We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff, nice modern hotel five minutes underground ride from city centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Hotel Koeln Belfortstrasse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Hotel Koeln Belfortstrasse to your Saves list
Mercure Hotel Koeln Belfortstrasse
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Belfortstrasse 9, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #119 of 280 Hotels in Cologne
Cambs
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Helpful staff, nice modern hotel five minutes underground ride from city centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We were apprehensive on reading some of the previous reviews - especially regarding the annex. But we had a very pleasant three night stay and the staff were extremely helpful. We were in the main hotel, in two standard rooms, which were of a very good standard compared with the many business hotels I have stayed in in UK. So I can't comment on the annex business.
The staff were universally polite and helpful, printing out our flight tickets for us and even supplying some German phrases for one of our son's postcards! We liked the massimo coffee machine and the good size of the rooms, with plenty of storage space, and a good hot shower. There is a mini-bar, and a large TV, lots of ambient lighting. The TV had fewer channels than usual - not a big deal at all, just thought I'd mention it.
We ate one night in the restaurant which was busy - a tip would be to reserve a table rather than just turn up, which is what we did, but we had a drink at the bar while the very efficient head waitress sorted us out a table, and we had a very decent meal, though not cheap. There was a good mix of couples, families and business people staying while we were there. We used the pool and the fitness room, though the pool closed on the second day. The pool was better than most hotel pools, being long enough to actually do some serious swimming.
The hotel is a five minutes stroll from the Reichensbergerplatz underground station - there is a 7-11 type store nearby but it doesnt sell much - and the underground journey is five minutes down to the Haubahnhof central station, where we had coffee and croissants in one of the cafes each morning - at 18 euros a head we decided not to bother with the hotel breakfast. There is also a well-stocked supermarket and numerous shops at the main station, and the Dom cathedral is pretty much straight outside the train station.

Room Tip: Well, the main hotel is clearly the one to pitch for. The end of corridor rooms are slightly bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara H, Verkaufsleiter at Mercure Hotel Koeln Belfortstrasse, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your detailed comment. We hope to welcome you again in our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    65
    49
    14
    6
See reviews for
13
52
14
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

we recently stayed here on a tour of German Christmas Markets, and on arrival found we were in the annexe block, not much fun when it had snowed overnight and you had to go to main block for breakfast, we were also told resturants were fully booked for the night time. and because we were in annexe we couldnt have room service,(unless we fetched it ourselves\) where is the logic in that.Not the best treatment by the very young staff and there definatly was one rule for them and one rule for us..regarding the 2 buildings.Also our coach was vandalised overnight so this also spoiled our trip.
BUYER BEWARE !!!!!!!Very dissapointing.

Room Tip: make sure its in the main block
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara H, Verkaufsleiter at Mercure Hotel Koeln Belfortstrasse, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment. We would like to take position to some of your points. We cannot do Room Service in the annexe block due to hygienic regulations which do not allow to take food over the street. According to the restaurant capacity we always offer the possibility of reserving a table. As you can see in many of our comments we mainly have positive comments about our staff. We are a formation hotel where young people start their working life. We train our staff at our best and feel sorry that you haven’t experienced that. Of course we will inform our colleagues about your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackwood
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Firstly we stayed in the annex to this hotel as we were told we may be in there when we booked. It was not cheap over £110 a night including breakfast which is very expensive and there is no option near you can use.
Very dissapointing. The Premier inn we used at heathrow the night previous to the trip for £44 was twice the hotel.

Firstly, checkin was ok we were early so cases were stowed for us in a room. Staff we all very good realy made an effort to speak english and help us.
It had snowed the previous night and a good layer of snow was down, If you book with Expedia then they say, "the annex is next door with a covered walkway" This is writen on my invoice and total fabrication i will be contacting them it is not the truth.
We struggled the actual 180 yards down the drive accross the road in the snow to this annex, there was no staff available to help with this. Actually i did it twice as another lady couldn`t make the trip in the snow so i went back to help her. Not what i`d call good service.

The room in the Annex was only ok at best, no Tea, coffee making facility annoying as you are so far away from the hotel, no "do not disturb " signs to put outside on door handle. Again annoying as room cleaners knocked and entered our room on two occasions at 9am when we were still in bed. Again our invoice stated we would have a double- bed they were actually single beds pushed together. These annex rooms are not what i would expect from a Radisson hotel charging over £100 a night.
Meals at main hotel were ok nice decor and good staff. If you are a family of four then breakfast is much too expensive will put over £50 a day on your bill.
Still these problems did not spoil a very good weekend not sure if i would stay here again.

