We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for overnight stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Express by Holiday Inn Koln Troisdorf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Express by Holiday Inn Koln Troisdorf to your Saves list
Express by Holiday Inn Koln Troisdorf
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Echternacher Strasse 4, 53842 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #128 of 280 Hotels in Cologne
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great for overnight stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stopped at this hotel on route to Munich from the UK and found it to be a suitable hotel for our family. The room is very typical of a budget stop over hotel. It was clean and comfortable for our needs. The bar/restaurant were closed for refurbishment and we had to take breakfast in the conference room which was no inconvenience at all. The hotel has several fast food and family restaurants in walking distance and the train station is a pleasant 10 minute walk away. We went into Cologne by train for the afternoon and found this to be a pleasant break from the motorway. Overall a good stay...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nussbas, General Manager at Express by Holiday Inn Koln Troisdorf, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback on our hotel.

We would be glad to welcome you soon again.

Kind regards,
Ayman Abou El Seoud
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    92
    56
    18
    5
See reviews for
43
45
29
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This hotel was clean and good for one night. The rate was good and included breakfast. Location was not far from city center. The rooms are on the small side but were nice to have baby beds and pull out extra bed available. I have never been to a hotel where the staff hide in the office and you have to stand at the desk to wait for them. This was a little bothersome.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Express by Holiday Inn Koln Troisdorf, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear Joanna O,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn Express around. We appreciate your nice comment regarding cleanliness and location.

However, It sounds like we fell below your expectations especially on the poor customer service provided by our front desk. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This is a comfortable stopping off hotel close to Cologne - good train service from Spich station (within walking distance). Comfortable and clean rooms, friendly efficient staff and a good breakfast to see you on your way. What more could you want!

Room Tip: Request a room on the fourth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nussbas, General Manager at Express by Holiday Inn Koln Troisdorf, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback on our hotel.

We would be glad to welcome you soon again.

Kind regards,
Ayman Abou El Seoud
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gatwick
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

This is a good hotel as a base for exploring Cologne and Bonn and further afield. It has good transport links (right by main road - but quite quiet inside) and on a main train line. There is not much in Spich (the village, near to Troisdorf) but we did eat well at the Italian restuarants in the village. One criticism of the hotel is that there was no Tourist Information, no brochures, no maps in the Hotel.
Also, we had a 'family' room, with one dbl bed and a sofa-bed. The sofa-bed was incredibly uncomfortable, so much so that we ended up putting it away and asking for extra duvets and blankets so we could put them on the floor and sleep there!

The staff were on the whole very helpful and friendly, and breakfasts were good and plentiful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nussbas, General Manager at Express by Holiday Inn Koln Troisdorf, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback on our hotel.

We would be glad to welcome you soon again.

Kind regards,
Ayman Abou El Seoud
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel on many trips to Bonn. The hotel has a very helpful staff and provides a good breakfast. The rooms are functional and clean. I recommend this hotel to people traveling to and through the Bonn/Koln region, particularly by car. I would prefer free internet in the rooms and more TV channels.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nussbas, General Manager at Express by Holiday Inn Koln Troisdorf, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback on our hotel.

We would be glad to welcome you soon again.

Kind regards,
Ayman Abou El Seoud
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne,aust
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

Good value for families. Does the job adequately for a night stopover. Several restaurants close by. We tried the Mexican across the road. Don't bother food was crappy.
Good parking, room has everything you need with the exception of a bar fridge which can be a real pain if you want to keep items cool. Beer :)
Has free brekky but don't get your hope up as lots of tour groups stay here and they decimate the breakfast area one after the other! We ended up at mc Donald's for brekky which is 100metres across the car park.
An adequate cheap place for a night stopover.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nussbas, General Manager at Express by Holiday Inn Koln Troisdorf, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback on our hotel.

We would be glad to welcome you soon again.

Kind regards,
Ayman Abou El Seoud
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Traveling to the center of the machine building industry in Germany you look for a hotel which gives you no (bad) surprises and is convenient by all means.
This HI Express is what you/I are looking for:
- Standard rooms with the service level and space you exspect from a *** hotel.
- Close to the motorway, but quiet.
- Free parking.
- Convinient restaurant near by/in the hotel (this is a rather good Chinese one).
- Fast, efficient and friendly check in/out.
- Good breakfast.

Is there anything negative? At least I found nothing.

Room Tip: There is no big difference....as for all HI Express
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nussbas, General Manager at Express by Holiday Inn Koln Troisdorf, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback on our hotel.

We would be glad to welcome you soon again.

Kind regards,
Ayman Abou El Seoud
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Express by Holiday Inn Koln Troisdorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Express by Holiday Inn Koln Troisdorf

Address: Echternacher Strasse 4, 53842 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Express by Holiday Inn Koln Troisdorf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Express by Holiday Inn Cologne-Troisdorf is a modern business hotel located within easy reach of the exhibition centre KÖLN MESSE, the Cologne/Bonn Airport (CGN), the main railway station and the business areas of Cologne and Bonn and the sports centre Köln ARENA. Both by car via the A 59 motorway and public transport, the hotel is perfectly connected to all business and leisure attractions in Cologne and Bonn. The Express by Holiday Inn offers accommodation for visitors to exhibitions like GamesCom, Anuga & Medica as well as shoppers headed for the old town, art and historical lovers enjoying the DOM, the shopping area of Cologne and Bonn and musical fans cheering at the Musical DOME. The Express by Holiday Inn offers 110 comfortably furnished rooms with chargeable High Speed Access, air condition, satellite and Pay TV, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, en suite shower, hair dryer, high quality beds and sound proof windows. The hotel features both non-smoking and smoking floors as well as easy wheelchair access, a room with roll-in shower and special alarm systems. We invite our guests to enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast buffet to get the day off to a good start, while in the evening our Lobby Bar is worth a visit to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Express by Holiday Inn Koln Troisdorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Express By Holiday Inn Koln Troisdorf Hotel Cologne
Holiday Inn Troisdorf
Cologne Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Express by Holiday Inn Koln Troisdorf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.