We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel in Cologne” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pullman Cologne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Pullman Cologne to your Saves list
Pullman Cologne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Helenenstrasse 14, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Sofitel Kongress Hotel Köln) (Altstadt-Nord)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 280 Hotels in Cologne
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel in Cologne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Pros: Great modern room (Deluxe), lovely bathroom with rainfall shower, free minibar (in Deluxe rooms) of soft drinks, snacks and beers, good view from room and bar, great selection at breakfast, friendly staff, late breakfast at weekends, close to shops and restaurants, free wi-fi, really good value

Cons: expensive bar, slightly away from main tourist attactions (up to 15 min walk to Dom)

Conclusion: perfect for our stay and exceeded our expectations. We weren't concerned by the short walk into town.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms seem to be on the 11th floor, all of which have good views. We really appreciated the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeroen M, Manager at Pullman Cologne, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear MB83_12,

We very much appreciated your comments regarding your stay at the Pullman Cologne. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

As you said we are a max. 15 minute Walk away form the Dom, but also in the near of the Friesenstraße, Hohenzollernring and Neumarkt...

With kindest regards,


Jeroen Mollé
Director of Operations
Pullman Cologne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    436
    101
    30
    8
See reviews for
66
484
109
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We have been to the place for 2 nights and it was a pleasure.
Koln is all around you - and the hotel in the first line of it.
And because it is a business hotel leisure stay where does have its compensations. One can enjoy normal breakfast after 9 am, its not noisy and all that...
Staff is extremely helpful, food is great - especially at 'George M', wines are fantastic - though a little bit expensive, may be...
Rooms: we love that sort of 'decor' - but for some it may give the impression of 80s. A/c is a bit noisy, electric fixtures are a bit dated, the bed is just great.
Thanks for holidays, Pullman. We well be back. Even a cat (he enjoyed the view :)

Room Tip: Top-floors will give you a stunning view over Koln.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeroen M, Manager at Pullman Cologne, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear EandA_777,

thank you for your kind and positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. Our last refurbishment was in 2007, but nowadays electrical devices are changing in a very high frequency. So the optic could look older than it is.

We are looking forward to welcome you again here with us at the Pullman Cologne.

With kindest regards,

Jeroen Mollé
Director of Operations
Pullman Cologne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I have booked my hotel through booking.com. I selected the room only option. However when I arrived at the hotel, I was told the breakfast is included automatically. What a surprise!!!

It is in a very good location - about 15 mins walk to the dom and you can talk all public transport from there. It costed us 7EURO to take taxi home from the dom in the evening.

The breakfast is AMZING!!! It has variety of selection -so far one of the best breakfast in the hotel.

The room is very nice and spacious. Of course the higher the floor is better view it is.

overall, I would highly recommend this hotel!!!

Room Tip: Higher floor Call the hotel to check if the breakfast is automatically included before buying those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeroen M, Manager at Pullman Cologne, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear LilyLZ,

many thanks for your recommendation.

We are looking forward to your next visit to Cologne and the Dom!

With kind regards,



Jeroen Mollé
Director of Operations

Pullman Cologne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Nothing short of a perfect stay in a new city!
-asked for a room with a view of the cathedral, got it,
-free internet (no problems- and we were there for 4 days)
-blissful beds, feather light cocoon bedding(warm and enveloping) and relaxing sleep, got it,
-George M. restaurant on 12th floor, very good food- fully booked, ate at the bar table- fun space with a cathedral view,
-multiple head shower- offering soft water spray or strong water option, which we prefer- and do not find too often in European hotels,
-wonderful "self help" breakfast with assortment of cuisine- from fish, to chef made eggs, to a wonderful assortment of fine German breads... to home made honey( collected from their rooftop, complete with honeycomb), cappuccino,

A very smart, centrally located property- which is within walking distance to the old city and city center

Room Tip: Back side of hotel (even numbers) have the rooms with cathedral view. the higher, the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeroen M, Manager at Pullman Cologne, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear lovetravelling0820,

it seems to me, that we have a new regular guest...

Indeed we have our own honey - come and try our new honey harvested 2 weeks ago.

With kindest regards,


Jeroen Mollé
Director of Operations

Pullman Cologne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

When you are traveling for business, internet is vital. This hotel had the worst internet I have experienced in a long time. I complained, but nothing changed. I hate it when a hotel blames the company that provides the internet - nope, it is YOUR fault. Fix it.

They allow smoking in the bar, which is DISGUSTING. Really? Smoking? Bar and sometimes the lobby stinks.

On the plus side. nice, if small, rooms. Air conditioning works okay for a European hotel. Breakfast is very good with a wide range.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeroen M, Manager at Pullman Cologne, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear DAVID C,

many thanks for your comments.

Indeed we can not blame the provider for the internet. As I can not exactly find out what the issue was for the negative internet experience, I just want to clarify that we offer two options for our guests. The first basic version is sufficient for an regular internet user and is free of charge for our guests. If you are expecting a higher volume we are offering a package with a higher download rate and more volume is also available. This option will be charged at the reception or can be booked with several overnight packages.

Since 2013 we are a non smoking hotel, so smoking is not allowed in the bar or lobby - also by law. We will look into that issue which you mentioned.

With kindest regards,


Jeroen Mollé
Director of Operations

Pullman Cologne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We had a very good 2 night stay at this hotel. We arrived at Koln/Bonn airport and caught the train which was Eur 2.60 and only takes about 10 minutes or so. We got a Taxi from the station to the hotel which was about Eur 7, but it's only a 15 minute walk.
We were in 631 on the sixth floor and to the front of the building. The room was very stylish and clean, The king size bed was comfy and lots of pillows. There was tea and coffee making facilities, the usual mini bar, safe, TV etc. Robes and slippers. The bathroom was fairly small, no bath but a good shower and Roger & Gallet toiletries.
We did find the room a little warm and we couldn't get the air con to work. Other than that no complaints.
The breakfast was excellent.Very good service and a really great choice of hot and cold buffets. They would also cook you eggs to order.
The location of the hotel wasn't bad. About 5 minutes from the start of the shopping area and 15 minutes to the Station and Cathedral area.
Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeroen M, Manager at Pullman Cologne, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear larnerdarren,

many thanks for your feedback!

With kind regards,


Jeroen Mollé
Director of Operations

Pullman Cologne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pullman Cologne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Cologne

Address: Helenenstrasse 14, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Sofitel Kongress Hotel Köln)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#4 Business Hotel in Cologne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#7 Family Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Cologne 5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The striking Pullman Cologne welcomes you to the center of this exhibition and media town, with its distinctive flair for artistic culture and Rheinischer joie de vivre. Enjoy the benefits of our exclusive location right in the heart of Cologne yet surrounded by calm, with stylish architecture, superb comfort and a distinguished ambience. The hotel offers the perfect setting for business meetings or gala dinners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pullman Cologne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Cologne Hotel Cologne
Accor Cologne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pullman Cologne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.