We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet City Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ameron Hotel Regent

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ameron Hotel Regent to your Saves list
Ameron Hotel Regent
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Melatenguertel 15, 50933 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Lindenthal)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 281 Hotels in Cologne
Nettetal, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Quiet City Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed here recently whilst on Business in Cologne.Surprisingly quiet rooms for a city hotel.
very friendly staff on reception, breakfast was great, good selection. would definitely stay there again if I`m in the area. Good parking access just makes it all that much more comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    128
    26
    3
    6
See reviews for
33
88
34
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Had a lovely family room in this hotel. Staff were extremely friendly and courteous and it had a nice bar, if the breakfast and restaurant are a bit pricey. Lots of tram routes run to and from the city centre from a five-minute walk away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night with my daughter. Had an executive room, which I think was worth it, with the free minibar and free parking in the hotels garage.

The room itself was a regular room, only difference was that it was situated at noe of the top levels of the building.
But seemingly this floor was a smoking floor, and although I was made aware of it by the lady at the reception, with the possibility to change it if it was smelly, I think they should have made sure that some of their executive rooms were non-smoking rooms.

Beside from this, the room was elegant and clean, the service was great and the little restaurant was good. A bit expensive breakfast, but would recommend this hotel to others travelling to Köln.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ameron, Assistant Convention Sales Manager at Ameron Hotel Regent, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Linda,

Thank you for your time to rate us.
it's nice to hear, that you recommend our hotel.

We hope to see you again.

Kind Regards,
Sandra-Carina Neeten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutton Rudby
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were transferred here as the Leonardo nearby was being refurbished. Despite other comments we found the hotel to be very clean, modern with excellent room facilities. Parking was adjacent, which at Eu 15 is a bit steep. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of everything.Ate in the bar, the food was very tasty, but too pricey, as were all the drinks, although everyone there seems to get a small free beer. Nothing much around the hotel but easy to get int the city on the abundant trams.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ameron, Assistant Convention Sales Manager at Ameron Hotel Regent, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks that you have just taken the time to review our home.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the stay and hope that we will soon be able to welcome you back with us.

kind regards
Sandra-Carina Neeten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were traveling around Europe, and this was our favourite hotel. It was clean and so comfortable. The staff was polite and friendly as well. We had dinner at the bar, where they suggested a traditional German meal (which was delicious) and a free beer for both of us. This hotel was perfect after a long day on the road.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ameron, Assistant Convention Sales Manager at Ameron Hotel Regent, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Marina,

Many thanks you for sharing your impressions with other travelers. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back with us soon.

Kind regards,
Sandra-Carina Neeten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We booked this hotel over a year ago as we were coming to Cologne for a concert and we have stayed with the Ameron chain before and the hotels have always been good quality.

We arrived at the hotel slightly earlier than our check in time but were allocated a room. Even before we had reached the room we noticed a smell of cigarette smoke along the corridor, we thought someone may have just been smoking outside and had walked along to their room, so no alarm bells rang at this point as we had stipulated a non-smoking room when we booked.

What a shock and disappointment to enter our allocated room to the smell of stale cigarette smoke! It stank to be honest! When we enquired why we had been placed into a smoking room/floor, we were 'told' it was due to the hotel being full due to the concert....not our problem surely when we had booked so far in advance?

Unfortunately we had no choice but to stay, thankfully it was just over night...what saddens me is that there was no apology for the inconvenience to us and no offer of a complimentary breakfast or drink from the bar to right their mistake and the fact that we were unhappy just didn't seem to matter...customer service skills are most certainly lacking in this establishment!

We would be put off in coming back to this hotel and recommending it to others as how far in advance does one have to book to guarentee a nonsmoking room?? Its a real shame as the Hotel is in a good position for the local tram service to and from the city and also the concert venue if that was the reason for your visit to Cologne.

So just a warning to other travellers who are also non-smokers, avoid floor 12 at all costs, the exhaled smoke comes in under the doors, the air con, the room we were allocated stank of cigarettes the odour was everywhere, it had even permeated the mattress and the inside of the wardrobe!

To the Hotel I would say...I am all for freewill and if smokers wish to smoke that is their choice and let them enjoy smoking Floor 12, but as a non-smoker I also have a choice to stay in a room that doesn't smell of cigarettes!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Our third visit here. A very good business or leisure hotel. The trams are so convenient for all parts of Cologne and only two minutes away from hotel. I was very disappointed with the bedding, a double bed would have been preferred, but they have unnatural top of mattress cover and duvet. It is very uncomfortable and sweaty. However, you can ask for a 'sleep easy' free of charge package, which includes natural fibre pillows and duvets, so our last night was much more comfortable. All the staff were very helpful. The buffet breakfasts, although expensive, are wonderful; they cater for everything. WIFI free only in reception areas. Nice clean room with good bathroom with walk-in shower. Coffee and tea making facilities available.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ameron Hotel Regent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameron Hotel Regent

Address: Melatenguertel 15, 50933 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Lindenthal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#12 Business Hotel in Cologne
#19 Family Hotel in Cologne
#30 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ameron Hotel Regent 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Ameron Hotel Regent is located right next to Cologne's Stadtwald (city forest), the 'green belt' of the popular cathedral city. Awaiting you here is sufficient space for your meetings of all sizes, as well as highly modern comfort for a relaxing business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ameron Hotel Regent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Hotel
Best Western Cologne
Regent Cologne
Cologne Regent
Cologne Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ameron Hotel Regent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.