We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Efficient Hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MEININGER Hotel Koeln City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added MEININGER Hotel Koeln City Center to your Saves list
MEININGER Hotel Koeln City Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Engelbertstrasse 33-35, 50674 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #129 of 281 Hotels in Cologne
Chorley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good Efficient Hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Good, clean and surprisingly modern Hostel located in a good city centre location, the Barbarossa tram stop is also pretty close with regular connections to the Cathedral and the main train station.

Bathroom was surprisingly well equipped and the rooms where clean, tidy and had a balcony. A nice touch where the free towels we got.

Cheap clean, efficient and well located hostel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    54
    45
    21
    16
See reviews for
8
21
32
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

This is a convenient hostel for the University. The city centre is a short walk away where there is excellent shopping, restaurants and bars and there are plenty of trams. The wifi in the hostel was very poor. The rooms were average but the price was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

I stayed her during a trip with my work colleagues. The hostel was pretty reasonable, quite good value for the price and was clean and reasonably comfortable. For the price, it was everything that I expected.

However, it was not directly in the city centre. This is fine as we were able to get around by tram and walking (once you know your way around).

The staff were quite friendly and it is a good budget option.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

I stayed here with a friend while we travelled around Germany for a few days. Our trip started and ended in Cologne, so we ended up staying here twice. I was quite impressed with this hostel. I booked it online with hostelbookers and had to put a 10% deposit down. Our reservation was found easily on their system and we paid the rest of the balance separately ourselves. The front staff were always helpful and spoke perfectly good English. There are plenty of leaflets and maps of the area free of charge in the reception area.

The rooms were basic, but clean and tidy. We were in an 8 person dorm. We got given cards to place on our beds to show others that they were taken. I would recommend taking ear plugs as people tend to walk heavily up and down the stairs, which you can hear within the rooms. There was a locker for every bed but you require your own lock. You need your own towels, but they provide bed linen. You need to make and strip your beds for each visit.

The communal area was quite loud on our first visit (due to a group of friends) and smoking is allowed in the bar area between 10pm-6am. There was also free WiFi in the communal area but not in the dorms. We only opted for breakfast on one of our mornings. It's very basic, juices, water, tea coffee, bread rolls, meats, cheese, fruits and cereals. You can make a packed lunch but they charge 1 Euro for each item you take away with you.

Parking isn't great outside, as it's all on street parking. Apparently receiving a parking fine is cheaper than paying for parking. We didn't receive a parking fine on either occasion. It's location is good, but about a 30 mins walk to the cathedral and the centre of town. It's easy enough to get there and back using one of the maps from reception. There's plenty of restaurants and bar within the local area, all within about a 5 minute walk.

I would recommend this hostel to anyone thinking of staying in Cologne. It's cheap, it's convenient and had everything we needed it to have.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkkonummi, Finland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

As we arrived to the hostel, we confronted a problem: no sign on their database about our payment, so it took a while to get an email from home where the transaction is shown. It would be a good idea to bring every paper with you, if something goes wrong like that.
First night was quite horrible because of not-so-quiet customers, who had have little too many drinks. Well, eventually they calmed down and went to bed.
Second night was peaceful and quiet, and I slept like a baby.

The room had beds for four but there was not too much room for anything else than sleeping. Bathroom was quite small too, but since there was a shower, a toilet and a sink, that was all we needed. Oh, and there was also a TV in the room.

The hotel was located in the middle of everything, except the Dom. There are many restaurants, night clubs, bars etc just one block away from the hotel and the Dom is in walking distance.
This hostel was nice place to stay for a friend group but I wouldn't recommend it for anyone who travels with children. Well, at least weekends could be little noisy.

Like in every hotel/hostel, don't forget your earplugs, they would secure your goodnight sleep!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Whenever I'm in Cologne and I need a place to stay, my №1 choice is Meininger. It's very central, close to the bahn and it's easy to find. Staff is always very friendly and the rooms and services are on a high level. And fortunately bath is in the room and not on the floor! And also whenever I choose a hostel, I pay much attention to security. In Meininger I felt very secure!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

rude front desk staff
small outdated CRT TV hang over bed
very small room
average self serve breakfast

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MEININGER Hotel Koeln City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Koeln City Center

Address: Engelbertstrasse 33-35, 50674 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 281 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — MEININGER Hotel Koeln City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MEININGER Hotel Koln City Center is located on the left bank of the river Rhine in the student district. It is the ideal starting point for shopping trips at Schildergasse and a stroll through the Old Town to Cologne Cathedral. MEININGER offers more than just low-cost accommodation: free WiFi in the lobby, a hotel bar, a guest kitchen and a games room are all great places to get to know our international guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Koeln City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meininger City Hotel Cologne
Meininger City Hostel And Hotel
Meininger City Hostel Hotel
Meininger City Hostel Cologne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MEININGER Hotel Koeln City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.