We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Cologne City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Cologne City Center to your Saves list
Barcelo Cologne City Center
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Habsburgerring 9-13, 50674 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Crowne Plaza Koln)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early booking offer
Ranked #105 of 281 Hotels in Cologne
Genoa, Italy
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Barcelo Cologne is a business hotel with very spacious rooms with a great view on the city, all comforts are here and the stay is very pleasant. The staff of the hotel is very helpful and tries hard to make your stay a good one.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    217
    148
    66
    36
See reviews for
44
169
55
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I stayed in this hotel in the last week of July 2013. The location is excellent right on Rodolf Platz station. The front was open on a sort of garden, owned by the hotel, thus was protected from the traffic all around. Staff were excellent and English speaking. The only negative point is that behind the hotel, some drug addicts loiter around all the time. However, they do not bother anyone actually.

Room Tip: Rooms opening on the front porch
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for two nights beginning of July 2013. First impression when arriving by taxis was hotel and surrounding area looked dirty and not welcoming.
The reception staff were however very good, polite and helpful. The room very good and had all we required. The breakfast more than adequate and staff excellent.
The hotel is in walking distance to the city centre and many restaurants.
However when we later walked directly out of the hotel we were immediately met by drug addicts shooting up intravenously and felt most unsafe.
When we reported this to the hotel staff we were told there was nothing they could do as the outside area is all owned by Cologne council and not the hotel. The staff were very evasive and said many people had complained about this issue but there was nothing they could do about it and had called the police many times and reported it to the council and nothing done.
This is not good enough and we would definitely not recommend this hotel which had been booked by our travel agent for its central position to the city centre.
Travel agent has now been updated and advised not to recommend it to any more clients.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I really do not know where to begin............ We stayed in Cologne 3 days during the RDA touristik workshop and we chose this hotel because we needed to important services such as internet and proximity to the place of work.
A REAL DISASTER!
WIFI never worked, the toilet full of encrustations, broken sink..........
Also, one night the electricity went off waiting for half an hour in the dark. we called back and the girl on the phone told us that his colleague had forgotten to come for check..... WHAT????
Avoid this Hotel,
because it is absolutely dreadful in all its aspects

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I was here for a week with my friends to celebrate her impending wedding. The hotel staff were incredibly unfriendly. Although we only checked in roughly an hour after check in began, we were informed that there were no nonsmoking rooms available and we would have to accept a smoking room, although we had requested nonsmoking in our reservation. The woman checking us in was completely unsympathetic, shrugged her shoulders, and said there is no guarantee and it isn't her problem. No offer of an upgrade or even the slightest word of sorry.

The hotel itself is worn and quite old. The wallpaper is dirty, the carpet is stained, and everything is outdated. The shower drain barely worked, so when showering, you got to stand in the dirty water waiting for it to drain. The beds are incredibly hard, and there is no soundproofing for the rooms. Even on an upper floor, you could hear everything that was going outside and cars racing at night.

Although located next to a u-bahn station, which is indeed practical, the area itself is sketchy. There are several dozen homeless men who sit outside the backside of the hotel and leer at you as you pass. It appears the hotel staff do nothing to shoo them away.

If anything is not working in the hotel, don't bother to report it because it won't be fixed. The shower drain wasn't fixed the entire time we were there, and the soap in our bathroom was never refilled. The sauna was out of order for several nights.

Beware of the receptionist with hair almost the same color as her skin (orange-brown hair, orangey tanned skin), she's incredibly rude and acts like it is a privledge to let you talk to her.

Stay somewhere else!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Excellent location, nice and friendly desk service, decent rooms. This hotel has all you can expect from a solid 4* hotel. You will not get a luxurious lobby or fancy paintings in your room. But, if you want to sleep in a conveniently located hotel, this can be your option. The room I got was double, with two queen beds, and a large bathroom.

Pros: Excellent service. They solved a minor problem fast, and always had plenty of practical information ready. Breakfast is good, too (including custom made omelets). The location is good, with a subway stop just in front of the hotel (Rudolfplatz). You may easily walk from the hotel to the cathedral in less than 20 minutes. You may even get the subway, then the train to the airport almost for free (€2.70). A small but convenient terrace in the back.

Cons: Some renovation couldn't hurt. The gardens in front of the hotel have plenty of noisy nightlife, including all kind of trades.

Tip: I stayed in the quiet upper floors.

Caveat: I did not pay the bill, so I cannot tell about the value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I have been staying at this hotel for several years, back when it was the Crown Plaza. I've read some reviews where people insinuate that the hotel quality has gone down, but I just don't see it. Check-in at the reception was quick and efficient as usual and the room was of the same quality that I have been getting for years. If space is important to you, request a room with two beds instead of one and the room size is considerably larger. The bathrooms are large and water pressure is excellent, however in every room I have stayed in, the water in the sink is difficult to control as it either trickles out or blasts out really hard. The closet in the room is huge and perfect for large suitcases and on this most recent visit I had a view of the Dom. Housekeeping is timely and you never have to worry about coming back to your room late in the afternoon and your room has still not been serviced. My most critical comment about the Barcelo is that the air conditioner never seems to do anything except shoot out luke-warm air. If I was staying at the hotel in the middle of the summer or during a hot period, this would be a problem as it never really gets cool in the room. In summary, this hotel has been consistent for many years. It isn't a "luxury" hotel but the staff does a great job and the rooms are just fine. Wifi internet in the rooms is free and runs at an acceptable speed. I am a business traveler in the U.S. and mostly use Starwood and Marriott Hotels but am perfectly comfortable at this hotel. Barcelo Cologne...keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Choose a room with two beds to get more space. A great restaurant choice is Vapiano just across the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Cologne City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Cologne City Center

Address: Habsburgerring 9-13, 50674 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Crowne Plaza Koln)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Cologne City Center 4.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barceló Cologne City Center is a wonderful destination in the heart of the city.301 room including suites, equipped with modern comfort, are located on 10 floors. Sauna, steam bath and gymnasium guaranty for recreation and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Barcelo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Barcelo Cologne City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Cologne City Hotel Cologne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Cologne City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.