We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay close to the old town centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lyskirchen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lyskirchen to your Saves list
Hotel Lyskirchen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Filzengraben 26-32, 50676 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 281 Hotels in Cologne
Ghent, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay close to the old town centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Pro's:
nicely decorated rooms, comfortable beds, pleasant and efficient staff, copious breakfast, swimming pool (which we did not use), close proximity to old town centre, v. good airconditioning (we stayed there on the hottest day of the year)

Cons:
no free wifi... charge for internet usage much too high

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    148
    52
    11
    1
See reviews for
25
127
34
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, UK
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Great hotel as we were very well looked after
Hotel price was very good.
Everything was positive - as long as you don't want to use the Internet. Unfortunately the price of the this was too high.
The hotel has a nice sauna and pool, rooms were clean and well looked after. Breakfast was outstanding, lots of choice, fresh fruit, cooked food.
Staff were always friendly and we really enjoyed the nice atmosphere.
The hotel is only 5 minutes walk from the main shopping area and 10 mins from the 'Dom'

Room Tip: Room faced the street but was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Clean and Well decorated hotel with nice bed and good breakfast.
Very expensive for the facilities and service that people provide there.
In good location But very unfriendly personell they behave like you are not welcome there.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

The old fashioned building gives the hotel a nice charm. The local is very good as it's in a reasonably quiet street but very close to city center and Rhine. Hotel's parking garage can be helpful if one drives. The apartment side of the hotel (with relative larger rooms equipped with kitchenette) doesn't have elevator so carrying heavy suitcases upstairs could be a challenge.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
313 reviews 313 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
269 helpful votes 269 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

This hotel was just about perfect for us. It was easy to get to from the main roads into Cologne, had indoor private parking and was a short walk to the city centre by the Rhine. The location really couldn't be much better.

Inside it was modern, comfortable and very clean. Everything about the hotel felt good, solid and like someone had some thought into every detail. I certainly liked it and will be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamplona, Navarra, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

ESPAÑOL:

La ubicación del hotel es muy buena. Está al lado del río, a cinco minutos del Museo de Chocolate y a diez-quince minutos andando del centro de Colonia.

La habitación estaba preparada a nuestra llegada, y no tuvimos problemas en el check in. El personal fue lo suficientemente servicial, y nos entendíamos en inglés. El tamaño de la habitación era suficiente para nosotros dos, y estaba limpia. La televisión de pantalla plana es un buen toque, igual que el minibar, el escritorio, el pequeño sillón y la mesita de café. No hay persianas en las ventanas, pero al fin y al cabo eso es lo normal en el Norte de Europa. Sí que había cortinas que bloqueaban la mayor parte de la luz. Las noches fueron muy pacíficas y nunca oímos a los vecinos. La cama era cómoda, pero no era una cama doble, sino dos camas individuales puestas juntas.

El baño estaba limpio. Era un poco pequeño, pero la ducha era de buen tamaño. La mampara de la ducha no funcionaba bien, sin embargo, y teníamos que poner la alfombrilla de forma que el agua no inundara el baño (y la moqueta de la habitación). El servicio de limpieza cambió nuestras toallas todos los días y reemplazó frecuentemente los dos pequeños botes de champú, gel de baño, body milk y la barra de jabón de manos. También dejaban lima de uñas y algunos discos de algodón y bastoncillos.

El desayuno era increíblemente bueno, aunque DEMASIADO caro. No contratamos desayuno en el hotel debido al precio, pero tuvimos que desayunar allí un par de días en los que íbamos cortos de tiempo. Llegamos a la conclusión de que el desayuno merecía el precio; era un buffet enorme, lleno de cosas (incluso alimentos orgánicos), y todo estaba delicioso.

Otra cosa demasiado cara era la conexión a internet. 5 euros cada 30 minutos para el wifi en la habitación, y 5 euros cada 15 minutos para el ordenador en el vestíbulo.

No usamos la piscina, pero pinta muy bien en las fotos.

En España a lo mejor no llamaríamos al Lyskirchen un hotel de 4 estrellas, pero no le faltaría demasiado; tal vez le llamaría un 3+ estrellas.

Nos quedamos muy contentos con nuestra elección, y tuvimos una muy buena estancia en el Lyskirchen. Lo recomendaríamos, sin ninguna duda.

ENGLISH:

The location of the hotel was great. It was next to the river, five minutes away of the Chocolate Museum and ten-fifteen minutes away of the center of Cologne.

The room was ready at arrival and we had no problems with the check in. The staff was helpful enough. The size of the room was just fine, enough for the two of us, and it was clean. The flat screen TV was a good touch, as was the minibar and the desk, little armchair and coffee table. No blinds on the window; but then, that's the norm in Northern Europe. There were curtains that blocked most of the light, though. The nights were really peaceful and we never heard any neighbours. The bed was comfy, though it wasn't a double bed, but two single beds put together.

The bathroom was clean; a little small, but the shower was of a fine size. The screens of the shower malfunctioned, though; we had to place the bath mat so the water wouldn't flood the bathroom AND the carpet of the room. The cleaning service changed our towells daily and replaced the two little bottles of shampoo, bath gel, body milk and the bar of hand soap. They also left a nail file and some cotton pads and cotton buds.

Breakfast was just great. It was really expensive, though. We didn't want to have breakfast at the hotel because of the price, but we had to make use of it a couple of days because we were in a hurry. We came to the conclusion that the breakfast was worth the price. It was a huge buffet (it even had organic food), and everything was delicious.

Another too expensive thing was the internet. 5 euros every 30 minutes for the wifi, and 5 euros every 15 minutes for the computer in the lobby.

We didn't use the swimming pool, but it looks really nice in all the pictures.

In Spain, maybe we wouldn't really call the Lyskirchen a 4 star hotel, but we would definitely call it a 3+ star hotel.

We were happy with our choice, and we had a great time staying at the Lyskirchen. We would recommend it, no doubt.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, UK
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Booked blind on Hotwire we we very pleased with our assigned hotel.
Its classed as a 4 star luxury hotel, full service with pool and friendly staff.
Hotel seemed fairly quiet during our 1 night stay on a Monday night.
Clean and modern interiors, large rooms.
Yes it had a shower cubicle "in the room" It gives the room a larger feel, but pull the curtain across and you have privacy.

Simple walk from the station if you head to the Rhine and walk along the promenade for 10 mins the hotel is just off the main riverside road, easy to find.

Also very handy for a stroll into the Old Town squares and trams should you need them.

No free Wi-Fi, in fact I felt the prices for short term internet were nothing short of highway robbery.
Can't complain at the room deal we got though, £50 for a Monday night - mega bargain!

I would certainly stay here again if the deal arose.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lyskirchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lyskirchen

Address: Filzengraben 26-32, 50676 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Cologne
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lyskirchen 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Cologne's historic city center the Hotel Lyskirchen warmly welcomes you only a few minutes by foot away from the city center of cologne, the Guerzenich, the cathedral square and the cologne Rhine Promenade. This 4 star hotel in Cologne was named after the church St. Maria Lyskirchen located in the immediate neighborhood, being one of the most recognizable and traditional 4 star hotels in Cologne. All 105 comfortable hotel rooms are equipped with cable TV and High-Speed Internet. Revive yourself in the swimming pool, sauna or the gym area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Lyskirchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyskirchen Hotel Cologne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lyskirchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.