We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very solid business hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ameron Hotel Regent

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ameron Hotel Regent to your Saves list
Ameron Hotel Regent
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Melatenguertel 15, 50933 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Lindenthal)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 280 Hotels in Cologne
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very solid business hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

Stayed here one night as I was attending a meeting nearby. I had a very pleasant, quiet room. It was easy to work at the hotel. I had a nice experience in the bar with colleagues.

I was impressed and would return.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    128
    26
    3
    6
See reviews for
33
88
34
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

I stayed there for 5 days. The room was great. Internet was included, though I understand that this was because I reserved an 'executive room' and the rate included parking, internet, newspaper (German), one bottle of mineral water each day and free minibar. I asked twice at the desk and the minibar was really free of charge! Parking was in an off-street lot just next to the hotel and is normally 15 Euro per day, multiple in-and-out is allowed but you must get your parking ticket exchanged at the front desk each time you leave.
The tram is close by and costs about 2.5 Euro to get to the old city.
The hotel restaurant was good but with limited selection. There is a restaurant district about a 20 minute walk away, look for Venloer Strasse.

Room Tip: Use booking.com, ask for executive double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

A former Best Western chain Hotel now under new management of the Ameron Group.
We had room #1401 which is classified a executive suite room. top floor with a amazing view of the city ( ask for the best view at check in ) The room was rather on the small side since we expected a "executive suite" but in the price you have free minibar. The room is tidy modern and clean spacious bathroom with no bathtub but great shower. LAN internet is for free and WIFI available for 8€ and hour , which we thought its a rip off for a 4 star hotel ( we stayed in 2 star Hotel where it was free ) The Hotel is in a calm part of the west side of the city and can be reached by a short Tram ride ( approx 10min ) to Rudolfplatz. Parking is free for Hotel guests and it has a basic gym and Sauna amenities. It has a modern no thrill classy interiour features on house restaurant and bar . Breakfast is truly good and there is a rich choice for everyone taste. The staff is helpful and professional. They where able to provide all the service we required during our stay.
We had a all over positive experience.

Room Tip: Ask for the Highest floor with city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

The hotel is located just slightly out of the city center but the tram stop is closeby and the trams are fast and efficient and cheap. Room was a very good size, quiet and comfortable. The staff was very helpful and friendly. On my way to the airport I realized I had left my iphone at the hotel and they very kindly mailed it back to me in the UK (I paid a small fee by credit card).

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

As a business hotel a few things are critical to be able to fulfill the needs of your guest, even if they are the most basic needs. Despite of the fact that we were no business guest, we still found that Hotel Regent is not playing their game all fear and square. Internet for example is a common good these days, but despite of all that Hotel regent still charges extra cost to make use of the internet. To be clear, Hotel Regent is offering their services at an acceptable level, but paying for internet is so 2000 that it really annoyed me as it perceives itself as a business hotel. Secondly, it deliberately did not mention that we had the right to receive our deposit back after our check-out. Again the hotel services were fine, but these two little tiny incidents actually changed the way we perceived our stay. Nevertheless, the location is perfect to have a romantic trip in Cologne, so I would like to recommend this hotel to future guest.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

Mein erstes mal in diesem Hotel und wahrscheinlich nicht das letzte mal.

Hotel ist nicht in der Stadtmitte, aber Zentrum ist gut erreichbar in wenigen Minuten.

Empfang beim Checkin war sehr freundlich und schnell. Zimmer ist in klaren Linien dekoriert und farblich schön abgestimmt. Room Service war schnell und zuvorkommend, hat aber leider meinen Salat vergessen.
Badezimmer weist viele Kalkablagerungen auf, was natuerlich auf dem dunklen Fliesen sehr auffällig ist. Ansonsten ist das Zimmer sehr sauber.
Ich habe mich über den Holzboden im Zimmer gefreut, da es hygienischer als Teppichboden ist.

Frühstücksbüffet war vielfältig und frisch.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

Check in was very good. Staff are very professional. Modern and well maintained hotel. Has free internet. Good restaurant and prices are reasonable. Supermarkets can be accessed in next street about 15 minutes walk. Down side is this hotel is somewhat removed from the city centre but trams to city operate regularly on 1 or 7 line - but, be warned, if you need a taxi don't leave it to last minute to order as they can take a while to turn up! One slightly annoying feature is that the hotel has wooden floor panelling on floors which can be annoying for rooms below.

We enjoyed our stay in Cologne and visited the beautifully maintained regal cemetery across the road is well worth a visit as well as the usual tourist spots like the cathederal.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ameron Hotel Regent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameron Hotel Regent

Address: Melatenguertel 15, 50933 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Lindenthal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#11 Business Hotel in Cologne
#17 Family Hotel in Cologne
#32 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ameron Hotel Regent 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Ameron Hotel Regent is located right next to Cologne's Stadtwald (city forest), the 'green belt' of the popular cathedral city. Awaiting you here is sufficient space for your meetings of all sizes, as well as highly modern comfort for a relaxing business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ameron Hotel Regent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Hotel
Best Western Cologne
Regent Cologne
Cologne Regent
Cologne Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ameron Hotel Regent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.