We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pullman Cologne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Pullman Cologne to your Saves list
Pullman Cologne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Helenenstrasse 14, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Sofitel Kongress Hotel Köln) (Altstadt-Nord)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #6 of 281 Hotels in Cologne
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Just come back from a few days here, it is a very nice hotel at a really handy location, it is near enough the tube station and a main street of lovely restaurants, but far enough away that it's quiet. The breakfast is really good and has everything you could ever want. The staff can't do enough for you, even the lady who cleans the room was really nice!
The only issue I have with the hotel is how stuffy the room gets. I am not someone who is easily hot, I usually have the heating cranked up at home in winter and an electric blanket on. But the rooms can get so warm (we visited in December!), we would have the air con on the lowest possible setting and had to have the window wide open. I'm not entirely sure how it can get so warm. It is such a shame because other than that it is such an amazing hotel, so I really hope they get that sorted.
The hotel bar is nice (we only had drinks so can't comment on the food), so if you're feeling like staying in you can pop in there of an evening. A short walk from the hotel there are some fantastic restaurants including barrios and hans im gluck. There is also a nearby bar called bier-esel which has good beer and other drinks at normal prices, and friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    442
    102
    30
    8
See reviews for
66
490
109
285
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had 5 days in Cologne for the Christmas Markets. The hotel is in an excellent position for the markets. The service, facilities and breakfasts were excellent. We had a room on the 11th floor overlooking the Dom - could not be better.
We did not eat in the restaurant for an evening meal so cannot comment.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel is great. Very lovely room overlooking the cathedral (room 824) we had breakfast included in our booking which was great because there was so much to eat! Having said this, if it was not already included I would not have paid €25 each for it. Helpful staff. Fantastic wi-fi! The room was always really hot though, the air conditioning didn't work but the windows opened a huge amount which allowed us to cool the room. Fantastic shower and would definitely go back again.
Easy transport to and from the hotel/airport. (Line s13). The Christmas markets were enjoyable but for too busy that it became impossible to move. People were literally pushing and shoving each other. The best Christmas market was Neumarkt, which was a 5 minute walk from the hotel and it was lovely. Nice stalls and fantastic food!

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
612 reviews 612 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 230 cities Reviews in 230 cities
328 helpful votes 328 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed at this hotel while visiting the Christmas markets - we were not disappointed. The hotel is positioned about 10 minutes walk from the cathedral and city centre - it was ideal for our needs. Our room was modern and well appointed; despite arriving at 1 pm - earlier than the official check in time (3pm) we were given a room by the very helpful front desk clerk. The only minor negative was that on two occassions we returned from a day sightseeing at around 5pm only to find that our room had not been serviced - housekeeping, working on nearby rooms, very quickly addressed the problem but it did mean that we had to wait outside our room for 10-15 minutes while the servicing was completed.
We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant but on departure we were asked to pay for a breakfast - this was quickly rectified by the front desk.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

We chose this hotel after looking for somewhere to stay while visiting the Christmas markets and this place was ideal, the rooms were perfect. When we went for breakfast there was a wide variety of food to choose from but there was never any bacon, it had either gone or someone forgot to order it and when you did actually get any it was smoked of which not everyone likes. It would of got 5 stars if it weren't for the excuses about the bacon tut tut but will be back next year even I'll bring some from home for you

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is conveniently located, nearby shopping centers, restaurants, Cathedral and Old Town a little more far away but still in walking distance. The lobby area is spacy, bar and breakfast room are at that level. At the top level there is a great restaurant (georgeM, see seperate review). Check-in smooth and quick. Room clean, modern style, enough hangers for cloths. Free wifi with good connection. Bathroom a bit small (only one person can be inside; amenities were incomplete, 3 bottles of body lotion, but no shampoo or shower gel, but that must have been a mix-up). Water and juices in the minibar, nespresso machine for coffee. Very comfortable beds, good climate control system. Breakfast buffet has more than sufficient items, including lot of special items for different dietary needs. It is certainly not cheap (267 € plus 25€ parking) but comparable to other hotels in the vicinity.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boortmeerbeek, Belgium
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Pullman Cologne last weekend for one night. We arrived at 11am but the room wasn't ready yet (no problem, because we knew we were only able to check-in at 3pm). The receptionist was friendly and helped us with our luggage.
At 4pm we returned to the hotel and asked for our room. It took a while before we got a room, but after five minutes of searching, she gave us an upgrade to a nice room on the 8th floor with a beautiful view at the Dom. All the other rooms were occupied (busy weekend before Christmas).
Our room (826) was lovely with a king size bed (2 big single beds next to each other) and a small but neat bathroom. We had a walk-in rain-shower and everything was very clean. Mini-bar was fully stocked and free wifi was provided.

The walk to the Dom is around 5-10 minutes and also 5-10 minutes to reach the S-train or Metro.

Good value for your money!

Room Tip: Room 826 has a great view over the city and Dom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pullman Cologne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Cologne

Address: Helenenstrasse 14, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Sofitel Kongress Hotel Köln)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#4 Business Hotel in Cologne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#7 Family Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Cologne 5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The striking Pullman Cologne welcomes you to the center of this exhibition and media town, with its distinctive flair for artistic culture and Rheinischer joie de vivre. Enjoy the benefits of our exclusive location right in the heart of Cologne yet surrounded by calm, with stylish architecture, superb comfort and a distinguished ambience. The hotel offers the perfect setting for business meetings or gala dinners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Pullman Cologne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Cologne Hotel Cologne
Accor Cologne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pullman Cologne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.