We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and neat hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ameron Hotel Regent

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ameron Hotel Regent to your Saves list
Ameron Hotel Regent
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Melatenguertel 15, 50933 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Lindenthal)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 281 Hotels in Cologne
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice and neat hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Ameron Regent Hotel in Köln can be summarized as follows: nice, very neat hotel and very friendly service. The standard room on the 5th floor was very clean, sufficiently spacious en well styled. Although we did not make use of it, the hotel also features sauna and fitness center.
Breakfast was well in order. In the evening, we ate in the hotel. Menu is limited, restaurant is more of a bistro; Nevertheless we enjoyed the well cooked steak, "Das Beste vom Ludwig" with red wine mushroom sauce was quite delicious. However, although the service is very polite, the waiters are real rookies. We ordered a Martini, but it came in the wrong glass (vodka-martini glass) and with no ice (we asked for some ice). As for the quantity of the drink, well you don't have to be drunk to consider the drink to be way too small. 2cl of Martini...it's not like we ordered a glass of a €100 whiskey??? Photo's will follow, but overall a nice experience in this hotel. Now for the Christmas markets, well, the streetcar line that passes by the Aachener Str very near the hotel which is good. It is the best way to visit the markets. Anyone telling you to do everyting on foot,... We like to walk, but the entry into the 'altstadt' isn't that beautifull, so go for the public transport, which is, btw, not so cheap.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    130
    26
    3
    6
See reviews for
33
89
34
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Just stayed here for few nights. Excellent breakie. Late checkout 12pm. Good breakfast. Small gym. Sauna. No steam room. Comfy beds. Clean modern bathroom. Downside was no free internet except lobby - wouldn't work! No free car parking. Friendly staff.

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

after a long flight from California, this hotel was heaven. we arrived very early but were still able to check in. rooms are big, showers are big. most comfortable bed of all the hotels we stayed at in Germany. there isn't much in the immediate area (grocery/restaurants), so keep this is mind before settling in for the night. the hotel restaurant stopped room service at 10pm.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlthoffHotelGroup, Direktionsassistent at Ameron Hotel Regent, responded to this review, November 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your staying in aur Hotel and your feedback.

It´s glad to hear, that you felt like in heaven when you arrived in Cologne.

We would appreciate it to see back soon!


Yours Sincerely

Philipp Stahl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Box Hill, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 2 weeks with work. It was an easy 15 minute bike ride into town and close to the Stadewaldt (State forest) for running on trails in a forest setting. The staff at the hotel were very efficient. Breakfast was excellent with many choices, the coffee was just ok )as it seems to be in all of Germany)!
I had a 13th level unit with views over the city

This part of town is near some of the trendy park areas where there are local gatherings and music events

Room Tip: facing the city is good for views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlthoffHotelGroup, Direktionsassistent at Ameron Hotel Regent, responded to this review, October 31, 2014
Dear Adan,

thank you so much for your nice response to your stay at pur hotel.

We are glad to hear that you had a great time with us and we hope to see see you back soon!

Yours sincerely

Philipp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

Having stayed here two years ago during the Photokina trade show, I decided to try it again. The experience was as good as the last time. The hotel staff was very helpful with getting us subway tickets and taxis. The rooms are spacious, clean, and quiet. The bathroom was spacious too; though I have trouble getting used to showers that have no doors or curtails, as the water does tend to splash out. The breakfast fare offered a good variety of food, slightly expensive though. Easy few minute walk to the subway stop (Line 1), which drops you off along many of the popular areas of Cologne and from there short walks to everything you need; restaurant, shopping, the Dom.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlthoffHotelGroup, Direktionsassistent at Ameron Hotel Regent, responded to this review, October 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your response and for choosing us again for your second stay in Cologne.

We are glad to hera, that we schieved your expectations in all matters.

We hope to welcome you again before the next Photokina starts in two years.

Yours sincerely,

Philipp Stahl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauberbischofsheim
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

It was a pleasant stay, beautiful city. Nice that we could checkout at 12 o'çlock. Comfortable beds, good shower, clean romm and very nice and helpful staff. I would certainly choose for this hotel again.


  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlthoffHotelGroup, Direktionsassistent at Ameron Hotel Regent, responded to this review, October 24, 2014
Gear guest,

Thank you very much for your nice and positive response to your stay at the AMERON Hotel Regent.

We are glad to hear that you had an excellent and unforgettable time in Cologne and we are looking forward to your next time in Cologne.

Yours sincerely

Philipp Stahl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

The Ameron Hotel Regent is typically the kind of Hotel that I'd use on business trips, but a family trip to Cologne with a 9 month old baby saw us stay here for 4 nights.

The staff couldn't be more helpful, all spoke excellent English and they checked us into a different room as we had arrived early. The travel cot was roomy and our daughter slept well.
Really nice shower and bathroom too.

Housekeeping were great also, our room was full of baby gear and looked like a right mess when we went out each day. All tidied and spotless when we returned.

It's well placed for the Tram system and it's easy on the number 1 or 7 Tram to get to the city centre.
Easiest way to get here from the airport is the S13 Train to Deutz Messe station (don't go all the way to the main Hauptbahnhof) and then the number 1 tram all the way to the Aachner Strasse/Gurtel tram stop.

I had one meal at the hotel which was great. We didn't have breakfast as priced at €19 it's definitely for the business traveller charging to the expense account. However, don't let this put you off as the Excellent Cafe Bonnen is about 30 yards away from the Hotel and serves excellent breakfast for a fraction of the price.

We had a great trip and were very pleased with the Ameron Hotel Regent.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlthoffHotelGroup, Direktionsassistent at Ameron Hotel Regent, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Dear Shukerr,

thank you very much for your time and your positive words about our hotel.

We are happy to hear, that you and your familiy had wonderful days in Cologne and in our hotel.

So we are looking forward to welcome you again!

Yours sincerely

Philipp Stahl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ameron Hotel Regent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameron Hotel Regent

Address: Melatenguertel 15, 50933 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Lindenthal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#12 Business Hotel in Cologne
#19 Family Hotel in Cologne
#30 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ameron Hotel Regent 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Ameron Hotel Regent is located right next to Cologne's Stadtwald (city forest), the 'green belt' of the popular cathedral city. Awaiting you here is sufficient space for your meetings of all sizes, as well as highly modern comfort for a relaxing business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ameron Hotel Regent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Hotel
Best Western Cologne
Regent Cologne
Cologne Regent
Cologne Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ameron Hotel Regent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.