Room Tip: Take a travel kettle with you just in case you are in annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara H, Verkaufsleiter at Mercure Hotel Koeln Belfortstrasse, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment. We have checked the description on the Expedia page. It seems that they have changed it. We will communicate your comments to our staff and sensitize them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton-on-Thames
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I have stayed at Park inn, Belfortstr. in Cologne several times. Its location is a 15 minute walk from the central railway station and the Dom, towards the North of Cologne or 3 stops on the underground. It is also a short walk to the botanical Garden and the zoo. The Rhine is quite close too. The standard rooms are of a reasonable size, there is a mini bar and large TV. The beds are very comfortable . The bathroom size is sufficient, incl. the usual toiletries. Superior rooms and the bathrooms are more luxurious, of course, but is it worth the extra money? soBest of all is the large swimming pool in the basement and a sauna and small gym, all free of charge. The staff are friendly . There is a small pub in the hotel. I cannot comment on the breakfast or restaurant as I eat out locally. I prefer to stay in the main hotel, but with a low-ish early booking price tend to be put in the house across the road.

Room Tip: ask to stay in the main hotel. The rooms are all quiet as the hotel is in a residential area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed for an extended Weekend in the main building in a standard room. Contrary to some reviews here the staff although, very young, they were very friendly, accommodating and helpful, throughout our stay. Coffee maker was also available and refilled every day, even just hours before we left. Room was as expected, bathroom also nice and clean. Swimming pool/fitness and sauna made a very clean impression and I did enjoy it. Generally, the typical business hotel I would say.

On the downside for us: the location was off the city centre (around 20min. walking to the city centre - but metro not far if you need it), the room location on the second floor was far from optimal (awful view to the inside, and you would not be able to keep the windows open during summer, as this would be a security problem). And then next to the stair case (but was not noisy). The cleaning lady also walked into the room a bit too fast for my understanding. like "knock, knock, here I am". Well, and the usual: Where is the free internet? and a Double bed for me is not one, which is pieced together from two beds. All in all the typical business hotel with a swimming pool.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The best there is the breakfast, which is really good. But the service - last time there was to many trainees - is not very good, the rooms are very small and the hotel has had his best times years before. I can not recommend it, only if you get it to a good price. Book Superior Rooms, because the Standard Rooms are outside the main building.

Room Tip: Book Superior Rooms, because the Standard Rooms are outside the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara H, Sales Manager at Mercure Hotel Koeln Belfortstrasse, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you very much for your comment. Since many years we are a training hotel and we are very successful with this strategy, so thank you for your appreciation at this point. Nevertheless we will definitively inform the involved departments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Killingholme
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed here for four nights with an elderly friend. On arrival at the reception with a voucher clearly stating we were booked in for bed and breakfast was told the price we had paid was for room only. I pointed out that it was bed and breakfast but the receptionist was extremely rude and said if we wanted breakfast we had to pay an extra 18 euros each.

Room although in the annex was nice and spacious but that was the only plus point. We were only given one room key and when I asked for another at the reception it only allowed access into the annex. Walked back to reception but again unhelpful and not interested and said we had two keys,

There were no tea and coffee making faciltiies in the room so I asked for a kettle and cups but was told we had to purchase coffee from the main hotel at 2.50 euros a cup and then carry across the road and up two flights of stairs to room. The coffee was served in cardboard cups so dangerous to carry this distance with the risk of scalding.

Would defintely not stay at the Park Inn again until they had sent reception staff on a customer relations training course.

Room Tip: Stay at the other Radisson down the road in Cologne
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara H, Sales Manager at Mercure Hotel Koeln Belfortstrasse, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you very much for your comment. You can have a look at the rest of our comments and you will see that we mainly have positive comments about service. We regret that we couldn´t convince you during your stay at our hotel. But for sure we will pick up your opinion and forward it to the mentioned department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Hotel Koeln Belfortstrasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Koeln Belfortstrasse

Address: Belfortstrasse 9, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#38 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Koeln Belfortstrasse 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Hotel Koeln Belfortstrasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson Koln Belfortstrasse Hotel Cologne
Park Inn Cologne
Koln Belfortstrasse Park Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Hotel Koeln Belfortstrasse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.