We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novum Hotel Leonet Cologne Altstadt

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Novum Hotel Leonet Cologne Altstadt to your Saves list
Novum Hotel Leonet Cologne Altstadt
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Rubensstrasse, 50676 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Leonet Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #141 of 280 Hotels in Cologne
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Basic hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

The Centrum Leonet in Cologne is a standard hotel. Stepping into the lobby makes you feel like you have stepped back in time! Needs some modernising. The elevator is ancient. The furniture is quite old.

The room is quite basic but quite spacious and even has a little study, safe and well sized cupboards.

The breakfast is basic too but does the job.

It is a 5 minute walk from the tram that takes you to the town centre. But it is not close to the town centre. The Koln Messe too is not within walking distance but can be accessed easily by tram.

All in all this is fine for a few nights for the business traveller. Basic but does the job.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    85
    91
    29
    10
See reviews for
25
74
41
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

The Leonet Hotel is in an interesting old building which has an original ancient elevator which was fun to use. The hotel is very clean and functional but does not really have many open public spaces to sit and relax or just watch the world go by. The rooms are basic but very clean, ideal for sleeping in but not really designed to relax in.
Our main disappointment was the walking distance to central Cologne. Although the walk was along an up-market 'boutique' shopping street it was just to far to walk comfortably to the main shopping areas. We chose the Leonet based on a bargain price through TripAvisor so we had to compromise on the location as hotels in central Cologne were more expensive.
All-in-all we got what we paid for and I suppose the extra long walk to the centre was good exercise but a little exhausting on the return journey at night.

Room Tip: We were at the back of the hotel and there was no noise at all through the night. The street in whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Having looked for a budget hotel in Cologne and found the Leonet for under 40 Euros I have to admit I was a little anxious. I was visiting Cologne for work. The last thing I wanted after getting up at 4am to catch a flight from London was to wind up at a nasty smelly hotel with bed bugs.
There was no need to worry. My room at the Leonet was scrupulously clean. It faced onto the street but Rubensstrasse is pretty quiet so I wasn't disturbed. The en suite bathroom had a decent shower. They provided bodywash/shampoo. In short it had everything I wanted and I had a decent night's sleep.
The breakfast buffet was OK. The coffee had that burned taste that hotel coffee generally does (even in some 5* places I've stayed), the rolls didn't look that appetising so I spend a couple of Euros of the money I saved by booking at the Leonet by buying a pastry and a coffee in the city on the way to the railway station.
I should also mention that the staff were as friendly and polite as in any upmarket hotel - perhaps more so.
I stayed in Cologne two years ago. The hotel was more expensive (about 80 Euros per night) the rooms were no better and it was noisier.
If you want to take someone for a special romantic break the Leonet may not be the place, but if what you want is somewhere clean, quiet and excellent value then this is it. So my 5/5 rating isn't to suggest that this is the greatest hotel ever just that you'd be lucky to get more for 40 Euros in a city like Cologne and that Leonet exceeded my expectations of what I'd get for my money in pretty much every respect.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

The hotel has a convenient location on the edge of the city center and close to an U-bahn station. Our double room was quite large, but NOT air conditioned at all, so it was really hot inside, which was a big disadvantage. Breakfast was ok. The room was cleaned every day, however when I looked underneath the bed looking for some coins which I had accidentally dropped, I was shocked to see how dirty the floor (carpet) was - it has never been cleaned! Also when we were staying there the price was about 115 euros per night which is way too overpriced for such a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anstruther, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

My husband and I booked 3 nights at this hotel. We arrived quite late and the hotel was full. As a result we got a twin room rather than the double room we had booked. After a bit of hassle the receptionist told us we could be moved the next day. She did not leave word with her day time colleague and so when we went to sort out the room move, the day time receptionist initially tried to tell us all the rooms were twin rooms. We were told to leave our luggage and that we would be moved while we were out. On returning to the hotel later in the day we had not been moved. We got a new room but had to move our bags ourselves. Having said all of that, the staff were polite and albeit less efficient than you might expect in Germany.
The first room we got was like the land the 80s had forgotten. It was small and desparately in need to freshening up in decor terms. The carpet looked faded and stained in places although the room was basically clean. The bathroom was small and again very 80s feeling with brown tiles and a beige suite. In fairness the shower was powerful. The room was on the first floor. It was quite warm when we visited Cologne but there was a lot of noise from the street with the windows open.
The second room had a comfortbale king size bed. It was larger than the first room by a considerable amount. It had obviously been decorated recently. The bathroom was small but modern. This room was at the back of the hotel. Unfortunately there is a large youth hostel accross a courtyard area and there was an awful lot of noise from it during the night. The room had no air con and was very hot.
Breakfast is served in a basement room. There is a reasonable choice of cold meats, bread and pastries. On the first morning there was not enough room for everyone wanting breakfast to sit down.
This hotel was much cheaper than the other hotels available in Cologne at the time we were going there. It is clear you get what you pay for and this place has a lot of short comings. It is however conveniently located and clean. It has a few parking spaces out the back and in all liklihood you will have to use the nearby parking garage at a cost of 18 euros a day. The staff were friendly and helpful although a bit inefficient.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

Pros
- excellent reception staff
- good central location
- lovely and warm
- free wifi
- lovely bathroom
Cons
- basement breakfast room, not the best breakfast
- no bar to speak of
- no restaurant or room service
- plastic covered mattresses
- basic rooms

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

This hotel was nothing short of very pleasant. From the great staff to the very clean rooms/hotel as well as the great location, our stay was most enjoyable!! Will definitly return on next visit to Cologne!!

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novum Hotel Leonet Cologne Altstadt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Leonet Cologne Altstadt

Address: 33 Rubensstrasse, 50676 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Leonet Hotel)
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 280 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Novum Hotel Leonet Cologne Altstadt 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novum Hotel Leonet located directly in the center of Cologne and offers from here is the ideal starting point for activities in the private and corporate sector. The central Novum Hotel, in the heart of Cologne, offer overnight stays at attractive prices in order to know one of the most beautiful cities in Germany closer. Our rooms feature a tasteful, practical, yet still modern. Our free wireless Internet access for extra comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Novum Hotel Leonet Cologne Altstadt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leonet Hotel Cologne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novum Hotel Leonet Cologne Altstadt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.