We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guennewig Kommerz Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Guennewig Kommerz Hotel to your Saves list
Guennewig Kommerz Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Johannisstrasse 30-34, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #132 of 281 Hotels in Cologne
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Although our stay at this hotel was short, we felt totally pampered from the time we stepped in the front door. As my husband and I were travelling with our adult son, we had requested a double room with an extra cot. Instead we were given a beautiful, very large triple room. As well as a welcoming bottle of cold water, the room had the usual amenities - hair dryer, shampoo etc. It was bright, very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was wonderful in a bright, cheery, large dining room.
As we were arriving and departing by train, the location was perfect for us.
I highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here on our next visit to Cologne.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    34
    22
    6
    3
See reviews for
7
15
23
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed in room 110 for one night for a business trip. The room was clean but very warm. The room was very small and there is no wifi in the hotel. Also there is no restaurant and reception area is very small to sit and chat with colleagues. We paid 85 euros for 1 night stay and breakfast. The breakfast was good and if you like trains, the view from the breakfast room is overlooking the train station. You can watch the trains come and go.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

...providing that is that you don't mind a hotel without a restaurant. There is a bar attached through a separate entrance to the rear of the hotel that sells the local beer at the cheapest price I encountered in Cologne, but there is a reason for that!! I will let you be the judge on that one.
If you arrive by rail you can see the hotel across the road as you come out of the station concourse, but beware, I missed it at first as the signage says "Kommerz Hotel" and I was looking for the word "Guennwig". The location is good and the breakfast fine, the usual bread, fruit, ham and cheeses, plus hot (or should I say lukewarm) eggs, sausages and bacon. The room was fine with a good firm mattress and very soft pillows. Overall clean and adequate. Location is spot on although you have to walk through the station concourse to the other end to reach the main sights and eating establishments.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yehud, Israel
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

i reached Koln by train from Hamburg, locating the hotel was easy as it's right outside the train station, also meaning that almost every major attraction in the city is withing a few minutes walk's reach. The hotel itself is very simple, my room was spacious and had almost everything i needed (air conditioning would be nice and maybe a minibar though i could do without). i used the hotel's laundery service and found it quick and efficient although the staff forgot to put a new laundry bag and a new laundry form in my room (otherwise i would have used it again).
the breakfast buffet is rich and the food tasty but the fresh drinks were not chilled, meaning they were cold wen put on the table but there was nothing to keep them cold.

all in all, it would suit a businessman more than the average tourist

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Stayed at this hotel overnight on our way to Strasbourg. The hotel can be seen from the platform (arriving from Dusseldorf airport at least), and is a one minute walk. The rate was also cheaper than others, so good value in those two respects. Otherwise pretty shabby and very simple, but served our purpose. Staff spoke good English and was overall quite amiable. Good choice for budget travels (60EUR for a double on Dec. 30) and convenience for catching a train from CGN Hbf or late arrival to the latter.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

This is a small hotel that couldn't be closer to the Hauptbahnhof. That is its main selling point. The hotel itself is dated and poky, and the rooms are nothing special. I was on the top floor in a tiny single room.

It was quiet, at least, except for the bathroom fan which would NOT switch off, ever, and when it was on, made a sound not unlike a tornado. When are hotels going to understand that their primary purpose is to let people sleep? So much noise pollution in the room is so unnecessary. Also, the bathroom stank of damp and mildew - not good.

One pleasant surprise, especially for a German mid-range hotel, was the fresh and extensive breakfast buffet - not what one would normally expect in a place like this.

Of course, like all German hotels, internet is exorbitantly expensive, which is always unacceptable - it should be free.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

I had to stay in Kommerz Hotel for one night as my ICE was cancelled at the last moment for some technical reasons. The hotel is very close to the hauptbahnhof (hardly 2 minutes from the station!! )and that is the biggest attraction of this hotel. The overall impression of the hotel is good. As the cost of my stay was paid by Deutsche Bahn, I cannot comment on the value for money. The only major drawback of this hotel is that the wifi internet connection is not free and the access option provided (T-mobile hotspot) is terribly expensive (around 5 euros/ hour).
Good: Location, Sound-proof and clean rooms, Excellent breakfast
Bad: High price for Internet connection

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Guennewig Kommerz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guennewig Kommerz Hotel

Address: Johannisstrasse 30-34, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 281 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Guennewig Kommerz Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the Heart of Cologne and with a magnificent view of the famous Cathedral is where the Gunnewig Kommerz Hotel is located. The well kept hotel is an ideal starting point for interesting activities in Cologne, for a visit in one of the several museums, a stroll to the old part of town or for shopping in the city centre. What about a visit to an event in the musical dome or the Lanxess Arena? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Guennewig Kommerz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guennewig Kommerz Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.