We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable rooms and good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lindner Hotel City Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Lindner Hotel City Plaza to your Saves list
Lindner Hotel City Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Magnusstrasse 20, 50672 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 281 Hotels in Cologne
Bad Buchau
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“comfortable rooms and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had 2 nights during the Karneval in the hotel. It was also the place where one of the "Kölner Karneval Garde " had there celebration headquarter. But, the hotel managed it very well. Friendly check in, very nice rooms, including the room service. Well, the bath room needs a renovation but it was clean. It was great to have a selection of pillows in the bed. Very comfortable. Breakfast also was a very good buffet, fresh, tasty and the service ask for fresh made stuff from the kitchen.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    160
    54
    15
    8
See reviews for
43
121
33
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights while on business and pleasure trip, the hotel is well located in a good location 3 minutes walk from the metro station frisenplatz , the lobby is nice, the check in even though there is no one was very slow, dint bother me but was really strange.

rooms are nice in size but a bit worn down i thought. service isint the most pleasant for the price you pay, and the breakfast at Euros 24.50 p/Person is too expensive i thought there are many coffee shops close by and fantastic breakfast served there . internet is not free so lots of extras to pay hence do compare other hotels when booking as i am sure that you can get a better deal.

if i will stay here again, maybe : only if i get a good price as breakfast and internet are the costs to be added

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

love this hotel. the decor is modern and beautifully done. The food is great. The staff are brilliant. The location is excellent. really, truely fabulous. BUT, dont park in their carpark - its ridiculously expensive. i checked in at 10pm on a friday night and checked out at 10am sunday morning, and was charged 50euros!!! park on the street. its free!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The hotel is located in the centre of Cologne, 15 minute walk to the dome and 5 minute walk to the area around the Brusseler Platz which has loads of cool shops, cafes, and restaurants. The hotel is quite luxurious, and staff are friendly and well trained. They do seem to be on a bit of a money-saving mission though, and our room key was handed to us in a basic envelope (so no key card with hotel name etc on it) and the registration form was a bad copy on flimsy paper. The bed in the room is super comfy, the bathroom is great with a good shower. We did not have breakfast but went around the corner to a simple cafe. We did pay a lot for the room as we were there for the IMM (very important exhibition), I guess you can get good rates in the weekend and I would definitely recommend it then for leisure travel as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veendam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Lindner Hotel City Plaza in January 2013. It's a nice hotel. Good beds, nice room (a little bit dated) and good service. The breakfast is very good. Lots to choose from. Parking at the hotel is quite expensive. We parked our car at the parking garage opposite to the hotel. The daily rate is 12 euros, but you can get a parking ticket there for 18 euros for 48 hours. Just ask the guy at the parking garage. With this ticket you can drive in and out the garage whenever you like.
There is a Starbucks nearby as well as many restaurants. Subway-station is a two-minute walk away.
We also bought a Welcome Koln Card. With this card you can ride the subway for 24 hours and you get lots of discount on restaurants, museums etc.
When staying in Cologne be sure to visit the Dome, eat at Pizzeria Piccola L'Originale (cheap and good) and visit the Chocolate Museum.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The hotel is centrally located, and everything was within walking distance. as for the service, it was quite good. The room was clean and equipped with hair dryer, very convenient for travellers from other continent. I booked through Expedia and shared with a friend. It was a very good deal for a four-star hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lindner Hotel City Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindner Hotel City Plaza

Address: Magnusstrasse 20, 50672 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#28 Business Hotel in Cologne
#47 Spa Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindner Hotel City Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lindner Hotel City Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Cologne
Cologne Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lindner Hotel City Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.