We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shouldn't rank so high” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pizzeria Piccola L'Originale

Pizzeria Piccola L'Originale
Venloer Str. 216, 50823 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Ehrenfeld)
+49 221 518242
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 1,734 Restaurants in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $13
Cuisines: Pizza, Pasta, Italian, Mediterranean, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Seating
Neighborhood: Ehrenfeld
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Shouldn't rank so high”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We went to this pizzeria because we read it on Tripadvisor but I don't understand why it's #2 as best restaurant in Cologne. It is indeed quite cheap but not in the city centre either, so we rode a long way there and the pizza was just average (if not poor). I am Italian living in Holland so I know what it means to eat a good pizza even abroad: this one was not! Even worse there is no service so you need to go get your plates at the counter and clean up your table after yourself...

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    33
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Went here today off the back of reading the reviews on trip advisor and we were very impressed. Excellent service - prompt and always with a smile! The atmosphere is very chilled, with chill out music being played and a log fire, along with tasteful Christmas decs.
Very busy, which added to the great atmosphere.
We were staying close to the cathedral so it was a bit out the way but worth the journey.
Also excellent value for money. Two hearty pasta meals and drinks for under 30 euro which can't be bad!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Can't recommend this place enough!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We came to Cologne for the Christmas markets. After a quick look on trip advisor and the countless excellent reviews we had to come try this establishment for ourselves! We jumped on the tram from our hotel and headed for the nearest stop. We weren't too sure where we were going, and hoped that we didn't get the wrong place or worse get there and closed. We finally found this little Italian. it was full and we hadn't called to reserve a table. We decided to wait, being able to see meals being prepared right in front of you and especially the attention to detail for presentation made us even hungrier!
Finally a table came free and a member of staff called us over.
The ordering configuration is different to what we are used to but didn't have any problems after a local couple explained.

You take your seats and look through the menu, once you're ready to order you pop up to the front where they'll take your order along with drinks which you help yourself to from the fridge including local Koln beer! They'll give you a little bleeper and a swipe card in return. The swipe card is like an account, so if you go for more drinks they'll charge it to the card and at the end you give them the card to settle the bill.
You sit down clutching your bleeper and once it goes off you go up to the front to collect your food. Your eyes are overwhelmed by what's waiting for you, everything is perfectly presented and smells as good as it looks!

We sat down and thoroughly enjoyed our meals, every mouthful was a delight and after trying each other's meals couldn't decide which were the best because they were all so good.

4 mains meals, 2 desserts, 6 beers and 3 cokes and the total, 49 euros! What a bargain!!!

To summarise, if you're in Cologne take the time to visit this lovely place, you'd be silly not to, you'd be missing out on something special!

We can't praise it enough and will definitely be returning!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing Italian, great value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our meals at this lovely restaurant. The bolognese pasta was the stand out for the night, with a hefty serving of hearty sauce and beautifully cooked pasta. We tried three different pizzas - the Hawaiian. The diavola and the ruccola (may have spelled that incorrectly). My favourite was the ruccola pizza which had a lovely thin pizza base, chunky tomato base sauce, mozzarella cheese, ruccola (we called it rocket in Australia) and a sweet balsamic glaze drizzled over top. Each meal was well under 10 euro and well worth more. I would recommend this restaurant for either a great dine in or takeaway Italian meal. Well done all the way from Australia! Thumbs up!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We found this restaurant on trip advisor and it was the best vlaue and tasty food we had on our trip to cologne, some of the bext italina flavours we have experienced particularly the anti pasta. we had to get a Taxi from our hotel to eat here and we were glad tht we did. Staff were lovely and could not have been more welcoming

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria Piccola L'Originale also viewed

Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Pizzeria Piccola L'Originale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizzeria Piccola L'Originale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.