We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cologne Rudolfplatz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cologne Rudolfplatz to your Saves list
Hotel Cologne Rudolfplatz
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Habsburgerring 9-13, 50674 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Barceló Cologne City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #121 of 281 Hotels in Cologne
England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for a work trip but would happily use it for a city break to Cologne. Great location, walking distance to bars/restaurants/shops etc. Every member of staff was also exceptionally friendly and helpful - I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    222
    159
    74
    39
See reviews for
44
176
57
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ludwigshafen, Germany
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I have stayed here the 2nd time and the hotel is just perfect: nice spacious rooms, friendly service, good location. Breakfast is also good - nice choices, real good coffee. There is a car park next to the hotel - unfortunately public, thus expensive. The S-Bahn station is just in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

The Hotel was suggested to me by people who were organizing an international meeting in the city of Cologne. I think that I got a fairly decent price for a stay of two nights in a hotel that is rated with four stars. However, the hotel is actually nothing special besides its size and convenient location in the city center.
Anyway, as I was fairly sick during my stay I appreciated several useful and good services: Wifi (even though I had to use different login codes for each device I had with me...) was very good and fast and once logged in, it automatically reconnected every time I started any one of my devices. Tea and coffee facilities in the room (not always common in mainland European hotels) were available and were quite usefull for me as I had a special need for drinking a lot of tea during my stay. Twice I ordered food to my room: The breakfast menue offers a good range of foods and drinks and so does the all day menue for smaller or main dishes. Both, the ordered breakfast and dinner, were actually very good. Staff was in general very friendly and helpful and the room was clean and spacious.
Not completely satisfactory was the spa area with steam room and sauna. It all looks a bit outdated. This could be said about the hotel in general. Anyway, I still felt comfortable and appreciated the friendlyness and the good service (truly worth four stars)...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orania, South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We just wanted to stay in a hotel in the city centre so that we could walk to the Dom. The hotel is in a good location and the service is OK. Parking is expensive. Breakfast is totally overpriced. Rooms are very well decorated, but we could not sleep as the people in the room next door was making a lot of noise. Not a bad choice, but also nothing special.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moss, Norway
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Only one night, and close to the restaurant were we were booked for dinner. Simple but functional room, parking in the basement, fairly easy to find. Slow service and slow checking in and out, surprisingly quiet room for the location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tignes, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed at the Barcelo for one night and were happy it wasn't longer. When we got there, we were checked into a smoking room despite specifically requesting non-smoking. The room stank like cigarettes. When we asked to change we were told there were no non-smoking rooms available and we would have to wait if we wanted one. We chose to do this and were kept waiting far later than our check in time before we were able to go to our room. There were extremely long lines to check in and out (over 10 minutes wait). Also, cleaning staff came into our room twice without knocking in the morning well before check out time. The hotel itself is fine, nothing special but clean, spacious, free wifi and friendly enough staff. However, we would not stay there again due to this experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed at the Barcelo for 3 nights mid December for a Christmas Market break. Despite the unappealing exterior the hotel is spacious, clean and comfortable and we found the staff to be both pleasant and helpful. Our 8th floor room was large, well fitted, quiet and had a great view of Rudolfplatz Christmas market. The Hotel is next to the U-bahn and there are good restaurants and shops close by. All markets were easily accessible by foot and signage for tourists is excellent throughout the city. We really enjoyed our stay and if we return to Cologne I would book this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cologne Rudolfplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cologne Rudolfplatz

Address: Habsburgerring 9-13, 50674 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Barceló Cologne City Center)
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Cologne Rudolfplatz 4.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cologne City Center is a wonderful destination in the heart of the city.301 room including suites, equipped with modern comfort, are located on 10 floors. Sauna, steam bath and gymnasium guaranty for recreation and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, EasyToBook and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Cologne Rudolfplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Cologne City Hotel Cologne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cologne Rudolfplatz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.