We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and comfortable - BRILLIANT BREAKFAST!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pullman Cologne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pullman Cologne to your Saves list
Pullman Cologne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Helenenstrasse 14, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Sofitel Kongress Hotel Köln) (Altstadt-Nord)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 281 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very nice and comfortable - BRILLIANT BREAKFAST!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 4 nights in May 2014 with my wife during our tour of Germany. Better than expected for what we paid. Nice clean rooms & toilet, fantastic breakfast.
Walking distance to the Cathedral and center.
Request a high floor room for the view of the city.
There is a good German Restaurant on the side street of the hotel. For those who like Japanese - there is a decent Cafe around the corner. Nice bakery on the side street as well.
Highly recommended. Will stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a high floor room for the view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    475
    111
    30
    8
See reviews for
76
517
114
305
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed at the Pullman Cologne as part of group trip visiting Germany. Hotel is located easy 10-15 minute walk from both the Cathedral (Dom) and main railway station in quiet neighborhood. It is a rather large building. The rooms are on the small side, but very comfortable, quiet and clean with a decent bathcroom with a very good shower. The breakfast spread was very good and there is a small, yet good exercise facility. The staff was helpful and friendly. I would stay there again on a similar trip.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Top Contributor
345 reviews 345 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is in a great location not so far from the Dom and Railway station and near Appelhofplatz U-Bahn. We had requested and were allocated a room on a high floor with a beautiful view of the Dom. The rooms are somewhat compact but well furnished with plenty of storage. Last year we were upgraded (as Accor Gold), but this year we were not (as Platinum); in fact the Superior room we had this year was nicer - the Deluxe rooms seem smaller as I think the bathrooms are larger?

We had the same issue as last year - the heated floor in the bathroom seems to have a mind of its own and made the room hot and stuffy. Thank goodness you can open the windows.

The hotel gym is good, but we wish there was a pool - the Wellness area is huge - could you please build a pool in there!

The breakfast is amazing - such a spread. Everything that you could ever want for breakfast including Sekt. The staff are friendly but need to be more proactive with clearing plates.

Note if you are travelling on business, you need to bring a letter from your company to avoid the tourism tax of 5%. Last year I did not need this. They let me off this time but said I would need this letter next time. Showing appointments or business cards was not enough.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Dom
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is in a great location, only 10minutes walking from the main station and the Dom and only 5 minutes from the Neumarkt. I had requested an early check in due to the time of my flight and upon checking in at 11am my room was ready. I was allocated a room on the 9th floor which was a corner room and thus had a balcony which had not even been requested.
The room was a very generous size with a very comfortable bed. The staff were extremely efficient and polite from checking in to checking out. I can not praise the hotel highly enough and will definitely visit again when in Cologne.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have a balcony and some have views of Dom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja P, Training & Quality Manager at Pullman Cologne, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Sam D,
"I can not praise the hotel highly enough"
Me and the team are very proud to read such a nice feedback. Thank you so much!
We hope that we can welcoming you back in Cologne soon and and best regards and our best wishes to Newcastle upon Tyne
Sonja Pohl and the Pullman Cologne team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is the perfect hotel in Cologne, we got a great deal for £74 per night for a double room including the best breakfast i have ever had at a hotel. Chef will cook eggs and omlettes etc to your liking and there is everything you can think of that you would want to eat.

The hotel is 15 minutes walk from the cathedral, 20 minutes from the old town main square and 5/10 minutes from the shopping district and 'Ringh road' nightlife area.

The hotel is clean, the staff are always on hand to help and offer advice. Being situated in a quiet are means no disturbances at night but just a short stroll from most of the attractions.

Free wifi is also included and we got a room looking towards the cathedral too. Don't hesitate to book this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja P, Training & Quality Manager at Pullman Cologne, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Jonbennison,
"Don`t hesitate to book this hotel" - Thank you so much for this marvelous feedback!
We very much appreciate your nice words regarding your stay in our hotel.
Of course rooms with cathedral view are very nice and bring the "Cologne feeling" closer to our guests.
Hope to welcoming you back!
Kind regards to the UK
Sonja Pohl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Pullman's location is central to 'downtown' Cologne as well as to the nearby (upmarket) shopping district, yet in a fairly quiet location.
The hotel offers underground parking, but at €25 per day it's fairly expensive for Cologne.
The room was smaller than expected, especially the bathroom, but very clean and offered all necessary amenities. The wifi in the room was fast.
However there were two negative factors that affected my rating. The shower, in the bathtub, was very narrow and not easy to use. The other is the bed. Through years of having guests sitting on the edge of the bed, one side was lower than the other, giving the feeling that you were about to fall off the bed when lying down. This affected the sleep comfort.
Breakfast was very good and if you have a room on a high floor, you enjoy a great view. I had a cathedral-facing room, but the view on the other side is also quite impressive.

Room Tip: One side faces the famous cathedral and would likely be the preferred side, especially in a high flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja P, Training & Quality Manager at Pullman Cologne, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear JDSV,
thank you so much for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor and your nice words regarding the breakfast.
So much more we would like to apologize for the inconvenience you had due to shower and the bed, but we will hope that you will come back soon.
Best regards
Sonja Pohl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great front desk staff, super friendly and welcoming. I got all my room preferences, and even upgraded to a larger corner room.
Breakfast is fantastic: German sausages, custom honey dispenser, Belgian style waffles made to order, even alcohol (German sekt), really nice upmarket tea served in a pot, capucchino, lot's of variety all over!
The room was really nice, quiet and comfortable too.

Small remark, we found a few minor things in the room not as clean as we would have wanted. A spoon with coffee stains, a hook for the curtains that had fallen off. Along top ledge/shelf of the furniture I found dust. Being a tall guy, I notice this at many hotels, probably because the cleaning lady is short and can't reach to these high spots. Not a big deal to me.

Note that this hotel does not have any pool. There's a sauna however, but I didn't have time to use it.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Pullmanhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja P, Training & Quality Manager at Pullman Cologne, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Sunjan,
what a nice feedback regarding your stay in our hotel in Cologne. Thank you so much.
Nevertheless we would like to apologize that your room wasn`t cleaned as good as it should have been.
Best regards to Stockholm
Sonja Pohl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pullman Cologne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Cologne

Address: Helenenstrasse 14, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Sofitel Kongress Hotel Köln)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#4 Business Hotel in Cologne
#5 Family Hotel in Cologne
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Cologne 5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The striking Pullman Cologne welcomes you to the center of this exhibition and media town, with its distinctive flair for artistic culture and Rheinischer joie de vivre. Enjoy the benefits of our exclusive location right in the heart of Cologne yet surrounded by calm, with stylish architecture, superb comfort and a distinguished ambience. The hotel offers the perfect setting for business meetings or gala dinners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pullman Cologne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Cologne Hotel Cologne
Accor Cologne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pullman Cologne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.