairs to the room are fitted with double doors, I've seen this in Germany before, not very easy if you're moving around with suitcases.
Bathroom is small, breakfast isn't bad at all, good to get you going. Staff friendly and speak good English. It's quite good value for the money though.
The hotel is near many gay bars, it's just a 3 minute walk to Rudolfsplatz, 10min to Neumarkt. If your destination is the Dom, you're in for a good 20min, but that's crossing the pedestrian streets, with much to see.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I stayed here for two nights in Cologne after staying at a hotel somewhat on the outskirts of the city. I found this to be a nice hotel to stay in, especially for the price. My room was on the top floor and it had a nice feel to it. It was bright with big windows and decently sized. The bathroom was small but neat and clean as well. The free breakfast is also good - pretty similar to what I found at other hotels in Germany. The hotel is not exactly at the centre of the city but close to 3 U-bahn stations, all of which are a maximum of 3 stations from the city centre. The Cologne cathedral is about a 20 minute walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Maybe we got the worst room at the hotel. Room is dated. Take the shower out the the room it's a average hostel at best. Reception is nice and they speak very good English. Breakfast was ok nothing special nice to be free worth like 3-4 euros. Just know if your American and u know what a 1980 motel looks like then this is it. I have stayed at nicer ibis then this. NO ac

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

As we got close to the hotel my heart dropped, in a "student" area. inside the hotel was ok but the room had so many issues.. Shower doors falling off, terrible decoration with tears and rips in wall paper just emulsioned over.. Toilet flusher broken and with bits missing.... HOWEVER. The bed was very comfortable and the shower water pressure was super strong! A quick walk to the main shopping area and cafe / bars!! Not sure I would book here again but it was cheap to stay here.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novum Hotel Leonet Cologne Altstadt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Leonet Cologne Altstadt

Address: 33 Rubensstrasse, 50676 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Leonet Hotel)
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 281 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Novum Hotel Leonet Cologne Altstadt 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novum Hotel Leonet located directly in the center of Cologne and offers from here is the ideal starting point for activities in the private and corporate sector. The central Novum Hotel, in the heart of Cologne, offer overnight stays at attractive prices in order to know one of the most beautiful cities in Germany closer. Our rooms feature a tasteful, practical, yet still modern. Our free wireless Internet access for extra comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Novum Hotel Leonet Cologne Altstadt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leonet Hotel Cologne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novum Hotel Leonet Cologne Altstadt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.