We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This airport evolved in the past 20 years” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cologne Bonn Airport

Cologne Bonn Airport
Heinrich-Steinmann-Str. 12, 51447 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Altstadt-Nord)
+49(0)2203 404001
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 73 Attractions in Cologne
Type:
Attraction details
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“This airport evolved in the past 20 years”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Over 20 years ago we landed late at night and came back at 8 a.m. to find everything closed, we saw no shops, no cafes, nothing. Now we were surprised to see a bustling little airport that has cafes, restaurants, stores all look new and sparkling. A huge parking lot, good road signs and easy access from and to the airport. It would be nice if the rental companies would open their services earlier than 7 a.m. (one company does - at 6:30 while flights arrive as early as 4 a.m. and you need to wait to fetch the rental). The queues were short though we were checked twice (security) which I found superfluous. Either have one security check and let no one wander outside again or make a check-point near every few gates. I prefer smaller airports than the bigger ones like Frankfurt of Munich.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    30
    13
    9
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nothing was open”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We flew out of this airport at 10pm and so arrived early at 7pm only to find out that check in opened two hours before rather than three. This was our fault for not checking but is also unusual in our experience and many other people joined the queue not long after us so we were clearly not the only people to make this error. We didn't explore the part of the airport before the security check so I can't comment on this but it looked better than the section after the security check. The airport seemed very quiet and empty despite there being a few flights leaving around the same time as ours. We got through security very quickly as there was no one in front of us. Once through, however we found that most of the shops were closed. There was the main duty free shop, a Subway and one other place to get a drink but the rest of the shops were closed. There were lots of seats in the airport which is always useful. It is also very easy to get to from Cologne as it is a 15 minute train ride (€2.60).

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Peaceful, Quiet but limited shops”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Always fly via Terminal 2 for KLM and never seen an airport so quiet.
Checkin in straight forward and in the 4months I have been coming weekly, I have never seen a queue for security!
Shops are a little limited, only about 3 good ones, clothes, drink, cigarettes.
Business lounges also get full quite fast so watch out...

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trento, Italy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Convenient but shopping not good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

This airport is both big and small. Rather easy to find your way but not many duty fre shops or restaurant. Business lounges all in the same area that can be bad because e had to go between platforms.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Easy to connect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Small, easy to find your way. But what we appreciated most was the Rewe mini mart that is open on Sundays. Very convenient, esp for Germany.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cologne Bonn Airport also viewed

Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Cologne Bonn Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cologne Bonn Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.