We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard city centre hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Cologne City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Cologne City Center to your Saves list
Barcelo Cologne City Center
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Habsburgerring 9-13, 50674 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Crowne Plaza Koln)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early booking offer
Ranked #105 of 280 Hotels in Cologne
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Standard city centre hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel's location on Rudolphplatz is a ten minute walk from the large department stores and shopping areas of the city centre and conveniently, there are trams and a U Bhan station across the road.
We, two couples, arrived at 1pm and were allocated rooms on the seventh floor. We had previously requested an early check-in as the normal check-in time is 3pm and were pleased the hotel could accommodate this request. The Reception staff were pleasant and spoke good English. Our room was a reasonable size with furniture in good condition if not a little tired looking. We had an excellent view over the Christmas market with the Dom prominent in the distance. There is good wardrobe and drawer storage space plus tea/coffee making facility. The flat screen TV was multi channelled. The bathroom was a good size with a shower over the bath, we would have preferred a shower cubicle as the shower over the bath arrangement is a bit dated for a modern city centre hotel. There was also a very feint odour of sewerage in the bathroom which was not particularly pleasant but fortunately it did not radiate into the sleeping area. The bed was comfortable but the pillows may as well not be there as they are far too soft and squash down to nothing. We enjoyed free the wifi. I would say the Barcelo is a good standard city centre hotel ideal for short stays for leisure or business purposes, reasonable room rates and a convenient easy to get to location. Not as good as the Pullman but cheaper and in a better location for leisure visitors. Comfortable without being outstanding.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the front of the hotel offer a good view of the Dom. Major roads back and front s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    214
    146
    65
    36
See reviews for
43
166
55
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I really cannot understand some of the negative reviews, unless the writers have only previously stayed in zillion star places in Dubai or Singapore. The Barceló is a perfectly reasonable European city centre hotel, on the good side of average. It is clean and comfortable and we found the décor of the public rooms attractive and relatively modern. Our bedroom had a stunning view out over the Rudolfplatz Christmas Market, with the cathedral soaring up on the skyline. The room wasn't over-large but more than adequate, although the duvet and very soft pillows might not be to everyone's taste and the temperature control on the shower was over-sensitive. Breakfast was a touch pricey, but the range of food on offer (eat as much as you wanted) was very good and the service, even on busy mornings, was friendly and efficient. The reception staff were helpful and multilingual. As for convenience, cathedral, Stadtmuseum, shopping arcades all within an easy 20 minute walk, but a taxi rank and tram stop close at hand if required. So there you have it. Clean, comfortable and convenient : ignore the moaners, they must have been having a bad day.

Room Tip: We were on the seventh floor, well above any traffic noise and I would guess the room numbers from 7...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on-sea
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We have just returned from a two night stay in this hotel and could not fault it. Large rooms with comfy beds, clean and well equipped. Break fast was in a comfortable, bright dining room: food plentiful,good selection and quality. Staff were helpful too.
Location was also perfect, about a 20 minute walk from the Cathedral.

We found some interesting places to eat nearby and were impressed with the low cost of eating in the city. Worth a visit to the perfume factory and the National Socialism Documentation Museum - much more interesting than it sounds.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarschot, Belgium
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spend one night at this hotel with friends for Weihnachstmarkt. The hotel is old and is crying for refurbishment. I have stayed at other Barcelo hotels and they are all clean and modern. Well this is the opposite. The rooms are pretty spacious tho and so are the beds BUT you will only find a twin duvet on your double bed. Front desk will tell you there is another one in your closet. But in all 3 rooms we booked there was none in the closet. I insisted on getting another one as I wasn't in for a cold night. First I couldn't get one as the hotel was fully booked and all the spares were out but after going to the front desk at 2 am I got one from....a vacant room. Go figure. That wasn't all. I booked months in advance to had adjoining rooms. You guessed it didn't get those. Complaint but never got to speak to the manager and I was offered a free coffee. That almost cracked me up and turned down the coffee.
I don't feel like saying anything positive about the hotel as my problems ruined my stay. So avoid this hotel there are better hotels in Köln. As small look at my reviews will show you a great hotel which is ever closer to the old town then this one.
And if you do decide to stay here. Enjoy your coffee!!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Shabby hotel with shabby customer service. If you are looking for a hotel that looks like a Hilton from the 70's, want Basil Fawlty rudeness and don't want to spend more than 70€ then this just might be the place for you. What really let's it down is the customer service - the manager was rude and uncommunicative and took to speaking condescendingly about us and other guests without appreciating we could speak German. The general attitude when we dared to complain was that everything is 'good enough' and if we didn't like it we could go elsewhere and not come back. Take their advice - do your a bit of research and stay in one of the other hotels in Cologne. There are much nicer options in a similar price range where the staff and management are not rude or truculent.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didcot, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Two nights for Cologne Christmas markets with friends. We Eurostarred and the taxi from the station for 4 was a pleasing 10 Euros. The hotel has proper big reception (excellent English spoken) and room service (although one request, for more teabags, got lost somewhere). The room was spacious, clean and comfortable if getting a little tired. Two single duvets and only one chair but a good walk-in wardrobe/luggage area. Small fridge, tea/coffee stuff. Powerful hot shower, plenty of sockets. Trams (and one market) nearby. Lidl nearby. A/C unobtrusive and quiet with windows shut. Would definitely use again if going back.

Room Tip: All rooms much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Having encountered abysmal customer service at a nearby hotel we spent the final night of our trip to Cologne at the Barcelo - my only regret was that I hadn't booked it for the duration of our trip. This is a proper hotel; excellent customer service (helpfully all of the staff spoke excellent English) and good quality amenities throughout. We didn't pay the extra €18 per person for breakfast (seemed a little steep though suspect it would have been good quality). Location (on Rudolfplatz) was very convenient for the truly wonderful Christmas markets.

If I return to Cologne, this is where I'll stay.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Cologne City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Cologne City Center

Address: Habsburgerring 9-13, 50674 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Crowne Plaza Koln)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Cologne City Center 4.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barceló Cologne City Center is a wonderful destination in the heart of the city.301 room including suites, equipped with modern comfort, are located on 10 floors. Sauna, steam bath and gymnasium guaranty for recreation and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Barcelo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Barcelo Cologne City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Cologne City Hotel Cologne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Cologne City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.