We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Front Desk unprofessional....NO WATER for 3 hours!!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lindner Hotel City Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Lindner Hotel City Plaza to your Saves list
Lindner Hotel City Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Magnusstrasse 20, 50672 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 281 Hotels in Cologne
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    161
    54
    16
    8
See reviews for
43
121
33
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

love this hotel. the decor is modern and beautifully done. The food is great. The staff are brilliant. The location is excellent. really, truely fabulous. BUT, dont park in their carpark - its ridiculously expensive. i checked in at 10pm on a friday night and checked out at 10am sunday morning, and was charged 50euros!!! park on the street. its free!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The hotel is located in the centre of Cologne, 15 minute walk to the dome and 5 minute walk to the area around the Brusseler Platz which has loads of cool shops, cafes, and restaurants. The hotel is quite luxurious, and staff are friendly and well trained. They do seem to be on a bit of a money-saving mission though, and our room key was handed to us in a basic envelope (so no key card with hotel name etc on it) and the registration form was a bad copy on flimsy paper. The bed in the room is super comfy, the bathroom is great with a good shower. We did not have breakfast but went around the corner to a simple cafe. We did pay a lot for the room as we were there for the IMM (very important exhibition), I guess you can get good rates in the weekend and I would definitely recommend it then for leisure travel as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veendam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Lindner Hotel City Plaza in January 2013. It's a nice hotel. Good beds, nice room (a little bit dated) and good service. The breakfast is very good. Lots to choose from. Parking at the hotel is quite expensive. We parked our car at the parking garage opposite to the hotel. The daily rate is 12 euros, but you can get a parking ticket there for 18 euros for 48 hours. Just ask the guy at the parking garage. With this ticket you can drive in and out the garage whenever you like.
There is a Starbucks nearby as well as many restaurants. Subway-station is a two-minute walk away.
We also bought a Welcome Koln Card. With this card you can ride the subway for 24 hours and you get lots of discount on restaurants, museums etc.
When staying in Cologne be sure to visit the Dome, eat at Pizzeria Piccola L'Originale (cheap and good) and visit the Chocolate Museum.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The hotel is centrally located, and everything was within walking distance. as for the service, it was quite good. The room was clean and equipped with hair dryer, very convenient for travellers from other continent. I booked through Expedia and shared with a friend. It was a very good deal for a four-star hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I stayed at the Lindner Hotel City Plaza in Cologne, Germany, during December, 2012. Overall, I was satisfied with the stay, especially considering the price. I got a deal on the internet and paid less than $100 for a weeknight stay. The front desk staff spoke English, which was helpful. The room was quiet and clean and the bed and linens were very comfortable. Some other reviews said the bathrooms very outdated, but I thought the bathroom was very clean- perhaps they were referring to the fact that the colors were a bit outdated. The location of the hotel was excellent. It was about a fifteen minute walk to the Dom area, and there were lots of restaurants, coffee shops, and shopping near the hotel. I gave this hotel 4/5 for two reasons: the heating and the shower. We tried to adjust the heat level a few different times during our stay, but even after turning it completely off, our room was still very warm. We resorted to opening the window, which brought down the temperature, but was noisy in the early morning hours when we were trying to sleep. I'm not sure if this is a problem throughout the hotel, or if there was just something wrong with our room. Additionally, the shower temperature was not consistent. The water would turn from warm to cold to hot while running. The shower was not horrible, but not relaxing. We did enjoy the pool club while staying. Just a few tips- we parked our car in a parking garage directly across the street from the hotel, and only paid 15 euros for the overnight parking. Also, breakfast at the hotel was very expensive, but there are several bakeries and coffee shops in the area offering alternatives, which we opted for. Overall, I felt we got what we paid for- mostly a good experience, with a few hiccups. However, when under $100 for the room, we didn't expect a $200/night experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keflavik, Iceland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed in Lindner hotel the weekend 16-18 Nov 2012, it was my fourth time there and I always get such a warming welcome when I get there and the service there is outstanding. It is also nice to see allot of the same employees over the years 2006-2012. I always see the same cleaning lady, older lady that puts all her effort into her job and cleans the hotel like it was her home.
I also want to compliment one employee there, I had shopped some winter shoes for my daughter a Shildergasse but when I got to the hotel I noticed that the shoes did not have the same number. All the stores had closed so I decide to ask if I could leave the shoes at the lobby and when I would get home I would contact the shoe store and ask them to pick up the shoes and correct this mistake, since it was their mistake. To my surprise the Manager did not want to talk to me unless I would speak German. So I e-mailed the hotel to tell them to throw away the shoes, or give them to someone that would need some new shoes (that could go himself and change the shoes) but then an employee from the hotel calls me and offers to go to the store herself when she would finish her night shift and change them for me. I just think that was so selfless and thoughtful, to be going out of her way to do this for me. It just warmed my heart and it shows how dedicated and good employees you have. I would recommend Lindner hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lindner Hotel City Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindner Hotel City Plaza

Address: Magnusstrasse 20, 50672 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Cologne
#24 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#29 Business Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindner Hotel City Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Reservation Counter and Tingo so you can book your Lindner Hotel City Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Cologne
Cologne Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lindner Hotel City Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.